We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #15 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very good 4* hotel with wonderful staff who will really help you make bookings, give advice and make your stay in Melbourne even better.
The rooms are very well maintained and our premium room was spacious and had everything you would need. Mini bar prices were not too extortionate either. A shame you cannot say the same for breakfast which is pricey. The restaurant at other times seemed reasonably priced and the food was excellent.The bar was also sensibly priced for a city hotel.
The staff, especially concierge, were truely outstanding and were so helpful booking us trips, theatre seats etc and helping get around on the easy transport just nearby. It may look a little out of the way but actually its in walking distance of the centre (15mins) with a free tram service nearby, train station and other tram lines all within a minute of outside.
This a good hotel, well managed, friendly and a great choice for tourists or business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    372
    80
    17
    14
See reviews for
107
356
92
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a long weekend, everything about this hotel just exceeded our expectations. When looking for accommodation in Melbourne, this hotel was more than I budgeted but I chose it because of the location. It was worth every penny.

It was so easy to get to, just a five minute walk from the train station where the Skybus drops you off from the airport. A lovely walk to the CBD which took us 10-15 minutes and the Queen Victoria Markets were one minute around the corner! The staff were polite and friendly and checking in was done at lightning speed. Our room was lovely, with a cute view of the Flagstaff Gardens across the road. It was quiet and the facilities were excellent! Tea's, coffee & hot chocolate, an easy to use TV and the bathroom was huge with good quality toiletries.

The restaurant below was AMAZING! The prices are reasonable and the waitstaff were friendly, joked around with you and were helpful. We couldn't believe how good the food was and ate there often! We had no problems with the speed of the free internet and the staff were more than happy to hold on to our bags after we checked, so we can roam the CBD for the rest of the day without our luggage!

I would highly recommend this hotel, it certainly exceeded our expectations and I hope it does for you too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is an older property, conveniently situated for the emerging business district in Docklands. While not up to the standards of the newer Radisson Blu facilities, it is adequate and good value for money. Internet facilities are slow (but free).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Well placed with trams stops within 3 mins walk and train station about 5 mins away. Downside is that not many establishments for dinner nearby that are worth mentioning. Rooms are clean and service is prompt. Rates are reasonable and if you are a Carlson Club member ... all the better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed two nights in the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens hotel in April 2013, I had a room on the 7th floor.

The room was great, plenty of space, comfortable bed, good facilities such as tea and coffee, quality TV, good lighting and a really good bathroom. I only had breakfast in the restaurant so can't comment on the other meals but breakfast was very good, a nice selection from the buffet and an egg chef which is not that common in Australian hotels I have stayed in before.

I would certainly stay there agin myself and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We bought one of those deals of the day - and in the deal was late checkout and one free breakfast. I made the booking and was offered the second breakfast for $20, I agreed.
So we went there, it was in a handy position for us, and we booked a room overlooking the gardens, the first impressions were great, so handy to the Queen Vic Market too. On booking in I made mention of the $20 extra for the second breakfast which noone seemed to know about. How needlessly embarrassing. I really don't get why when offering these things a note can't be made on the booking information of the offer. Anyway we booked in. The room was spacious enough, but the furniture had seen better days, very knocked around. But that didn't matter that much, it was clean and comfy. The staff were very nice and there were some great touches, like the free wi fi, the water with lemon slices by the lift for guests. If you are an early riser like me or have to catch an early flight, there is a pod coffee machine set up downstairs with tea, fruit and muesli bars. Nice thoughtful touch. We could only just hear the trams through the window, but only barely and wasn't a problem at all. The main part of the city is about a 15 min walk or a quick tram ride. There is a free one handy but sometimes it is very very crowded. I preferred walking.

As we were heading to our room for the night, I quickly reminded the concierge about the late checkout. Of course as with the breakfast, they didn't know anything about it but she said not a problem, will make a note of it. It just irks me a little that when you are offered these things that you feel when you try to redeem them you feel like you are doing something dishonest. Again, all it took was a note on my booking. Oh yes the bed was lovely and the big rainshower was beautiful. Very comfortable night's sleep.
Anyway we went to breakfast, I again asked about the $20...again it was a big drama, the girl asked a few people and came back after 10 minutes or so and said yes it is fine. Phew. Still should not have had to go through this....it was kind of embarrassing/humiliating. But in saying that the breakfast was top notch. Huge variety and the egg station was great. There is someone there that will cook fried/poached/omelettes to your liking fresh and also waffles. Love that. After a quick visit to Victoria Market - and that is something really worth going to..they have touristy junk there but they also have the best leather bags and ugg boots etc. Checkout was a little slow, there were only two staff members, but altogether fine.
Altogether it was a great stay, the staff were very friendly, very accommodating but the communication was lacking.

Room Tip: Choose a park view and the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Service. The reviews on trip advisor say the service is noteworthy, and its true. Husband and I spent a whole 22 hours in Melbourne mixing business with pleasure so we didn't see too much of the inside of our room, but honestly, for our purposes this place was spot on. The rooms and common areas are clean and as fresh and up to date as you'd expect, and the place was overflowing with pilots. I always figure, if the air crew stay there it can't be bad.
Breakfast buffet was great (its our favourite part of any hotel stay) and sitting at a nice quiet table watching early morning dog walkers in Flagstaff Gardens made our awfully early start feel better. The location is great, the bed is comfy, the staff are absolutely lovely and the breakfast is proper. Add free internet and you're set.
In fact that's probably my final word: in a world where hotels charge for everything, this is a hotel who didn't, with the lovely receptionist saying "if we take all your money how can you have fun in Melbourne? We want you to have fun."

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.