We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson stay in June 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Autumn: 20% off
Ranked #10 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Radisson stay in June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family stayed at Radisson Melbourne recently and we had a very pleasant stay. We have 2 kids: 1 year and 3 yrs going on 4. The hotel room was spacious, and with another bed for our child. What i really loved was the room was very clean, and the bathrooms didnt have a bathtub, which we find a bit unsafe for our kids, we preferred the shower. What we didint like about hotels in Sydney was lack of hanging area for coats or pants. Here at Radisson, there was enough closet space to hang all our clothes,which is really useful if you have 4 coats and more hats/ pants/ sweaters / kids hats/mittens to re-use . which need hanging room.

My 3 year old son enjoyed the food at breakfast very much, and ate till he was very full. (probably ate more than me;) He loved the mushrooms (normally he doesnt eat them) They had the freshly made waffle counter, / omellett counter where the friendly lady chef prepared the food. The price was very reasonable for the value we had. We had a nice view of the Flagstaff park downstairs from our room too, so that was good.
Staff were very friendly too, and not too obstrusive when clearing plates off the breakfast table. We were pleasantly surprised to see the hotel director at the breakast area too, he was very friendly too. The 2 lady staff serving coffee and clearing the tables were very nice and friendly.

Going around Melbourne City from here was easy, as the free tram line 35 is right outside. Also, the park opposite is good for a stroll. We took the free Melbourne Visitor bus from nearby to go around the city, the bus driver will talk you through the sites, and plus it has a recorded commentary as you pass each site.

What could possibly be improved is a small play area for kids near the breakfast area. Which parent would like to have some reprieve from the kids during breakfast. However, looks like this is more of a business hotel/ corporate hotel, so may not have that many kids. If you had a car, do take note there is no car park within the hotel. So need to find parking nearby. We arrived on a Sunday, so we could park on the main road outside the hotel with ease.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    515
    108
    24
    15
See reviews for
193
525
121
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irymple, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My first time stay at this hidden gem. A step across the road from Flagstaff gardens and train station. The first thing to strike me was the warm and friendly greeting at check- in. Great staff service was found everywhere with an emphasis on customer care. Very apreciated after a tiring journey. The new menu was a delight - great value for money. I intend to re-visit to stay for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Multiple stays over the past couple of years for business. As others have mentioned this hotel isn't a radically beautiful, opulent hotel. However, it is a consistently good, friendly city hotel with beautiful views of the park opposite and a fantastic breakfast - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A lot to like about this hotel. Stayed here for two nights in a single room. Very spacious and well laid out, with two single beds. Shower and bathroom was a great size, storage space was good and bed very comfortable. I was impressed with the personalised greeting on the TV screen when I arrived in my room. The food, especially the breakfast in HQ's restaurant was excellent and there was a decent bar snacks menu if that's all that was needed. The mini bar in the room was also well stocked and prices less than I'd expected. Bar staff were friendly and efficient and price of drinks very reasonable. Check in staff were friendly and courteous and got a late 1pm check out and could store luggage which was excellent. The location is very good, with the Flagstaff Gardens across the road, Parliament station and the City Circle plus other trams about 2 mins walk away. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium and the city centre is 10 mins walk. Would highly recommend for a short stay in Melbourne, or even for a drink or meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: There is currently construction work going on to the north of the hotel. If sleep during the day or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Raddison for four nights in May 2013 for our first look at Melbourne and it was a very good experience. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Restaurant at the hotel is excellent. Being a city hotel obviously you cannot expect it to be perfectly quiet but with a good park opposite it is better than most. The position of the hotel is great for the tourist as there is very good public transport just outside the main entrance. Our next stay in Melbourne will definitely be at the Raddison.

Room Tip: Rooms facing park on upper floors, but still expect to hear trams in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed one month in the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens and I can recommed the Hotel to all leisure and business travellers. The Hotel is located on one of the most beautiful Parks of Melbourne, close to the Central Station, the Shopping Center QV and the docklands. You can catch the free circle tram in front of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The HQ Restaurant offers every friday a happy hour with an excellent price for sparkling wines and yummy cocktails. I Love the beds of the hotel rooms, they are very comfortable so can sleep very deep and well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed one night in a King bed room with park views. Room was a great size with a freshly renovated bathroom - huge shower. Exceptionally clean. Very well stocked mini bar. HQ restaurant service and food quality was excellent. Drink prices quite expensive but to be expected for this quality of hotel. Easy walking distance to Queen Victoria Market. Quick, no hassle check in and check out. Request a late check out until noon free of charge if available.

Room Tip: Booked the standard Queen room and requested an upgrade to a King room and late check out which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.