We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night this week. It's a nice hotel across from a park. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful when checking in and also when organising the Valet parking (an extra $30). The room was fine, fairly basic but spacious enough with a good TV and a little desk space to work from. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The bed was comfy.

My one complaint was with the internet. It was a free connection, which is great, so I guess I should't complain too much, but unfortunately it would barely work. I ended up just using my phone to check emails, etc because the connection was so poor. Not that big a deal for just a one night stay but something i think they should really sort out as it will definitely affect my decision to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALoGiusto, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson on your recent visit to Melbourne.

Having recently installed a new internet system in all guest rooms, we are currently working through some connectivity issues with our provider. We will have these resolved throughout April and look forward to seeing an improved performance in the coming weeks.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and look forward to sharing your rating and comments with my team. I hope that we will see you again when you are next in town.

Regards

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    348
    79
    17
    14
See reviews for
97
336
88
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wagga wagga Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight on a shopping trip to Melbourne. Good location while not right in the centre of town close enough for us to walk to shops, but would not walk at night. Good room adequate in size as was the bathroom. Bathroom could do with a shelf for toilet bag but great shower. The bed and bedding were both really comfortable and gave a very good night sleep. We did not eat in the Hotel, however enjoyed a pleasant drink in the bar. Disappointed Wi-fi was not working, we received a note to say that we would be advised when it was back on but did not receive it, we found it back on by trying it. Valet parking very convenient and took 5 minutes to get the car on check out. All staff very friendly. Our room was at the back of the Hotel, which was very quiet, one overlooking the park would be lovely.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Park, but ask if noisy with the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Melbourne if you want to be reasonably close to everything. It's on the tram line, and the trams stop almost right outside. The train station is also close - just diagonally across the street. While the hotel has parking available, there is also street parking and parking available in parking garages close by if you have friends coming to visit. The room was clean, modern and very well set up, with good lighting - our room also had nice view over Flagstaff Gardens. It also has a good Business Centre with a printer, useful for doing an airline online check in and printing out boarding passes. It also has a big set of scales in the lobby, which was very useful for weighing luggage. The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly. It also has free wifi which was a bit slow when we were there, but I was assured that problem is being addressed and a new system has been installed. It was also very handy to Queen Victoria Markets - a bit too handy really. Overall a great hotel, well located with friendly staff and we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Flagstaff Gardens have a very nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Excellent hotel. We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel gave me a free upgrade to a Suite which certainly eased my mood! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, great rooms with a view over the park and behind the Queen Victoria Markets.

The hotel provides free wi-fi connection which is a real bonus. Overall, this is a great hotel. Highly recommended for service, comfort, location and papmering.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a good spot to stay when touring the Melbourne CBD. Hotel was modern, updated and the staff was especially friendly and helpful. Our room faced the gardens just across the street. We were only a few blocks from the Yarra River and a very vibrant Chinatown. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens after a last minute booking. I usually stay a little closer into the city, however the hotel is very handy to everything, and the price is a little cheaper. My room was clean and tidy and the furniture was in good condition. The room is of average size and is quiet. Parking is a decent price relative to other places and there is free wifi. I had a room service dessert, which was fine.

The view from my room wasn't great, however it wasn't bad and I imagine that while the view would be better on the William St side, it may be noisier.

I thought had trouble with the internet, however it was actually my computer. The reception staff immediately got an IT person to help me figure out what was going on. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the four nights I spent here. I know Melbourne well and deliberately chose a hotel on the fringes of the CBD for some much needed peace and quiet. My room overlooked the beautiful Flagstaff Gardens (don't forget to feed the possums there - they love sliced apple!) and was an oasis of tranquility. And it is an easy walk to the CBD (or catch the 55 tram which leaves from just down the road) and to the vibrant Victoria Market.

As is so often the case with Radisson hotels, its main strength is its staff. Without exception, they did everything possible to make my stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Would I go back? The sooner the better!!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the park - if they haven't all gone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.