We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for a budget price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a budget price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in the very centre of Melbourne, for a very reasonable price. It's a little faded, and basic amenities, but in terms of value for money and friendly staff, I could recommend it to anyone looking for location at a good price. The rooms are not huge, but fine for one or two people, and I had a great, recently refurbished bathroom with good shower. The lounge area was welcome after traipsing the streets of Melbourne, and while I didn't use the small kitchen area for more than cups of tea, it wold be handy if you wanted to self-cater. Comfortable bed, and a self-service laundry on every floor. No room service, but it's an apartment hotel not a full service type of place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear KayakJen,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
Our team at the property will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property, and definitely took advantage of Punthill Flinders Lane's fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    125
    59
    16
    11
See reviews for
60
82
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wedding of a friend just around the corner at treasury place, so got together with another couple to stay at this perfect location. On entrance to the apartment I was a little worried, however when I saw the bedrooms and living space I was extremely happy. Great size, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Unfortunately no views for us, but as we were not spending much time sitting around it really wasn't an issue. The bathroom could do with an update (in terms of decor), however it was functioning and clean. Some vanity lights would be great! Staff member on check in was friendly and efficient, which is always appreciated! I could definitely see myself staying here again, for a longer time too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Frau_Stephie

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed there twice - once in a room on second floor next to the lifts - small room, terrible hard bed and small room. On second visit we stayed in 510 - much better room and more comfortable bed. The location is the best in Melbourne - just walk out the door and straight into beautiful food heaven on Degraves Street and Centre Lane...cool bars around too and just a couple of mins walk to 24 hour supermarket,Flinders Street Station and Bourke Street mall and walking distance to QUeen Vic Markets and Southbank. WOuld recommend this hotel but hope you get a bigger room. Creaky floorboards throughout building give is some character.

Room Tip: All rooms you will have some sound from bars etc outside but they don't close too late. Rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear mumwife

We are so pleased you enjoyed the location of Punthill Flinders Lane.

We inspect all beds on a regular basis, however next time you stay please let us know if you find the bed uncomfortable. We could have easily provided a cushioned mattress topper.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Location is good but the we had a room over looking the main street and it was very noisy. Room also looked into the office directly opposite. Showers not to good. Rooms basic not value for money.I would rate the facilities 3 star. Members of reception arguing in front of clients not very good! Helpful with places to see and things to do. Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over looking the main street as staying in these rooms is very noisy and also you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Worldtraveller0908

Punthill Flinders Lane is located in the very heart or the city and there is some street noise. We do try to keep this to a minimum by constantly speaking to the cafe operators and the City of Melbourne.

We are horrified at your comments about staff and would sincerely appreciate a call to our head office with further information,so we can address this serious matter.

We do hope you will come back to us again to experience the wonderful location of this property.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is nothing if not reliable. The current managers and staff are the best so far, helpful, friendly, and are seriously interested in making your stay a pleasant one. Showers are still not wonderful, and the aircon still plays up.

The street noise is getting worse though, with amplified busking at very high levels, and some sort of thrash/punk/ metal band once a week, seemingly coming from the Polyester store down the street. This is a serious noise menace, you can't hear the TV for it in some rooms here. I'm surprised it hasn't incurred the ire of the local constabulary at the top of the street!

Rumour has it that serious building alterations at 267 Flinders Lane are in the wind, so it's to be hoped that more double glazing, better plumbing and aircon are on the agenda. This hotel is such a great location, and such a favourite that it would be a shame to compromise by shoddy renovations. (Which is what happened last time, when the tacky astro-turf was added to the window sills, meaning they attract appalling amounts of dust, as also with the appalling black blinds and black sheer curtains - very bad for people with asthma / sinus problems /allergies).

Please, Punthill, lets have better, brighter, more comfortable decor next time! People who stay here for work purposes do need to have rooms light enough to be able to read in! And tourists want something that's clean, bright, airy and comfortable enough to relax in after a hard day's shopping / sightseeing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that adjoin the street. This is a noisy part of town at times. Avoid this hotel if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear OzNana

Thanks for your review.

We are working closely with the City of Melbourne to reduce street noise; however it is part of the charm of the area if kept at a reasonable level and time of day.

Guests do love our decor which is quirky and eclectic in keeping with the area, however of course this is personal choice.

We constantly work at maintaining the property and would love to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited to stay at this hotel as we knew it was such a great location. Our room was pleasant but different than what the pictures looked like.
We had no hot water for the first two days of our stay. Honestly for a hotel to not have hot water is ridiculous. We tried looking elsewhere for a hotel but nothing was ideal for us. We were desperate and finally the water was fixed on the third day but we were not impressed.
Not very helpful staff but I have to say the location is ideal if you don't like showering.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear tracy127,
We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay was less than satisfactory.
We always address maintenance issues as soon as they are advised, and are concerned that you experienced 2 days without hot water. After making inquiries with our team at the property, no recent water issues have been reported, so we would appreciate you calling us directly on 03 9916 8888 or 1300 731 299 and asking to speak with our General Manager so that we can ascertain which apartment you stayed in, and who you spoke to at the property.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It just goes to show you how subjective all these reviews are. Some love this place. Yet after we stayed there recently I can quite categorically state, after staying in hundreds of hotels around the world over the past 4 decades, and in over 30 or so different Melbourne hotels, its one of the worst accommodation experiences I've ever had - EVER!

Location is good, yes, but the noise that comes with it is not.
Service was poor to outright rude and uninterested.
Quality of room was very average with tired or broken elements.

Do yourself a favour and bypass this - I hesitate to call it a hotel - place.

Room Tip: A tip? Bypass this place and go somewhere, anywhere, else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear AustraliaHouses,
We are really horrified that you had such a poor experience.
Please, we urge you to contact either Tania Sreco or Robin Caras in our office on 03 9916 8888 or 1300 731 299 as we are extremely keen to find out what apartment you stayed in and which staff member/s you dealt with.
The location of 267 Flinders Lane is outstanding but unfortunately, no matter how good noise insulation is, the central city noise does bother some guests.
There is obviously no excuse for poor service and we reiterate that we would sincerely appreciate a call.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.