We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Save Saved
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Fairfax House
392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stay in a number of Melbourne hotels however, this hotel has a lot against it than postives.
The hotel is out of date and in need of great repair
1. Electrical fitting handing out of the walls
2. Creaking floor boards
3. Dripping taps
4. Some light fitting don't work
5. Shower head loose
and the list goes on on the good sideof the hotel is the front desk service was great all attendants have a great deal of knowledge and were very helpful. Hotel localation is quite good close to shopping, restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with Quest Fairfax House both the positive and negative. I am glad to hear you were happy with the service received from our reception team and will ensure to pass on your kind words.

If you would like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact myself direct via sales.fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au

Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location. Just a walk to Chinatown, other eateries, shopping and sights, not to mention the tram transport. I don't have major issues or annoyances with my studio room, although I notice a slight musty smell, and the shower spout not being securely fastened to the wall. Noise-wise, it's a quiet location in a narrow street. No problems with the after hours access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Lynkster,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback for your recent stay with us and im glad you enjoyed your break while in Melbourne.
We sincerely hope we get an opportunity to accommodate you again.
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Victoria's capital in March 2012 to watch the Western Force tackle the Melbourne Rebels at AAMI Park! The location of the hotel could not have been better!! Situated on Little Collins Street, it was close to tram lines, restaraunts and key tourist destinations such as Federation Square! Having not stayed in a City Centre for a few years, there was a fair bit of noise at night but didn't hamper from having a good sleep in the 3 bedroom apartment! The apartment was clean, cosy and had great a television and ideal kitchen facilities! Overall, it was a great stay and we will be back soon, hopefully to see the Force win!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Jonesy-The-Ref,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback for your recent stay with us and im glad you enjoyed your break while in Melbourne.
We sincerely hope we get an opportunity to accommodate you again.
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here with friends over the New Years Eve/Day period. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff. There was also a nice gentleman that worked there who helped me with my luggage and showed me where to go. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was nice and roomy, close to everything which I really liked, was a short walk to Bourke St and all of the shops.
If you want to stay somewhere which is close to everything and not as expensive as the other hotels, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi TheTravelBug6753,
Thank you for your great feedback on our location and services. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your New Year break here in Melbourne!
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Regards
Ben
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The split level apartment we stayed in was neat enough - but it did come with its faults.
We were advised there was no check in service after hours so we would have to retrieve our keys from a strange automated service at the front of the building. This (of course) did not work. I had to call an after hours service to send someone to retrieve keys. When you've flown in late at night and all you want to do is get to your room and sleep - this is annoying! The person that came to help was not able to get the keys either and advised he would let us into the room however we would not be able to leave till the morning due to having no keys. Nice.
That night my sister and I were not able to sleep due to a rickety air conditioner that made noise when on and off! The apartment creaked and smelt old. The staff downstairs and in the after hours service were very unhelpful and I really wish I had done my research prior to booking.
The stairs are incredibly steep, the overall presentation of this place is off putting.
I tried as hard as I could to not stay in the room as it faces an office building and my blinds had to be constantly shut for an ounce of privacy. The lighting is crap inside the room so I was in a constant state of darkness. Wow. What a trip. Would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Do your research. Trip advisor obviously the best choice. But really look at the pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 days, the apartment was clean and tidy and very roomy. Air conditioner very quite. Only down side is you booked your car into the private garage, the spaces were very small. When i booked i was asked what type of car because it had to be small to meduim size. When i tried to park their was a mini bus and ute so space was very tight.
Would recommend this hotel because of its position in Melbourne and near all the major attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of Quest Fairfax House, I agree regarding the car parking due to limited availability onsire and we encourage all guests to specify at time of booking the size of the vehicle so we are able to allocate parks appropriately should they require them.
Thank you once again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very tired in overall presentation - window coverings were blinds that let all the light in and the balcony was dirty and unsafe for children. Furniture and layout was not family friendly (steep stairs). Customer service was terrible ... we got a call to leave the room as we were walking out the door at 10:01 am and even though before we arrived we requested a car park overnight and for the next day, we were told we had to move the car (as they were fully booked that night) and that we would need to pay an extra $30 for the day (from 10 - 4), and anyway we couldn't leave the car there. Very poor service and attitude from reception who spent 15 mins on the phone leaving us waiting and then told us this which created problems in finding cheap alternative parking in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. You mentioned that the reception staff were unhelpful, I appolgise for this and we have identified reception as an area of training and we are currently in the process of retraining our staff on the correct procedures as to ensure this doesn’t happen again, our aim is to ensure every guest feels like this is a second home when travelling.
Next time you book please advise reception that you have young children and we can arrange a single level 2 bedroom apartment for your stay.
I thank you for this constructive feedback and I am seeking to rectify the matters raised. If you would like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact myself direct via sales.fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.