We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Fairfax House

Save Saved
You added Quest Fairfax House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Fairfax House
392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Quest Fairfax on Little Collins Street was in a good location for exploring Melbourne. The apartment is spacious and equipped with basics. High ceilings throughout and wooden floors. The apartment consists of two floors, first floor; living room (very spacious), kitchen, bathroom with washing machine and dryer. Upstairs floor; three bedrooms, one with ensuite (including bath).
We found the apartment ok for a weekend but do not expect luxury. The apartment has potential but is lacking character and needs a little tlc. The downstairs bathroom/laundry is very average, it only has a large laundry sink and shower. We did not have any problems with noise during our stay. We used the car park for a fee - it is very tight so only hire a small car if you intend to stay here and use the car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback regarding our Serviced Apartments. We agree the CBD location is fantastic, making it easy to explore all that Melbourne has to offer.
The spaciousness of all of our apartments is definitely a rarity when staying within the city.

You mentioned the apartments are equipped with the basic necessities, we are always seeking to improve our offerings and any suggestions you may have would greatly appreciated. This can be done by contacting us directly via telephone or email: +61 3 9642 1333, fairfaxhouse@questapartments.com.au.

We are glad to hear you did not have any noise issues. You did mention the apartment lacked character yet did have potential. We are currently in the process of updating our property however I’m sure you can understand this does take time and we look forward to the end result! Regardless, we apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us.
You also mentioned the tight car park; we completely agree that this can be an issue when parking larger cars. Because of this we encourage all guests to specify their car type prior to booking so we are able to allocate parks appropriately.
Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    20
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
31
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio room for a 3 night getaway from Brisbane. We found the room spacious and tidy. The bathroom was clean but smelt a bit like urine near the pipe hole cover. We found the location of the apartment excellent. It was close to everything, which allowed taxi fees to be cheaper when we didn't feel like walking.

I didn't like it that the room echoed. We could hear other people from other rooms. Also, the outside noise of the cleaning trucks and people leaving bar/clubs during the early mornings was really loud that it woke us up... Though it's understandable, because the location is pretty much central.

I wouldn't mind staying here again if it's just with friends to party or shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Lisa, thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the studio apartment for your short getaway! The location is definitely central which does make taxi fares cheap if you are sick of walking like you mentioned. We take the cleanliness of our apartments very seriously and extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant smells you both experienced. We have since discussed this issue with the relevant parties and again apologise. Also, you mentioned the room echoing; unfortunately the ceilings are high as it previously was the Fairfax Publishing House. Regardless, we apologise for this and thank you for letting us know as we continually seek to offer personalised service and quality accommodation. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in three bedroom apartment top floor. Was great as we stayed with friends. The living area was very spacious and comfortably accomodated us in awake time. THe three bedrooms on the second level were comfy enough, however we did experience a lot of noise on the Friday and Saturday night with loud music and people screaming and fighting outside, and we were on fifth level. However I did get some sleep.
Two bathrooms very clean anddid the job, shame about second bathroom on lower ground. Also there are no hand rails on the stairs, two friends took a trip on their bottom down the stairs, both sober and old enough to do it safely normally!
Fantastic location, we were there for footy both MCG and Etihad were good walking distance for us, occasionally we slacked and got taxis. Good for city shopping. Probably would stay there again with friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was great to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Quest Fairfax House on your leisure trip with friends. Our apartments, we agree are rather spacious and accommodate groups well.
As mentioned, the noise experienced during the weekend can be an issue. We are under the process of double glazing our apartments as well as upgrading the property to make it a more enjoyable experience for our guests. The suggestion of the handrails is a great idea and we will seriously consider this as the stairs in some apartments can be somewhat narrow.
We extend our sincere apologies for your friends tumbling down the stairs and hope they are okay! We would love to have you stay with us again, hope o hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very affordable and close to the city, I stayed for business in a one bedroom apartment with a lounge/kitchen area. It's private, has it's own washer and dryer, full sized fridge, A/C, WiFi (which is a little pricey) and pay TV. The bathroom is a little dated and the floors are a bit creaky but you can't have everything - I'd suggest having a snoop around the kitchen before figuring out dinner because it's anything but fully stocked, I never see the point of having an oven when they don't actually give bakeware but what can you do? Great for a cheap run in the city if you're okay without the luxuries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I strongly agreed that our location based on the city centre is handy and believe our affordable rates combined with the fully furnished apartment are great. You mentioned the kitchen did not provide bakeware, for this we are great apologetic and have since followed this up.
We understand you believe the bathrooms to be dated; this has been passed onto the relevant department and thank you for this feedback.
We look forward to having you come stay with us in the near future, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, simply let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed recently in 3 bedroom "penthouse" apartment. Plenty of room, but the whole apartment lacked - it was in need of a good overhaul and was a far cry from a 4 star penthouse. We were unable to sleep during the Saturday night for the noise of a nightclub / bar across the way - no double glazing of windows which may have helped with the 6am close.

Staff were very friendly, but did not at all seem interested in the hotel guests and their needs. During our stay the lift had problems after the first night, so we walked the stairs every time we wanted to leave the apartment. Were offered another apartment, much smaller or two rooms, but when you are away with friends you wan to stay together.

Apologies accepted from management for the problems we incurred, but we will not be back again, nor would we recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our Service Apartments. Please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant stay you experienced with us. We are under the process of double glazing our apartments as well as upgrading the property to make it a more enjoyable experience for our guests.
We take our staff friendliness and professionalism very seriously, the mentioning of our staff not being interested in our hotel guests and their needs is greatly alarming; we have since taken action to ensure all staff understand and embody the core values expected when working at Quest Fairfax House.
You also mentioned the lift not working, this we apologise for sincerely and have since rectified the problem with relevant parties. We are greatly apologetic for all the inconvenient situations suffered and hope that this will not deter you from giving us another chance. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the only hotel I've ever actually had to just move out of for being too noisy. The room I had had absolutely NO sound insulation from the surrounding rooms. I could hear people's conversations clearly, and some idiot kept doing his washing at 1 in the morning. The motorized gate made a loud bang every time a car entered the basement below my room.

Overall it was a miserable few days.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors. Avoid the lower floors at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our Service Apartments. Please accept our sincere apology for the extremely noisy surroundings. This upsets us and we are greatly apologetic for the loud noises that you were subject to whilst staying with us. We do understand that the noise factor from outside is one of the major issues that we have and we are under the process of double glazing our apartments. Please note, until the double glazing can be guaranteed, we advise all guests to request a quieter room to minimise any sleep disturbances when making a direct booking with us.
You mentioned the garage carpark roller door was quite loud, we apologise for this as well as the thin walls. The walls and apartments in general are being updated and this feedback has been passed on to the relevant department. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with two other couples! Room was great and very affordable!! great location as its right in the city and walking distance from everywhere! very nice service and a lovely stay overall! will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayana N, Front Office Manager at Quest Fairfax House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Emma, thank you for taking the time to review our Serviced Apartments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the 3 bedroom apartment. Our larger rooms are definitely great for groups as they provide lots of space, as well as rather affordable. The location as you mentioned is quite central, making it easy to walk almost anywhere like you said! We look forward to having you come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Fairfax House

Address: 392 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's rare to find accommodation in the heart of city with an abundance of space. Quest Fairfax House has this and more. Built in the old Fairfax Publishing House, the environment is gracious and stylish. A range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments are offered and suit the business or leisure traveler alike. Right in the heart of Melbourne on Little Collins Street, Quest Fairfax House is your home base with the city's business, shopping and legal precincts, and the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino, Federation Square and the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Quest Fairfax House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Fairfax House Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Fairfax House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.