We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arriving at 8.30 am after a flight from the UK we thought we'd have to wait to be allowed to check-in, but no.....they found us a room that was ready! Great service from the staff who were polite and helpful. The room was very comfortable, maybe the furniture had seen better days and was a little on the shabby side, but the room was clean, bathroom spotless, the bed comfy and the a/c not too loud!
The hotel is well located, next to the Queen's market and very handy for the free tram service that we used all the time to see this lovely city.
The only down side is the building work going on behind the hotel which our room overlooked. Worked started at 7am and could be heard in the room, even though the foundations were hardly out of the ground. This is going to be a high rise building and will be more of a noise intrusion as the works progress.
Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the building work at the rear of the hotel before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    346
    79
    17
    14
See reviews for
98
337
88
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located at the edge of CBD, Radisson has the best of both worlds. Half an hour from the airport, minutes away are several tram & train stops, Flagstaff Garden is across the road and a short walk gets you to plenty of shopping & nightlife.

The breakfast buffet is a must. You are spoilt for choice, the coffee is great and the waffle is even better.

The viewing deck above level 10 offers beautiful prospects of the city, with some drinks it is even better at night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing William St enjoy park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyabram, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Firstly got this hotel at a great Seniors price for Melbourne and noticed recently it has been on deals of the day for even a cheaper price! Normal price is just out of my retired income to pay.

We came to this hotel on a Friday and found that there was a Happy Hour (which ran for 2 hours). $1.00 champagne and $4.00 wine - don't know the price for beer with finger food passed around very occasionally.
The Staff at this hotel from the Bar Staff to the Reception staff and Service Staff were wonderful, polite, interested and helpful.
The room was great and was nicely furnished and comfortable.

We did not have breakfast here as this was out of our normal price range for one egg!! (which is all I can eat in a morning).

The spa area at the top of the hotel was beautiful, and the view at night of Melbourne would be spectacular. But if you had mobility issues it would be difficult to get to. Unfortunately I did not bring my bathers, so cannot comment on the water quality, heat etc.

Really enjoyed this hotel and the proximity to the Queen Vic. market. It is also an easy ride on the tourist tram or up on the William streeet from Southbank etc.

Unfortunately at 7.00 am there was a 15 minute fire alarm which was quite concerning. After we got dressed and proceeded downstairs, we were informed to stay in our rooms until further information. Apparently this was a fault, but the noise was deafening and resulted in us trying to block our ears with tissues!! ;) This was the only problem that we had whilst at the hotel.

I have been to a few places in Melbourne and this is one that I will be coming back to. In fact I have booked again in August when I am off overseas. The airport bus does a pick up from this hotel and takes you to the airport for $17.00.

Room Tip: A park view room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My stay at the Radisson was very pleasant. Its in a good location for the city, within walking distance to most of Melbourne's attractions. The room was clean and spacious and the free internet access is a welcome change from most Australian hotels! on the 10th floor is a small gym, jacuzzi and sun deck, all of which seemed very under used - great! I was the only one there most days! the view from the sun deck over Flagstaff Gardens is worth a look. The only downside is the car parking, they charge 40 dollars a day for valet parking!! or you can do it yourself in the car park around the corner which the hotel has a deal with for 25 dollars per 25 hours. You can park in the taxi rank outside the hotel while they direct you. One consideration is the other car parks, VIP parking which are on the left of the hotel were charging just 15 dollars per 24 hours, seems its worth asking the privately owned car parks for a deal. You'll need some change to park on the street while you do this though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights on separate occasions to catch our flights back home. The pluses - nice and clean, a friendly welcome from reception staff, comfy bed, close to main town. The minuses - every time we ordered anything from reception, such as ice, or a porter to collected our cases, they took *ages*. On both occasions I had to phone down after 25 minutes to find out what the delay was. Also, on the second visit, we arrived at around 6.30 pm and no porter to came out to help up with our cases. When one did finally appear, he helped my husband rather than me - super! On checking out, we left our cases at the desk as our transport wasn't going to arrive for a few hours. However, when we returned, we found the luggage had been taken back up to the room. Unbelievable! Just needs a closer Managment eye...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here with our parents and toddler. We found the rooms to be modern, spacious and comfortable. We had room on 9th floor with view of the park. recommend paying extra for park view. Beds were medium to firm which we loved. great air con. The staff were exceptional - very friendly, helpful and available for advice without any attitude. The omelettes chef at breakfast was particularly helpful with our son. My husband loved the gym and we used the jacuzzi almost everyday. Would recommend staying here, the only downfall is most of restaurants are 10 plus min walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel could not be easier, it's in walking distance to many shops and monuments and it has a train station right opposite!

The staff at the Radisson were very helpful, the hotel well kept and clean and the free Internet was great too!

My only complaint would be that the night time room service is very limited - not even fries! As a vegan this meant that there was nothing for us to eat and the suggestion of "call back in 6 hours or go to McDonald's" was not at all appreciated!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.