We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Save Saved
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Fairfax House
392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and I wouldn't stay again. It was pretty dirty, including soap scum through the bathroom, stained sheets and dirt and hair through the cutlery draw.
The hot water lasted about 10 mins, not that i wanted to stand in the dirty-moulded-scummy- shower.Upon arrival we were also upgraded to a "Larger Room", and as long as we didn't use half of it we wouldn't get charged for it. So really we weren't upgraded at all, just put in a room that we couldn't use half of, and the other half was the same as we had booked for.
The whole experience really ruined our getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Business Development Executive at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. The issues regarding the shower has been identified we are currently going through a complete mould treatment in all apartments. We recognised that we need to re-educate/re-train all staff at Quest Fairfax House and we are now starting to implement new housekeeping and reception procedures to ensure that the issues you have raised with us are dealt with efficiently and exponentially. I will also be speaking with our linen company regarding the bedding as we are currently in the process of changing them, but none the less I will still be raising the matter with them as to ensure they are aware of this matter.
With regards to the upgrade at check-in you would have been advised not to use the additional bedding in the apartment as you were upgraded to the larger family studio apartment (2 x Double beds) not the regular studios (1 x Double bed), the family apartments are larger in floor space and more spacious for your stay.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a studio apartment for 3 nights at a special price with no service (only towels and amenities replacement). Upon entering the room, you'll notice that everything looks a little old and dated. The bathroom we had was clean enough and didn't notice mould like some other guests did. The most important thing was the bed was comfortable. We had a full sized fridge and a microwave which was enough for us. It's a short walk to the South Bank, location wise it's not too bad.

There's a parking garage nearby with a cheap flat rate for night parking but closed at 10pm. The hotel's parking is really small and if you get assigned one of those lots that's at the furthest end from the entrance, you're gonna need some skills to be able to park your car. There's a total of 7 parking lots available and it's best if you pre-book the space when you make your reservation. Otherwise, use the other parking facility I've mentioned, it's not too far from the property but I've forgotten the street name, it's located on a main street (it's probably Queen Street but I'm not exactly sure)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of Quest Fairfax House, We completely agree regarding the car parking due to limited availability onsire and we encourage all guests to specify at time of booking so we are able to allocate parks appropriately should they require them.
Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I found the staff at check in unhelpful. There was no acknowledgement that I had even entered reception, a nod to show recognition isn't much to ask for. There was no parking available ,only 7 spots, but no alternative could be offered. They didn't know where we could park or associated costs. The room was quite nice, clean, spacious, on level one facing Little Collins st.. Then it was time for bed!! What a disaster! We felt as though Queens st was partying in our room. We got no sleep and my husband had to go to work from there. Not ideal. I would say this room (no. 27) is unrentable due to noise level and drags the Quest name down. They should act on their double glazing instead of talking about it. By far the worst night I've had in a Quest hotel, or any other for that matter.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Director of Sales at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. I acknowledge noise is a problem due to our Central CBD location and we understand this. We advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking. Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.
You also mentioned regarding the reception staff, in response to your feedback we are retraining our staff on the correct procedures as to ensure this doesn’t happen again, our aim is to ensure every guest feels like this is a second home when travelling.
I thank you for this constructive feedback and I am seeking to rectify the matters raised. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stay in a studio apartment for 2 night. The shower had mould in it as did the washing machine. I slept very little those 2 nights because it was so noisy. Even when the people in the next room had a shower you could hear it aswell as their entire conversation. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Terrible

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Public Relations Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quesf Fairfax House. Noise is a problem and we understand this. Regardless, we extend our sincere apologises for this issue.
You also mentioned issues with the bathroom we are in the process of auditing every apartment and working with our housekeeping team to ensure this doesnt happen again. We thank you for this constructive feedback and are seeking to rectify this issue within all of our apartments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I first booked Quest Fairfax for a two week stay for work. The location is fantastic. My first apartment was slightly outdated but it was extremely large and spacious and in very good condition. I agree with other reviewers that it gets noisy on fri and sat nights-but that is expected with a hotel in the CBD.
i was happy wit the location and service so returned again for a 3 week work trip and this time was given a lovely modern apartment and i can say that Gayana did everything she could to make me comfortable and happy. I needed to extend my trip and initially Quest Fairfax was full for the weekend ahead and I had to find alternative accommodation for the weekend. Gayana kindly told me that I could leave my bags with the, save taking it all with me for two nights. she also called me at the first cancellation to save me moving at all that weekend.
I have been welcomed back to Quest Fairfax and been very well looked after. I am so happy with their service and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Business Development Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback and glad you had an enjoyable experiance at Quest Fairfax House, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Windows may have been wide open they were that thin, even the pedestrian crossing 'ticking' manage to carry into the bedroom. Not to mention the revellers pacing up and down Queen St, some push and shove below my bedroom with security giving chase, police siren, the foul language etc. I knew i took a chance being so close to Queen St and accepted that there would be some noise, but please up-grade to double glazing....i would enjoy the good value, great location and huge rooms so much more.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above level 3 and in the building that houses reception (its split over 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding our Serviced Apartments. We are sorry and apologetic to hear the issue you experienced with noise. We are currently under the process of double glazing our apartments. Please note, until the double glazing can be guaranteed, we advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking with us. On a positive note, we agree that we offer spaciousness for a good value within a great location. We are happy you feel the same way and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was looking forward to the business trip of a few nights. The design of the studio is very good and the staff very obliging. However, whilst I can accept some noise from the garbage trucks down the lane the internal noise is just not acceptable. On the level 1 studio rooms be prepared to hear everything that is happening above and besides; footsteps and even the toilet lid closing. This is a real shame, a great location, helpful staff and good design. Also the upkeep on the bathrooms is not to standard. The shower is leaking and tiles in the bathroom are very loose and it just needs a makeover. Come on Quest you can do better.

Room Tip: Avoid the level 1 studio rooms for noise.. go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Studio Apartment design and the location. Noise is a problem and we understand this. Regardless, we extend our sincere apologises for this issue. We are under the process of double glazing our apartments as well as upgrading the property to make it a more enjoyable experience for our guests.
However for the time being, we would advise you request a quieter apartment when making a booking. You also mentioned maintenance issues with the bathroom. We thank you for this constructive feedback and are seeking to rectify this issue within all of our apartments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.