We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room Great Space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
barrindp
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Room Great Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here as I had a workshop to attend near by. I was expecting a good hotel and thats what I got - check in was fast smooth efficient. The staff worked well as a team ensuring that no one was kept waiting - and someone was always on hand to welcome and help with bags to or from taxi's.

The room is a standard for this quality of hotel - no surprises but no shocks either - the bed and linen was especially good. Had a room on a lower floor and was not disturbed by traffic noise.

Located on the edge of the city by the Queen Victoria Markets and opposite a beautiful garden the hotel is well suited for those travelling on business or wanting a convenient location to explore the city.

The breakfast buffet would rate as one of the best I have ever come across (quality, quantity and presentation - and Value).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    443
    97
    19
    15
See reviews for
144
423
107
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the week - and was very pleasantly surprised. While the hotel is not right in the CBD, it's 5 mins walk to the Flagstaff train station, is right across for a lovely park/garden and as a result of what looks like a recent refurb, was a delight to visit. Great rooms on the upper levels, fantastic room service for those nights when you get from work late, and a reasonable breakfast room with a view although the coffee wasn't fantastic. Also has a small gym which overlooks parts of the city - you need to get there early to grab a machine if you want to cardio but nonetheless it was fine. My favourite hotel in Melbourne is the Langham on Southbank, but I will visit this hotel again - great value for money.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the upper levels it's worth it . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel on a deal site and had a fantastic stay. Location was great (right next to Queen Victoria markets) and service from staff even better. Every morning they answered every query we had and flagged down taxis for us. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Spectacular views from rooftop!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Excellent location if like us, you love the Queen Vic markets!!! Central to main area Melbourne, Great spot for trams, buses. Hotel lovely and quiet, staff very friendly, front counter and concierge very helpful and always smiling. Bed was oh so comfy, air con was good, bathroom spacious and clean!!!! Definitely would stay there again, and would recommend the hotel for a Melbourne break.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor, almost no street noise and a lovely view of the gardens just across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed over Easter weekend. We arrived at the hotel approx 9am, expecting to just leave our bags & get on with our day. The very helpful staff found a room on the 4th floor so checked us straight in. The room was a good size, clean with comfortable bed, good shower, toiletries provided etc.
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Victoria Markets so go early one day & have breakfast there, it's fun to watch the stalls being set up. It is also only a 5 min walk to the CBD so if you like walk take advantage of it & check out the local sights on the way. It is also opposite a lovely park good for some daily exercise. The hotel will also give suggested routes if you want to go for a run. It's a quiet localion close to lots of restaurants.
Breakfast wasn't included in our package but was only AUD19, which is pretty much what you'll pay elsewhere, and the selection is better. Pity about the terrible coffee!
We dined in the restaurant twice and the food is very good and again pretty much the same as you'll pay in town but better quality in some cases.
We never got up to the rooftop to use the pool or gym, as we did tons of walking thru the day.
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel as we got it super cheap as a Mystery Deal on Wotif, it filled all our needs.
Just one thing - could a few herbal teas be provided in the tea/coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I booked the Business Class room on wotif. The room came with free internet, buffet breakfast and 11am check out.
The customer service I recieved when I checked in was terrible. A young man checked me in. I was only told my room number, they usually like to confirm what room you asked for (businees suite) but I was not told/asked this. I was not told checkout time, what time breakfast was served in the restaurant, where I can park my car (Valet $30 or Wilsons Car Park $17) or even where the lift was. Very bad customer service!!!!!!!

Onto my room, I had a room, overlooking the park, the business suite was clean and simple, there was enough room to move around in.
Bathroom was not badly sized, shower over the bath.
The room had only cups, glasses and spoons, no other cutlery.
My overall opinion is it's a comfortable place to stay, hopefully customer service will improve.

ROOM SERVICE MENU

$14 - $30
Club Sandwich, Beef burger, Chicken Caesar Salad, Potato Gnocchi, Spaghetti Marinara, Beef Ribs, Osso Bucco, Braised Beef Cheek, Chicken Cacciatore, Beef Burgandy, Lamb Shank, Chick Pea Curry.

FROM THE GRILL $21
Beef Sirloin
Lamb Rump
Beef Scotch Fillet
Chicken Breast
Barramundi

ON THE SIDE $8 (From the grill)
Sourdough cob
Buttered Beans, toasted almonds
Fennel Salad
Garden Salad
Fat Chips
Crushed Potato
Asian Greens
Steamed Vegtables

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on Easter Saturday. Staff were helpful and friendly. Clean, spacious room and comfortable king size bed. Our room was on the 9th floor and overlooked a construction site which wasn't very pleasant, so we kept the gauze curtains closed. I thought it unusual that we didn't get a twin bedded room, but we didn't mind because the bed was huge. We didn't eat breakfast there. Tea, coffee and toast is $12.50 each, continental $16.50 each and full was close to $30. My daughter found the free wi-fi slow. It takes about 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the Burke Street Mall. Queen Victoria Markets are only 5 min walk away. We found it very easy to get taxis in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.