We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the Quest Standard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Quest Fairfax House
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not up to the Quest Standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment direct with the property after an on line search.
The receptionist was very helpful and we felt comfortable with the arrangements,.The property was rated 4 star.
After clearing reception we went to the room ( 6 people) we found the bedrooms were not configured as requested/ not enough toweling,soap etc for 6 people / ensuite bathroom fans and lights did not work( could not be fixed until Monday). No airconditionig in Bedrooms only old fans ( advertised as airconditioned). We had loose power points in the bathroom .Rooms not serviced ( told we had a special rate which did not include apartment being serviced) ....only online/and oral comment was this is a 2 night rate.
Wrote to the Management and they apologised....staff were good .....apartment not up to Quest Brand standard ....apparently apartments are on Strata and each owner is responsible
keep for maintenance.......Be careful when you book....ask questions don't assume what you read is what you get.

Room Tip: Room we had opened onto lane way on 4th Floor....very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi 8pints,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with Quest Fairfax House both the positive and negative of your stay.

The issues regarding the bathroom and lighting has been raised with our Maintenance team and has since been rectified, we have also requested for all of our housekeeping team to advise us of any maintenance issues during the regular cleaning schedules.

I have discussed and ensuring all staff are documenting in confirmations when rates are subject to conditions such as the two nights discounted rate is, I have also performed a full retrain with housekeeping on the stocking levels of Guest amenities in all apartment types.

Once again thank you for providing your feedback and we hope you will consider returning for a more satisfactory stay with Quest Fairfax House next time.
Regards,
Ben Warren
Business Development Executive
Quest Fairfax House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
16
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay for the weekend or longer! We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom, two level apartment on level 5 which was spacious and had high ceilings. Upon booking the room I had specifically requested one which would have reduced traffic noise from outside. Some noise still filtered through to one of the bedrooms with the balcony but it was not loud enough to disturb sleep.

Kitchen utensils and amenities were sufficient. Great location as most attractions were in walking distance e.g. Chinatown and Crowne Casino.

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: When booking just be specific in what you want - the first time I stayed here I was placed in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Crayyy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback on the location and facilities at the property.

We hope that we are given the opportunity to welcome you back to Quest Fairfax House and hear more about your next visit.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I read some of the reviews, and was a little reluctant to stay at first but I did and I can say that although the rooms are spacious and colourful. It does feel a little tired, but after a while, what hotel doesn't?
This property is so well located for anyone travelling to Melbourne city. Staff are great!!!

Give it a go, you might be surprised

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Quest Fairfax House.
We appreciate the time you took to complete the information. I am happy that we provided you with accommodation that met your needs for your trip to Melbourne.
We pride ourselves on our service, location and the relationships we build with our valued guests.

Please feel free to contact myself or any of our reception staff should you wish to book again in the future, I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards,
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

shared an apartment with family and had a great time at the tennis, movies, restaurants and shopping. we enjoyed an upgrade on arrival. Close to everything we required and we found some new restaurants close by. It was very noisy the first morning with bins being emptied close by. the apartment could do with a reno but serviced our needs adequately, so good we booked again for next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi DeeluxeRiverspa,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback for your recent stay with us and im glad you enjoyed your break while in Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming yourself again next year.
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stay in a number of Melbourne hotels however, this hotel has a lot against it than postives.
The hotel is out of date and in need of great repair
1. Electrical fitting handing out of the walls
2. Creaking floor boards
3. Dripping taps
4. Some light fitting don't work
5. Shower head loose
and the list goes on on the good sideof the hotel is the front desk service was great all attendants have a great deal of knowledge and were very helpful. Hotel localation is quite good close to shopping, restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with Quest Fairfax House both the positive and negative. I am glad to hear you were happy with the service received from our reception team and will ensure to pass on your kind words.

If you would like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact myself direct via sales.fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au

Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location. Just a walk to Chinatown, other eateries, shopping and sights, not to mention the tram transport. I don't have major issues or annoyances with my studio room, although I notice a slight musty smell, and the shower spout not being securely fastened to the wall. Noise-wise, it's a quiet location in a narrow street. No problems with the after hours access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Lynkster,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback for your recent stay with us and im glad you enjoyed your break while in Melbourne.
We sincerely hope we get an opportunity to accommodate you again.
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here with friends over the New Years Eve/Day period. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff. There was also a nice gentleman that worked there who helped me with my luggage and showed me where to go. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was nice and roomy, close to everything which I really liked, was a short walk to Bourke St and all of the shops.
If you want to stay somewhere which is close to everything and not as expensive as the other hotels, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi TheTravelBug6753,
Thank you for your great feedback on our location and services. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your New Year break here in Melbourne!
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Fairfax House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.