We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on William

Save Saved
You added Quest on William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest on William
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Toowoomba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in the 2 Bedroom Apartment for 4 nights which we found to be very spacious with the comforts you find at home. It was well positioned with a tram stop not too far away so with young children this was helpful! Great eating spots nearby - not too far a walk from Hardware Lane. Also nice to have a Pantry Service so we were able to order groceries in advance and have them waiting in the room on our arrival. I would probably suggest that a copy of grocery orders be provided along with guests invoices so that any mix ups can be avoided.( Aimee was efficient in correcting this ). Overall, we had a wonderful time and the staff were all very friendly!

Room Tip: We had a room on the sixth floor facing William Street and the noise was quite minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. As always we love to have your family stay with us and am happy to hear it was another enjoyable stay. Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family of three stayed here for 10 days in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean & spacious. Full kitchen facilities in room including oven, microwave & dishwasher. Hotel staff very friendly & accommodating. Perfect CBD location with trams available in all directions close by. Easy walking distance to Southern Cross station, Bourke st mall & Melbourne Central. Free wi fi in room provided. Good security, Swipe access required to building & lifts.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Quest on William.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Accommodation was spacious and clean, and good location. Staff were friendly and the amenities were adequate, we would stay there again. Nice and quiet location,the townhouse was perfect for a family weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank youfor your recent review of Quest on William. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a two bedroom apartment for three of us staying there. Location is good, particularly as we wanted to be near Southern Cross, a short stroll away. Good restaurants close by, and Victoria Markets a couple of blocks up William St. The apartment was comfortable, although the bed was a bit too soft for me - but that was not a failing of the hotel as it is a personal thing. Staff were helpful, the apartment was clean and if we had wanted to self-cater kitchen facilities were good. WiFi was available in the room for a price. We didn't need it as we had made our own arrangements, but in this day and age hotels, generally, should look at providing WiFi as it has become a necessity. This is not a complaint about the Quest, but hotels in general - even if they add a few dollars to the tariff, and include WiFi, they will still make money out of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent stay and review of Quest on William.

We offer complimentary WiFi in all apartments and a premium internet package which is charged at a small cost, I will take your comments on board and possibly look at promoting the free WiFi so that guest can be aware of the internet service options.

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your apartment, our service and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our stay here was very comfortable. The hotel is very central for station, shops, restaurants and transport throughout the city. The room was spacious and clean and staff very helpful. Only disappointment was that we had to go to the lobby to access Wi-Fi. Would have been nice to have it in the room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Quest on William.
We have literally just introduced complimentary wifi in the apartments, and you might have just missed out and stayed before it was introduced.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your apartment, our service and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

once we found a park to check in it was easy from there. Lovely room, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly and efiicient and the cleanliness was a high standard. Great location easy access to everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for your review of Quest on William. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our apartments of a high quality. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom executive. I had booked over the phone and had confirmed an early check in for 1pm. Upon arrival there was no where to park whilst we waited to check in. We had arrived around 12:30 only to be told we couldn't have the room until 2. Then had to leave a $300 deposit which was not mentioned on the website or over the phone. We went up to the room to drop off our bags around 1 and luckily housekeeping had already cleaned so we could stay. The manager of the hotel then stormed into our room and was rather rude wondering why we were there. The morning of check out we got woken at 10 to vacate the room, which again, late check out at 11 was another thing we had confirmed but had been forgotten. All in all, the room was nice and clean, plenty of space, large balcony. Tv had no pay tv channels, the shower was very small and you could hear noise from the street when laying in bed. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to bad experience with the customer service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. I very happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and apartment amenities.

I'm glad we were able to provide a 1pm check-in for you - we try our very best to provide for early arrival requests, however guaranteed check-in is always from 2pm onwards.

In regards to your concerns, thank you for bringing these to my attention. Please rest assured I will discuss these with the relevant departments involved. I was unaware of these issues until your review and would encourage you in future to speak to management during your stay so that concerns can be investigated and actioned at the time they occur.

Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your review further.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Address: 172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.