We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very decent mid range hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A very decent mid range hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decent location across from the park and about 10 minutes walk to the city or maybe 20 minutes to the rugby stadium. Very pleasant concierge staff who always seemed happy to help. The pub/restaurant arrangement didnt work for me - it was neither a pub or a restaurant. My room was a little tired with an old fashioned shower over the bathtub.
One of the best features of the hotel was the FREE wi-fi. With a several night stay this proved to be quite valuable compared to many hotels where you can pay up to USD 15/20 per day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    444
    97
    19
    15
See reviews for
144
423
107
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to staying at Radisson on Flagstaff because of all the great reviews unfortunately I was definitely on the wrong side of the building there is a construction site on the side of the hotel I was placed on. I am glad that I was there on the weekend the noise from the construction site would have made my experience even more unpleasant. Dont think I would stay there again until construction has finished

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I took a little getaway to Melbourne for a few days. We decided to stay at the Raddison Flagstaff Gardens following a recommendation from a friend.
We are so grateful. The staff, in particular, Daryl, part of the concierge team was so incredibly helpful and guided us (Melbourne newbies) in the right direction, and gave us lots of little tips and tricks that really helped us get our bearings and make the most of our time and our stay.

I love how close to the markets we were - we made the most of the fresh food and Daryl, our concierge thought to give us an insulated bag to bring transport our market bounty.

We found the location wasn't too out of the way. We walked most of the time. We caught the train from the nearby flagstaff station and the trams. The casino is a short $10(max) cab ride away.

We had a wonderful stay in Melbourne and would highly recommend Radisson Flagstaff Gardens!

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the park which also had a lovely view over Docklands. We were on the 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for free transportation and a quick walk to almost everywhere! Beds are comfortable, amenities Nice. even the food was good! Clean, smart decor, and pleasant staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife & I have stayed at Radisson on Flagstaff on a number of occasions and we are always happy to return. The refurbished rooms are well-equipped and clean. Staff are always knowledgeable and pleasant. We will stay at Radisson when the next opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Flagstaff Gardens offer the best view, even though they cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a room overlooking Flagstaff Gardens which gave a nice open outlook and although it is across a road, the noise from the road seemed minimal. The room was clean and had all the usual amenities. The bed was very comfortable .The reception lobby area is modern and colourful , the corridors and room are perhaps beginning to look just a little tired as is the gym/ spa area.
With the free tram minutes away and the free tour bus from Victoria market which is again only about 5 minutes away and within walking distance of the museum , restaurants etc we found it to be surprisingly convenient for touring Melbourne.
The staff were friendly and helpful. My only problem, and I admittedly a light sleeper ,was noise from other guests returning late etc especially on Saturday night/Sunday morning . The soundproofing isn't the best.
Overall with the free internet and the convenience I thought it was good value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is situated just on the south side of the Queen Victoria Market and in the quieter part of the Melbourne CBD. It is still within walking distance to the main CBD attractions and it is within reach of the trendy cafes in North Melbourne.

The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful (and efficient too).

The room is modern and quiet. We have a room with park view. It's clean and it has all the expected facilities. Very comfortable king size bed.

This is probably the only few Australian hotels offer free wifi / internet access.

Overall, it's a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.