We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Save Saved
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Fairfax House
392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Far too noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I found the staff at check in unhelpful. There was no acknowledgement that I had even entered reception, a nod to show recognition isn't much to ask for. There was no parking available ,only 7 spots, but no alternative could be offered. They didn't know where we could park or associated costs. The room was quite nice, clean, spacious, on level one facing Little Collins st.. Then it was time for bed!! What a disaster! We felt as though Queens st was partying in our room. We got no sleep and my husband had to go to work from there. Not ideal. I would say this room (no. 27) is unrentable due to noise level and drags the Quest name down. They should act on their double glazing instead of talking about it. By far the worst night I've had in a Quest hotel, or any other for that matter.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Director of Sales at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Fairfax House. I acknowledge noise is a problem due to our Central CBD location and we understand this. We advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking. Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.
You also mentioned regarding the reception staff, in response to your feedback we are retraining our staff on the correct procedures as to ensure this doesn’t happen again, our aim is to ensure every guest feels like this is a second home when travelling.
I thank you for this constructive feedback and I am seeking to rectify the matters raised. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
16
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stay in a studio apartment for 2 night. The shower had mould in it as did the washing machine. I slept very little those 2 nights because it was so noisy. Even when the people in the next room had a shower you could hear it aswell as their entire conversation. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Terrible

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Public Relations Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Quesf Fairfax House. Noise is a problem and we understand this. Regardless, we extend our sincere apologises for this issue.
You also mentioned issues with the bathroom we are in the process of auditing every apartment and working with our housekeeping team to ensure this doesnt happen again. We thank you for this constructive feedback and are seeking to rectify this issue within all of our apartments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I first booked Quest Fairfax for a two week stay for work. The location is fantastic. My first apartment was slightly outdated but it was extremely large and spacious and in very good condition. I agree with other reviewers that it gets noisy on fri and sat nights-but that is expected with a hotel in the CBD.
i was happy wit the location and service so returned again for a 3 week work trip and this time was given a lovely modern apartment and i can say that Gayana did everything she could to make me comfortable and happy. I needed to extend my trip and initially Quest Fairfax was full for the weekend ahead and I had to find alternative accommodation for the weekend. Gayana kindly told me that I could leave my bags with the, save taking it all with me for two nights. she also called me at the first cancellation to save me moving at all that weekend.
I have been welcomed back to Quest Fairfax and been very well looked after. I am so happy with their service and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Business Development Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback and glad you had an enjoyable experiance at Quest Fairfax House, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Windows may have been wide open they were that thin, even the pedestrian crossing 'ticking' manage to carry into the bedroom. Not to mention the revellers pacing up and down Queen St, some push and shove below my bedroom with security giving chase, police siren, the foul language etc. I knew i took a chance being so close to Queen St and accepted that there would be some noise, but please up-grade to double glazing....i would enjoy the good value, great location and huge rooms so much more.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above level 3 and in the building that houses reception (its split over 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding our Serviced Apartments. We are sorry and apologetic to hear the issue you experienced with noise. We are currently under the process of double glazing our apartments. Please note, until the double glazing can be guaranteed, we advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking with us. On a positive note, we agree that we offer spaciousness for a good value within a great location. We are happy you feel the same way and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was looking forward to the business trip of a few nights. The design of the studio is very good and the staff very obliging. However, whilst I can accept some noise from the garbage trucks down the lane the internal noise is just not acceptable. On the level 1 studio rooms be prepared to hear everything that is happening above and besides; footsteps and even the toilet lid closing. This is a real shame, a great location, helpful staff and good design. Also the upkeep on the bathrooms is not to standard. The shower is leaking and tiles in the bathroom are very loose and it just needs a makeover. Come on Quest you can do better.

Room Tip: Avoid the level 1 studio rooms for noise.. go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Studio Apartment design and the location. Noise is a problem and we understand this. Regardless, we extend our sincere apologises for this issue. We are under the process of double glazing our apartments as well as upgrading the property to make it a more enjoyable experience for our guests.
However for the time being, we would advise you request a quieter apartment when making a booking. You also mentioned maintenance issues with the bathroom. We thank you for this constructive feedback and are seeking to rectify this issue within all of our apartments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Quest Fairfax on Little Collins Street was in a good location for exploring Melbourne. The apartment is spacious and equipped with basics. High ceilings throughout and wooden floors. The apartment consists of two floors, first floor; living room (very spacious), kitchen, bathroom with washing machine and dryer. Upstairs floor; three bedrooms, one with ensuite (including bath).
We found the apartment ok for a weekend but do not expect luxury. The apartment has potential but is lacking character and needs a little tlc. The downstairs bathroom/laundry is very average, it only has a large laundry sink and shower. We did not have any problems with noise during our stay. We used the car park for a fee - it is very tight so only hire a small car if you intend to stay here and use the car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback regarding our Serviced Apartments. We agree the CBD location is fantastic, making it easy to explore all that Melbourne has to offer.
The spaciousness of all of our apartments is definitely a rarity when staying within the city.

You mentioned the apartments are equipped with the basic necessities, we are always seeking to improve our offerings and any suggestions you may have would greatly appreciated. This can be done by contacting us directly via telephone or email: +61 3 9642 1333, fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au.

We are glad to hear you did not have any noise issues. You did mention the apartment lacked character yet did have potential. We are currently in the process of updating our property however I’m sure you can understand this does take time and we look forward to the end result! Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us.
You also mentioned the tight car park; we completely agree that this can be an issue when parking larger cars. Because of this we encourage all guests to specify their car type prior to booking so we are able to allocate parks appropriately.
Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio room for a 3 night getaway from Brisbane. We found the room spacious and tidy. The bathroom was clean but smelt a bit like urine near the pipe hole cover. We found the location of the apartment excellent. It was close to everything, which allowed taxi fees to be cheaper when we didn't feel like walking.

I didn't like it that the room echoed. We could hear other people from other rooms. Also, the outside noise of the cleaning trucks and people leaving bar/clubs during the early mornings was really loud that it woke us up... Though it's understandable, because the location is pretty much central.

I wouldn't mind staying here again if it's just with friends to party or shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Lisa, thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the studio apartment for your short getaway! The location is definitely central which does make taxi fares cheap if you are sick of walking like you mentioned. We take the cleanliness of our apartments very seriously and extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant smells you both experienced. We have since discussed this issue with the relevant parties and again apologise. Also, you mentioned the room echoing; unfortunately the ceilings are high as it previously was the Fairfax Publishing House. Regardless, we apologise for this and thank you for letting us know as we continually seek to offer personalised service and quality accommodation. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.