We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Save Saved
You added Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #88 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Could not have wished for better location, so close to all the places we wished to visit at Christmas time - direct route through amazing laneways & arcades to Bourke Street Mall, Town Hall Light Show, Tram Stop and Flinders Street Station, Federation Square & Carols by Candelight, plus an incredible selection of food outlets and specialist stores....Friendly staff always on hand, room clean,comfortable and quiet!. Would thoroughly recommend for staying in central CBD.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear TB1938,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
As you mentioned, the location of this city apartment hotel is hard to beat, and you definitely took advantage of its central location! We are delighted that you found the apartments and staff also met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    114
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
76
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location could not be better: right in the middle of restaurants, pubs and shopping. Nearby trams take you to all parts of the city.
The studio apartment I was staying in was pretty worn out and dark. The windows, facing an opposite office building, looked like they had never been washed. Otherwise, the apartment was quite OK. There is also a guest laundry. Wi-fi is not free, as seems to be the rule in Australia, unlike most other parts of the world nowadays.
Punthill Flinders Lane is for travellers who appreciate cenral location and do not mind the slightly tired facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear tripperi,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of this city apartment hotel and found it so convenient during your recent visit to Melbourne.
Our apartment windows are cleaned externally twice a year, but unfortunately in the city they look dirty extremely quickly. We do have renovations planned for the property commencing in late January.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at Punthill Flinders Lane in a 1 bedroom apartment. The location really couldn't be any better, right in the center of town and close to a myriad of bars and restaurants.
Unfortunately during our stay the floor in the cafe attached to the lobby was being sanded and varnished and there was some paint work being retouched in lobby which meant that the ground and 1st floor stunk of paint.
The room was a good size but there was a lack of cutlery in the kitchen and the whole place felt a bit tired and in need of a refresh. The lifts also had some issues.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear AntipodeanAnn,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
As you have mentioned, the location of Punthill Flinders Lane is really hard to beat. Boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and public transport are all on the doorstep.
Our kitchens are well stocked with essential items, however next time, please do not hesitate to ask and we will certainly comply with any requests.
Our renovations are due to start in late January 2014, which will include replacement of a lift.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The two bedroom apartment was well equipped but the floor creaked something terrible - sure our neighbours under us were not happy whenever we moved! The lifts were temperamental and the parking was insane. It was underground down a tiny lane then a sharp turn down into the car park and then small parks. Getting out was way worse than getting in and I nearly had a heart attack! The placement of the hotel is really good and is handy to lots of shopping and eating places in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Brenda C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
The location of this apartment hotel is fantastic as you mentioned, with the city on our doorstep!
The building is undergoing a renovation in early 2014 which will include work on the floorboards, and also replacement of the lift. The building is heritage listed and any renovation is an arduous procedure!
Next time you stay, please make your reservation with our General Manager - Tania Sreco - and Tania will ensure that you have a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The benefit of this hotel is it is central to Melbourne
the down side is the nose from across the road is so loud you won't go to sleep until 4am when they close on a sat night
my advice stay well clear. .........
Unless u can get a non Street room

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear brumbie68,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Flinders Lane.
There is an inevitable level of noise that comes with staying in the heart of any city; however we are certain that during your stay, there must have been a street party, or some unusual event. We would appreciate it if you could contact us directly on 03 9916 8888 so that we can discuss the circumstances and possibly arrange another stay for you when we are certain you will not have a similar experience.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very helpful staff and great location for proximity to Flinders Station, the trams, the fantastic lanes and some great eateries. We even found a jazz club in Bennett's Lane! The apartment was very comfortable, clean with everything you might need and despite being right in the centre, safe and quiet. The only problem, which may not be an issue for most, was that the apartment and lobby area were quite shiny and black! My husband's visual impairment was worked overtime! However it is a boutique apartment hotel and this is not meant as a criticism! We were made very welcome and loved our stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Alianne2013,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
It is great to hear that you loved your stay at the property, and found the apartments, service and location met all your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 13 month old baby. As requested a portable cot was waiting in our room for us :)
The kitchen in the apartment is great, oven, microwave, dishwasher and large fridge. We wished we were staying longer to hit up the Queen Vic market and put it to use.
The kitchen was very clean and there were good supplies of utensils etc.
The staff were very friendly and allowed us to store luggage on our check out day while we visit the sites of Melbourne. Upon our return one if the staff carried our luggage out on to the street which was really helpful and also offered transport advice for our short trip to Spencer St.
The rooms were really quiet and we didn't hear neighboring rooms or street traffic.
The only negative was the shower. Bad water pressure and a bit grubby. Could do with a real good grout cleaning.
Besides that, we were very happy and will definetely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Regional1,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at this central property. We will have housekeeping check each and every shower in the property and are in fact already undertaking some re-grouting.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.