We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Save Saved
You added Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane 14-20th of June 2012. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who checked us in within minutes. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was more than enough space for a couple providing a comfortable roomy stay. The apartment has a separate bedroom with TV, separate bathroom with shower/bath and a kitchen/ living room with comfortable couch and large flat screen with DVD. Kitchen is a decent size, and has everything you need to prepare and serve meals. The room had ducted heating which was very efficient, in minutes the entire apartment was toasty warm.

The apartment was cleaned daily to a high standard which is a nice feature in a apartment.

The location is unbeatable, with Degraves Street literally around the corner. Providing a great choice of places to eat just seconds away. This location makes almost everything within the city a walkable distance.

We would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: High level rooms have less traffic/ city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    114
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
73
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is the 2nd Punt Hill i have stayed in and it was very good. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and had 2 bathrooms, the room was cleaned daily on our 5 day stay. Staff were friendly and helpful particularly diedre, very clean, very modern. Floor boards are very squeaky but not a major problem. Considering the location is not very noisy (the truck that empties the bin daily was like an alarm clock) but again the location and upkeep of this place made any small issues redundent. I had to sleep on a pull out lounge as there were 4 of us and they didn't charge me which was an added bonus. The kitchenette is great and the attention to detail in the apartments suggests they care about their guests.

Room Tip: higher floor to escape street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed three nights midweek (T-Th). Staff were most helpful, stored bags until check-in time 2pm. Location is fantastic - right in the middle of Flinders Street Disctrict - shopping and eateries right at the front door. Degraves St restaurants are just around the corner - a packed laneway of varied cuisine, Bourke St Mall only five minute arcade walk.
Suites were well appointed with microwave, dishwasher, two TVs DVD player. Bathrooms were very suitable. Apartmen was clean and service on Day 2.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms away from cnr of Flinders and Degraves as the Lustre Lounge Bar is located opposite. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Was one of the best places I have ever stayed. Was close to everything and the staff couldn't have been any friendlier and helpful than what they were. Will recommend this place to everyone I know who will be travelling to Melbourne. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very central to everything, particularly fabulous cafes in Degraves Street and Flinders Lane. Quirky apartments very modern and clean, Very friendly and welcoming staff. And it was so quiet, no traffic or any noise at all for that matter and we were right next to the lifts! Can't rate it highly enough. The only criticism would be the squeaky floorboards and having to chase the drips around in the shower to get wet! But apart from that, thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is alway when things don't go well you find out what rating a place deserves. I have stayed and several Punt Hill location and been very impressed with the staff and facilities. Until meeting the staff at Flinders Lane.

Punt Hill - Flinders Lane
Facilities 4 ( Caution car park is so small and tight unless you have a small vehicle forget it)
Staff 1 (for turning up)

While driving into the basement car park a uniformed staff member on foot, pushed past our vehicle forcing us to stop on the ramp. He then started removing rubbish bins from against the wall and lining them up across the ramp, completely blocking our way. After he lined up about four bins we tooted our horn to get his attention. He then marched over to our car and shouted at us that we had scared the life out of him. When we did not respond (we were completely stunned by the situation by then) belligerently asked if we wanted to get in. When we said we said yes he said sorry and went back and removed the bins.

On parking our vehicle we went to the lift and after a 5 minute wait when no lift arrived, walked back up the car ramp, down a narrow lane way and entered from main street. There we found an out of order sign on the lift in the main lobby. Apparently guest using the car park is not on the mind of any staff.

When checking out, the lift to car park was still not working. So went to get the luggage trolley from the lobby. We wanted to get the luggage to lobby in one trip, to minimise the work of ferry the bags in multiple trips to the car park from the lobby down stairs, on to the street, down a lane way and then down the car park ramp.

When the lift opened there were more uniformed staff using the only luggage trolly to move linen bags. They apologised and closed the door. On every trip to the lobby with our bags we were met with a fully occupied lift of staff and linen bags and had to wait for it to come back to our floor to gain access.

Once our car was loaded, my wife and daughter waited in the car while I went to check out and share our experiences with the staff at desk.

To the story of the bins I received a cool "thats not good" and to our experience with the trolly the response was "The staff need the trolly to get the linen ready for house cleaning" . When I stated that maybe some attempt could have be made to share the trolly, the staff member turned away to the computer and said "Well next time I will get them to carry the bags on their backs"

On returning to our car I was passed on the car park ramp by a Punt Hill vehicle that then parked directly behind our car ( the only other vehicle in the car park) and the driver walked away. This then left us blocked in and unable to leave till finding another staff member and requesting the vehicle be moved so we could get out.

Stayed June 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am really upset and concerned about the content of your report and I assure you, I have already discussed your experience at length with the Managers at the property. We value customer service above anything else and I absolutely agree, the staff member moving the bins should have immediately stopped what he was doing-his priority should have been ensuring that you easily found parking in what we acknowledge is a tight carpark. The building is old, in fact heritage listed, and excavating the basement to create parking was no easy matter.

The issues that upset you all relate to staff training and attitude-outstanding customer service is an ongoing mission within the Punthill Group. We continually hold meetings where staff are trained and re-trained.

Please contact head office and I will ensure that next time you stay, you have a very different experience.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The Punthill 267 has great service, great rooms! Have stayed at manhattan as well which is really good too! However if you love having the shops at your door step 267 has a great location! Really looking forward to staying again real soon!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.