We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nights sleep in 7!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Quest Fairfax House
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One nights sleep in 7!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great staff, fantastic location, so noisy we couldn't sleep. The hotel backs onto a lane and the a fantastic restaurant is behind. But when the staff go on break or they roll the kegs down the lane at 3 in the morning you simply cannot sleep. We moved to another room and it was like a the street noises where in our room. The kind staff moved us to another room on the third night and although better it was still very noisy. All the management have to do is double or triple glaze the windows and problem solved. We will never stay there again, but I have to say the location and staff are great.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms at the front are the best of a bad bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
16
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel room was a bit tired but ok. The location was great.
The airconditioning was a huge problem. It was a stand alone system that had been put into the room with a large hose running out through the window that had to be open so let a lot of noise in as well as warm air. To make matters worse the water tray on the system filled up about every 4 hours and a loud alarm went off for you to empty it. 5 nights of very bad sleep does not a happy traveller make! We did try sleeping without it on but the room was then very stuffy (and we come from a warm place so have a reasonable tolerance even to Melbourne on 30 degree days) and noisy from street noise.
Also impossible to get an iron that worked despite a few attempts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in the older building - where despite whenever you book ,aprantly special deals are located - cold room with no double glazing so VERY VERY Noisy - very tired small 1 bedroom apartment with a shower head hanging off its hinges - we complained and asked to be moved - the staff member on call on the friday evening said he would call us sat morning to change but nothing

Room Tip: Dont book this locaiton unless sure in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Service was not good,as it was during Easter and they were short of staff...Room was small but good for the money paid for.Good cooking facilities in the apartment.Stayed in 1 bedroom apartment.Overall was good,and would consider staying there next time.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing little collins street would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room 10 is above an alleyway with a very LOUD garage door that was used several times through the night and early morning, and garbage skips used at early hours of the morning (we were woken at 4am, 5am, 7am...). Because of the HORRIBLY thin walls, and windows we heard EVERYTHING down on the street, so we checked out after one night. I had booked and paid for 4 nights through an online booking company, but Quest did not refund any of the unused nights, or did not seem to care much about how loud it is from room 10, that we slept terribly and were quite unhappy. The receptionist simply asked "did you check the windows were closed?" Are you serious?! ...

We stayed a few nights at Quest SXY South Yarra last month and it was an amazing brand new building in a quieter area. So I booked Quest Fairfax House trusting that being part of the Quest chain it should be fine, and we wanted to be in the middle of the city for convenience (this was a business related stay) .... But Fairfax House was probably so much worse due to how old the building is.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 10 or probably 10a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently stayed 5 nights. 3 couples 50+. Got upgrades to the penthouse suite. This was huge. Lift opened straight into the lounge room. Felt like we were in a hollywood movie. Staff were helpful. Location excellent. Only reason not given a five star rating is because of the noise. There were a couple of nightclubs in close proximity, so we were woken up on a lot of occasions on the Saturday night. The windows need to be double glazed to minimise the noise. Besides that, couldn't really fault it and look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Mitso29,

Thank you for your great feedback on our location and services.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your Weekend get away with us

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Situated in little collins street, this hotel is perfectly positioned for exploring Melbourne CBD! The apartments are well appointed, very big and the beds were GREAT! Very well priced for what and where it is.
The lift is a little temperamental but does the job. Staff were great - very friendly. All round I'd stay there again in a flash!

Room Tip: I was in a 3 bed apartment but I imagine they are all similiar - very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Matthew,

We appreciate you taking time to provide us with the feedback on your recent stay and am glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay.
We would to particularly thank you for the great feedback on the staff and the space in the apartment and will be sure to pass on the great feedback to all staff.

Please feel free to contact myself or any of our reception staff should you wish to book again in the future, I would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Fairfax House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.