We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy joint” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Save Saved
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Fairfax House
392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Creepy joint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The split level apartment we stayed in was neat enough - but it did come with its faults.
We were advised there was no check in service after hours so we would have to retrieve our keys from a strange automated service at the front of the building. This (of course) did not work. I had to call an after hours service to send someone to retrieve keys. When you've flown in late at night and all you want to do is get to your room and sleep - this is annoying! The person that came to help was not able to get the keys either and advised he would let us into the room however we would not be able to leave till the morning due to having no keys. Nice.
That night my sister and I were not able to sleep due to a rickety air conditioner that made noise when on and off! The apartment creaked and smelt old. The staff downstairs and in the after hours service were very unhelpful and I really wish I had done my research prior to booking.
The stairs are incredibly steep, the overall presentation of this place is off putting.
I tried as hard as I could to not stay in the room as it faces an office building and my blinds had to be constantly shut for an ounce of privacy. The lighting is crap inside the room so I was in a constant state of darkness. Wow. What a trip. Would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Do your research. Trip advisor obviously the best choice. But really look at the pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
16
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 days, the apartment was clean and tidy and very roomy. Air conditioner very quite. Only down side is you booked your car into the private garage, the spaces were very small. When i booked i was asked what type of car because it had to be small to meduim size. When i tried to park their was a mini bus and ute so space was very tight.
Would recommend this hotel because of its position in Melbourne and near all the major attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of Quest Fairfax House, I agree regarding the car parking due to limited availability onsire and we encourage all guests to specify at time of booking the size of the vehicle so we are able to allocate parks appropriately should they require them.
Thank you once again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very tired in overall presentation - window coverings were blinds that let all the light in and the balcony was dirty and unsafe for children. Furniture and layout was not family friendly (steep stairs). Customer service was terrible ... we got a call to leave the room as we were walking out the door at 10:01 am and even though before we arrived we requested a car park overnight and for the next day, we were told we had to move the car (as they were fully booked that night) and that we would need to pay an extra $30 for the day (from 10 - 4), and anyway we couldn't leave the car there. Very poor service and attitude from reception who spent 15 mins on the phone leaving us waiting and then told us this which created problems in finding cheap alternative parking in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. You mentioned that the reception staff were unhelpful, I appolgise for this and we have identified reception as an area of training and we are currently in the process of retraining our staff on the correct procedures as to ensure this doesn’t happen again, our aim is to ensure every guest feels like this is a second home when travelling.
Next time you book please advise reception that you have young children and we can arrange a single level 2 bedroom apartment for your stay.
I thank you for this constructive feedback and I am seeking to rectify the matters raised. If you would like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact myself direct via sales.fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Quest Fairfax was in a good location for our overnight stay after Dinner with friends at Red Spice Road, which is just around the corner. But wished I had splurged a little extra for a more modern and fresher look hotel.

We didn't spend a lot of time in our rooms but felt the upstairs Studio Bedroom was a little cramped. There is very little space between the door of the bathroom and the bed which I found disconcerting. Good size bathroom and roomy lounge area and kitchenette.

As previously mentioned the traffic noise annoying, so made for a light sleep. We were also disappointed with the parking options in the area, only one hour until 7:30 pm. Not happy when we walked past our car back from dinner to find a parking fine! Yes, we should have paid the $25 to park for 12 hours....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. I acknowledge noise is a problem due to our Central CBD location and we understand this. We advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking. Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.
I thank you for the feedback and We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and I wouldn't stay again. It was pretty dirty, including soap scum through the bathroom, stained sheets and dirt and hair through the cutlery draw.
The hot water lasted about 10 mins, not that i wanted to stand in the dirty-moulded-scummy- shower.Upon arrival we were also upgraded to a "Larger Room", and as long as we didn't use half of it we wouldn't get charged for it. So really we weren't upgraded at all, just put in a room that we couldn't use half of, and the other half was the same as we had booked for.
The whole experience really ruined our getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. The issues regarding the shower has been identified we are currently going through a complete mould treatment in all apartments. We recognised that we need to re-educate/re-train all staff at Quest Fairfax House and we are now starting to implement new housekeeping and reception procedures to ensure that the issues you have raised with us are dealt with efficiently and exponentially. I will also be speaking with our linen company regarding the bedding as we are currently in the process of changing them, but none the less I will still be raising the matter with them as to ensure they are aware of this matter.
With regards to the upgrade at check-in you would have been advised not to use the additional bedding in the apartment as you were upgraded to the larger family studio apartment (2 x Double beds) not the regular studios (1 x Double bed), the family apartments are larger in floor space and more spacious for your stay.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a studio apartment for 3 nights at a special price with no service (only towels and amenities replacement). Upon entering the room, you'll notice that everything looks a little old and dated. The bathroom we had was clean enough and didn't notice mould like some other guests did. The most important thing was the bed was comfortable. We had a full sized fridge and a microwave which was enough for us. It's a short walk to the South Bank, location wise it's not too bad.

There's a parking garage nearby with a cheap flat rate for night parking but closed at 10pm. The hotel's parking is really small and if you get assigned one of those lots that's at the furthest end from the entrance, you're gonna need some skills to be able to park your car. There's a total of 7 parking lots available and it's best if you pre-book the space when you make your reservation. Otherwise, use the other parking facility I've mentioned, it's not too far from the property but I've forgotten the street name, it's located on a main street (it's probably Queen Street but I'm not exactly sure)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of Quest Fairfax House, We completely agree regarding the car parking due to limited availability onsire and we encourage all guests to specify at time of booking so we are able to allocate parks appropriately should they require them.
Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I found the staff at check in unhelpful. There was no acknowledgement that I had even entered reception, a nod to show recognition isn't much to ask for. There was no parking available ,only 7 spots, but no alternative could be offered. They didn't know where we could park or associated costs. The room was quite nice, clean, spacious, on level one facing Little Collins st.. Then it was time for bed!! What a disaster! We felt as though Queens st was partying in our room. We got no sleep and my husband had to go to work from there. Not ideal. I would say this room (no. 27) is unrentable due to noise level and drags the Quest name down. They should act on their double glazing instead of talking about it. By far the worst night I've had in a Quest hotel, or any other for that matter.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Director of Sales at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. I acknowledge noise is a problem due to our Central CBD location and we understand this. We advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking. Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.
You also mentioned regarding the reception staff, in response to your feedback we are retraining our staff on the correct procedures as to ensure this doesn’t happen again, our aim is to ensure every guest feels like this is a second home when travelling.
I thank you for this constructive feedback and I am seeking to rectify the matters raised. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;