We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mt Martha, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location But!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed 18 &19 July 2014.
We were happy with the location even though we had to park elsewhere.They were doing renovations on the 5th floor and when we asked if there would be noise were told that they were not sure the builders would even work on Saturday!! but if they did it would not be till 8.00am.
We were in room 401 beside the lift shaft so we had the noise from that anyway.7.00 am the work started above us and woke us up.We complained first thing in the morning and were told that the management would be informed.As a result absolutely nothing happened,no apology,no nothing!!
Seems that so long as they have the money in the kitty bad luck buddy. Our daughter and young family stayed on same floor in a one bedroom apartment and they were kept awake from midnight until 3am hearing and feeling the music vibrate from next door.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Robert O,

Thank you for your review on Punthill Flinders Lane. We sincerely apologise. I have spoken to the manager who advises he was assured that work would not commence until 8am. We are really sorry. We are almost done with the work and the property will look gorgeous. We do have staff on duty 24 hours and next time, please do not hesitate to let us know if you are disturbed in any way at all. The property is in an amazing location but occasionally one does have to put up with some city centre noise. The manager does not recall your complaint and we would sincerely appreciate if you could contact our General Manager - Tania Sreco to make your next reservation. Tania will ensure that you have a perfect stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    130
    60
    16
    13
See reviews for
63
84
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a Saturday night and I am wide awake from the noise of a local nightclub, the base is so loud I can feel the vibrations- not a great place to be when pregnant and hoping for a restful getaway! I'm praying the night club closes before 5am so I can get at least an hours sleep :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Libby239,

Thank you for your review on Punthill Flinders Lane. We are so sorry that the nightclub noise disturbed you. We have investigated and this was definitely a one off incident. We have spoken to the venue concerned and they are normally very quiet and orderly. On this particular night, they were holding a special event. We are assured that this will not occur again. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Please contact our General Manager - Tania Sreco who will ensure that you have a perfect stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Spent six nights here on our trip to Australia. The apartment was well equipped and very comfortable. The location in the CBD is excellent with all the major attractions close by. The excellent public transport is easily accessible. The hosts were most helpful. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for your review on Punthill Flinders Lane. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice stay, unfortanty we had noise jumping loud neighbours. When they were out or asleep it was great. Didn't hear any renovation noise.
Rooms became stuffy thou by the morning and the hot plate smelt of cooking fat. Which was notice able when entering the apartment.
Great location. Felt safe with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Katrina H,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do have windows that open and the apartments are air conditioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at Punt Hill for a weekend with friends in the two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the 5th floor.

The location is excellent, close to Degraves Lane and close to trams and train however there is street noise due to the location so the higher the room the better. A great place to base your city exploring.

The fifth floor has not been refurbished. Walls in the hallways are marked and dull and carpet is worn. One of the lifts is marked and showing wear and tear. Our apartment had marked walls, old carpet and extremely creaky floors. Furniture and fittings were all very basic. The kitchen was stocked with only basic supplies. Bathrooms are old and showing their age. I slept in a single bed which seemed to have a depression in the mattress.

The room was clean and serviced daily.

We found the service to be extremely helpful and efficient. Check in was speedy and staff pleasant. The reception staff happily provided a city map and were happy to assist whenever asked.

As per the title of this review, I would probably consider trying his place again in one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms appear to have better reviews so would be worth requesting one of these. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear YoungAgain2011,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
The fifth floor of the property is the final floor to be renovated. We anticipate all works to be complete by mid August.
We agree that the location is fantastic, with all that the city has to offer on the doorstep of this property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you need accommodation that is central, close to cafés, trams & city attractions, then this is the place to stay. Located between Swanston & Elizabeth streets, this small 4 storey apartment complex is lovely. The rooms are spacious with everything you need.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is under renovation, so should be all new when ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Anne S,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed twice at these apartments 2nights in a studio apartment at the start of our trip to Melbourne and on return from Apollo Bay in a 1 bedroom apartment.

On arrival the reception area was undergoing refurbishment, and was a bit dusty, but we were delighted with our smart modern apartment, the staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was first class.

I hope to return in the future and would return gain to punthill apartments

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear dianaswim74,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stays earlier this year. The foyer is now fully renovated so we do hope you can come and stay with us again soon to see the beautiful result!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.