We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apmt, great location and super friendly/helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest on William to your Saves list
Quest on William
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Spacious apmt, great location and super friendly/helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for a week and was impressed by the always very friendly staff going out of their way to help guests. Overall clean and spacious apmt - with only downside being the traffic noise even up on 11th floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Great to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! Thank you for your comments regarding noise concerns; as we are located in the city centre traffic noise is unavoidable, however we do have double glazed windows in our apartments to combat as much noise as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
59
18
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bed apartment. It's fine, not 4.5 star quality but nice enough.
Reasonably central, only a short walk to most places in the cbd, trams out front and close by.
Modern furnishings, comfy beds and windows that open a small way for fresh air.
Only real small grievance is the crap coffee in the rooms. Considering it's supposed to be 4.5 star hotel, you would think there would be at least a much better quality coffee! But we are a big coffee loving family.
Oh and the shower is ridiculously small!
Off site parking around 100m down the road.
Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel we booked at very short notice, 2 days to be exact, and booked a 1 bed apartment for one night. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment at no extra charge which was a lovely surprise. The car park was full and the site we booked through made no mention that to park on site you had to book, however, there was a Wilson car park just over the road which only cost $14 and was easy to walk to with luggage. The apartment had a great feel to it; modern furnishings, tv, dvd player, iPhone docking station in the main bedroom and a well stocked kitchen complete with boxed breakfast if you wanted to buy it. The only negatives I could make about this place is that the bathrooms seem to have not been renovated recently along with the rest of the apartment which is no big deal but opening the shower screen outwards is impossible as it knocks into the toilet seat! And I ran the bath water for a while and it came out looking like weak tea. And the TV reception wasn't great. But really those are the only areas of improvement I could make in regard to this accommodation. I would stay again in a heart beat - although we didn't explore the city on this short stay, it did seem that the accommodation was centrally located so ideal for checking out what Melbourne has to offer. Lovely stay guys - Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! Thank you for your comments regarding areas for improvement - I shall forward them onto my relevant departments to have them looked into. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a 2 bedroom apartment for three nights. The apartment was large and well laid out with the bedrooms (with ensuites) being at opposite ends, which gave plenty of privacy etc. The apartment enjoyed fantastic views (we were on the 9th floor), was exceptionally quiet, the apartments seemed to be well designed to not have noise from other nearby rooms. Full length windows which led out to deck areas, kitchen was very well equipped, and lounge and dining furniture excellent. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well presented. We have stayed in Melbourne many times, and found this address to be ideal as it was easy walking distance from/to Southern Cross station where we walked with our luggage, plus also great to access the City centre, shops, Flinders Street, Southbank, Docklands, and all forms of transport. The tram 55 runs past the door which goes past the Zoo. All in all we found it very convenient indeed. The two young men at Reception were very welcoming. A great stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The service on arrival was excellent, car park onsite and rooms were spotless. Booked a 1 bedroom as I was in for a weeks stay and wanted to cook some nights so the kitchen set up was a plus. Lucky enough to be staying over the weekend so made good use of the Vic Market which was a 5 minute walk from Quest on William. Will be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to submit the online review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we were off to Melbourne for a weekend and wondererd why we couldn't get a place where we usually stay. it was the weekend of the Melbourne marathon so rooms were scarce. How lucky were we. Family of four ( adults) two bedder plenty of room clean and tidy would have no problems staying there for a week... and a bargain. room was good staff were great location was good (if you know Melbourne). now..we had a 2nd storey little noise from occasional tram (didn't worry us) but no "city" noise. and as all have said...the shower is small but none of us had a problem. (how long does one shower??).. As a regular visitor to Melbourne.. yes i would stay here again

Room Tip: if your staying for a week try up. weekend...it doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in the 2 bedroom executive apartment. I will most definitely be staying here again when I visit Melbourne. The apartment was very modern, clean and provided nice views of the Melbourne CBD. The location is within walking distance of the Yarra River and central Melbourne. While the staff are all very accommodating, we certainly appreciated the front desk clerk (I think Josh was his name) who gave us great information on local eats, attractions and also helped us with driving directions. Thanks Quest

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to submit the online review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to provide comfortable, clean accommodation combined with great customer service to the business and leisure traveler alike.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Address: 172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.