We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoy our annual stay at Parkview!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #18 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Ferny Creek, Melbourne
1 review
“We enjoy our annual stay at Parkview!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My wife and I celebrate our wedding anniversary by staying at the Parkview with there Romance Package - city view room, dinner @ Lime Restaurant, breakfast and car park. 2011 will be our 3rd visit. We enjoy its location to the CBD, the views of the city skyline and the walks around Albert Park after eating a big breakfast.

We enjoy the facilities and look forward to seeing the new refurbishments. The rooftop spa is great for relaxing and the rooms are a good size. Lime Restuarant is one of our favourite parts with great food. The menu has a good selection and we have tried different dishes every year. The service has been great and the staff helpful.

Didn't know about the CBD bus, would like to use it as my wife enjoys her annual Melbourne shopping splurge!

Keep up the good work and see you this May - from the Vincents

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    402
    69
    19
    12
See reviews for
141
374
61
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel is in an excellent central position for trams into the city, St Kilda and down Commercial Rd to Chapel St.
Newly renovated rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly. The rooftop spa and plunge pool are fully enclosed so the area can smell heavily of cholrine and be a little uncomfortable in the heat.

Only complaint is is hotel staff should have explained or made it more clear on booking that the hotel is under refurbishment and noise will commence at about 8am. Not ideal for a holiday sleep-in.

There is a small IGA minimart, 7elven and a couple of cafes across the road.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Great location with helpful staff. Refurbishment progressing well. Noise in our 9th floor room was a real problem. The double glazing is not preventing tram/road and general street noise at all well. Getting a good nights sleep when on holiday (or any time really) is vital so this was an issue for is...otherwise an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

General
I’ve stayed in this hotel for five days on a recent business trip to Melbourne in November. I found this hotel to be a very good option for business as well as for leisure travelers.

Location
The location of the hotel is on busy St. Kilda Road, a four lane road that leads directly to the central business district (CBD) of Melbourne. A tram stop is just 2 minutes from the hotel and one is therefore in a matter of ten to fifteen minutes in central Melbourne. If you want to walk to the beach, you have to stroll around a little lake that is popular with sportspeople of all kind. From the hotel to the beach one will need around half an hour on foot.

There are a two cafés across the road from the hotel; otherwise it is a bit lonely there especially at night. Taxi from the airport to the hotel should cost between 50 to 60 AUD. A cheaper alternative would be to take the skybus from the airport to the Southern Cross station (ex Spencer Street station) and from there one either goes by taxi to the hotel or takes the tram. In the latter case one has to change the tram at Flinders Street station. With a lot of baggage this is not such a great idea in my opinion.

Rooms
Though I booked a standard room, I was upgraded to the next higher level of rooms with a city view. That was possibly the case because I was staying for five days at the hotel or maybe because I was easily recognizable as a corporate customer. I don’t know. Anyway: The room was very spacious with a great view over the cricket ground and the central business district of Melbourne.

There was an average stocked minibar, amenities like a hair dryer, an iron and so on were also there. The cleanliness of the room was good, only negative point was that there was a lot of dust on top of the (not so tall) wardrobe in the separate (ensuite) dressing area. All in all however cleanliness was not a major issue.

The huge king size bed was very comfortable, in my opinion maybe even to comfy. The mattress was too soft for my liking. The LCD TV had only very few channels. The bathroom was large and nice. Very little mold here and there but not too dramatic. There is no in-room safe: valuables go into one of the boxes at reception.

Service
Very friendly people can be found everywhere in the hotel, from the reception to the bar staff and the people in the restaurant. All were very professional and very responsive to all requests. Very small drawback: One of the bar staff ladies gave me a wrong or at least a bad wine recommendation.

Facilities
Bar and restaurant were OK. Breakfast at the Lime café was boring after two days. I therefore went to one of the cafes opposite the hotel on the other side of St. Kilda Rd.
There were two internet terminals next to the reception area. The first 15 minutes are free. The gym on the top floor was good as was the Jacuzzi style pool. It was very relaxing to use that pool at night with a great view of the CBD. I also liked the complimentary newspaper service. There are usually two taxis waiting outside the hotel. Though they offered a free shuttle bus service to the CBD I never made use of that offer.

Summary
I liked this hotel very much and would certainly choose it again if I had to travel to Melbourne again. Highlights are the spacious rooms, the motivated staff and the Jacuzzi pool on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Hi My_Traveller,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are currently undergoing a $7.5m room refurbishment which will be completed by late February 2011. It is looking amazing so far to say the least. Hopefully we can welcome you back shortly so you can experience all of the changes that are currently taking place here at the Parkview Hotel.

The new rooms will have an exciting, modern look with bright colours that will bring a comfortable, spacious feel to the room. The new bathrooms will feature a full shower with floor to ceiling tiling, which will provide guests with an up to date facility.

Other facilities that will be added in early 2011 will include:

- High Definition Television
- Ethernet High Speed Broadband
- Wireless Broadband access in rooms and public areas
- Room Media Hub for iPod/Laptop/Mp3 connection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010 via mobile

This aging hotel is in serious need of an upgrade. Everything felt really old. So also, the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on.
On the positive side, I found it ideally located for my purposes since I wanted to stay away from the CBD and most of my work was at the Alfred.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel isn't too bad - location and room size being its best features.
It is a $12 cab ride to the heart of the CBD, or a $75 or so ride to the airport. The hotel staff are friendly enough and willing to help.
There are several downsides to this hotel though. The biggest problems with the hotel are associated with noise. When a toilet in the adjacent rooms are flushed, the pipes can vibrate quite loudly. The walls seem to concrete, but for some reason are paper thin! We would hear the TV from next door, and on the second night of our stay, we could very clearly hear the people talking/partying next door, and also the couple - which was VERY disturbing.
The carpet in the room felt unclean and sticky, and some of the toilet facilities were chipped (including a leaking shower etc.)
The pricing of food wasn't too bad and the restaurant was sufficient. Meals were satisfying and filling - the steak was quite good, although there were a few complaints about the Nasi Goring.
The gym facilities are average, the equipment works but is quite old and the pool is small but serviceable. Internet is charged at $25 per 24 hours (which may be similar to what other hotels charge)
Overall, the stay would have been good aside form the noise issues, but as we are here on holidays and it is disrupting our sleep, I feel that I would not be back here unless it was the last option we had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

What a terrible hotel! The rooms are tired, the carpet full of stains of the worst kind, the bathroom smelly. Should you ever have to stay in St Kilda, Melbourne - a nice neighborhood by the way - go anywhere else, even consider to stay under the next bridge - but don't go there. If you want to make enemies - then, and only then recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJM17Melbourne, Owner at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
We are disappointed to read your review as clearly you did not enjoy your stay which is disappointing to us. We get many wonderful reviews for the hotel and want to ensure this continues, and we want to continue to offer the highest level of guest satisfaction. If you would like to provide some specific feedback on your stay by contacting the hotel we would certainly look forward to following up your specific issues. Kind Regards - The Parkview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.