We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got lucky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on William

Save Saved
You added Quest on William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Quest on William
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“got lucky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we were off to Melbourne for a weekend and wondererd why we couldn't get a place where we usually stay. it was the weekend of the Melbourne marathon so rooms were scarce. How lucky were we. Family of four ( adults) two bedder plenty of room clean and tidy would have no problems staying there for a week... and a bargain. room was good staff were great location was good (if you know Melbourne). now..we had a 2nd storey little noise from occasional tram (didn't worry us) but no "city" noise. and as all have said...the shower is small but none of us had a problem. (how long does one shower??).. As a regular visitor to Melbourne.. yes i would stay here again

Room Tip: if your staying for a week try up. weekend...it doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
13
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in the 2 bedroom executive apartment. I will most definitely be staying here again when I visit Melbourne. The apartment was very modern, clean and provided nice views of the Melbourne CBD. The location is within walking distance of the Yarra River and central Melbourne. While the staff are all very accommodating, we certainly appreciated the front desk clerk (I think Josh was his name) who gave us great information on local eats, attractions and also helped us with driving directions. Thanks Quest

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to submit the online review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to provide comfortable, clean accommodation combined with great customer service to the business and leisure traveler alike.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for one night so can only comment for this short stay. We were given a lovely two level apartment on the top floor which was fantastic, only downer was one bathroom, so a bit hectic with five adults. Nice and clean room, very comfortable beds and couch's. Handy to Southern Cross Station, Southbank with the Crown Casino. No balcony but very quiet and helpful staff, would recommend for all travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Grant. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Was the room clean - The room was clean. The housekeeping staff were excellent. The apartment was serviced daily, and the housekeepers were very helpful.

Was the bed comfortable - Queen Size - Yes the bed was comfortable as were the pillows.

Was the enviorremnet quiet - The hotel faces William Street, which has trams running parallel with the hotel. Our 2 bedroom apartment was at the back of the hotel, so we had no noise from the trams. However, in the lane which backed onto our apartment was a few restaurants and bars, which were very noisy. The bars did not close some mornings until 1.00am. This is not the hotels fault, but it did interrupt our sleep

Location - Excellent. A tram stop right outside the door, for route 55, which took you to the Victoria markets in one direction, or the Casino in the other direction. It is a 2 block stroll to the Bourke St. Mall. Bourke St is 50 metres away, with trams every 5 minutes in both directions.
There are numerous great restaurants in all directions. You are spoilt for choice with restaurants.

The staff - All the staff were helpful, smiling and assisted us every time we asked for anything.

General information - The hotel is an older hotel, but it was ok. The door to our shower / bathroom squeaked when opening, which was an issue for a night time trip to the bathroom, as it woke my wife. An easy fix though for maintenance staff. The room was very spacious. We had a 2 bed / 2 bath. Full kitchen, dining room and balcony.

The free Wi-Fi was only in the foyer. $50 a week if you want it in the room.

Would I stay there again - A room in the centre of the hotel would eliminate the noise from the bars and restaurants. If I could be guaranteed one of those rooms, I would stay again. Just check were your room is in relation to the rear of the building.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great base from which to conduct business. Centrally located, it's within easy walking distance of Southern Cross Station and about 10 minutes to the city centre. Even Lygon Street is only a 30 minute walk away. I've used this as a base before and would do so again. There is free wifi in the lobby which I was able to access from the 7th floor, otherwise connection charges are significant. The executive studio is more a one bedroom unit than what you'd expect as a studio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to submit the online review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to provide comfortable, clean accommodation combined with great customer service to the business and leisure traveler alike.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pros:

1) Central location - food, drinks, shopping
2) Fully supplied apt - kitchen, washer/dryer, living space
3) Clean - from the foyer to the room itself
4) Professional staff - willing to hold bags beyond checkout to facilitate last minute errands

Cons:

1) Gym - small and limited; however, what is on hand is maintained and towels available

All in all, would certainly stay at The Quest on William for personal or professional visits to Melbourne in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review Derek. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is well managed and clean set in a convenient location close to restaurants, tram and Flinders St train station. The double bedrooms are large and roomy with one bathroom, kitchen and living area. Great for business trip or a weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou for the of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to review and submit for our property. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Quest on William. We strive to provide comfortable, clean accommodation combined with great customer service to the business and leisure traveler alike.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
172 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Also Known As:
Quest On William Hotel
Quest On William Melbourne
Address: 172 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.