We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
new zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Suprisingly convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a room overlooking Flagstaff Gardens which gave a nice open outlook and although it is across a road, the noise from the road seemed minimal. The room was clean and had all the usual amenities. The bed was very comfortable .The reception lobby area is modern and colourful , the corridors and room are perhaps beginning to look just a little tired as is the gym/ spa area.
With the free tram minutes away and the free tour bus from Victoria market which is again only about 5 minutes away and within walking distance of the museum , restaurants etc we found it to be surprisingly convenient for touring Melbourne.
The staff were friendly and helpful. My only problem, and I admittedly a light sleeper ,was noise from other guests returning late etc especially on Saturday night/Sunday morning . The soundproofing isn't the best.
Overall with the free internet and the convenience I thought it was good value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    463
    99
    21
    15
See reviews for
163
454
115
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is situated just on the south side of the Queen Victoria Market and in the quieter part of the Melbourne CBD. It is still within walking distance to the main CBD attractions and it is within reach of the trendy cafes in North Melbourne.

The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful (and efficient too).

The room is modern and quiet. We have a room with park view. It's clean and it has all the expected facilities. Very comfortable king size bed.

This is probably the only few Australian hotels offer free wifi / internet access.

Overall, it's a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! It's modern, chic, clean and fabulous. Great customer service. Beds are very comfortable. Location is good, no more than 15 minute walk to most of the center attractions. Price is not bad for the quality. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it. Melbourne is a lovely city. Tourist free tram #35 that travels around the city, stops in front of the hotel. Victoria market is about a block away. Great places to eat about 2 blocks away. I recommend this hotel if you are staying in Melbourne.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff were wonderful and the hotel was amazing. We would absolutely stay there again. Beautiful venue and conveniently located. Would highly recommend having meals too. We were well looked after during our stay and staff couldn't have been more helpful with things to see and do during our first trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located next to the Queen Victoria Market but a bit far from the city center. However, with a good weather we can walk there. Our booking is room only, therefore, did not try their breakfast. With Club Carlson Membership card, you can also get discounts from some restaurants in the city, good deal. The room is nice but a bit small in size. (Maybe I compare with Radisson Blu in Sydney which is bigger.) However, Radisson and Radisson Blu are different category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for 1night and the room was in excellent condition. We took the short stroll to the Queen Vic markets then the city circle team to southbank. We ordered breakfast in our room for8-8:30 when it hadn't shown up by 8:40 I was wondering where it was. We received a call in our room to explain the chef made an error with our order, offered us complimentary coffee, which I accepted. Thinking that was that, I was satisfied with my free coffee. However, upon delivery the staff member informed us that breakfast would not be charged to our room. How awesome is that! A $50 saving. We will definitely be back!

They have gone over and above expectations. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly for business and I can be sure I will always receive excellent service from all staff, from housekeeping to front of house to concierge to bar staff, they cannot do enough to help and always friendly, no matter what time of the day or night. The location is good (a brisk 10 min walk to Melbourne Central or Hardware Lane) and if you get a park view room its lovely looking out across the gardens. The breakfast selection is one of the better I have had for a buffet, a huge fresh selection. The beds are really comfortable in most rooms. Some bathrooms are a little dated but they are in the process of renovating as some are very new and stylish. Re-stock toiletries every day! Restaurant and room service menu is extensive and changed each month or so, lovely options. If you're not used to trams you should ask for a higher floor or a room facing the back as they can be a little loud when closer. Overall, excellent hotel on all accounts - thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: If you're not used to trams you should ask for a higher floor or a room facing the back as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.