We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of its four star rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!!
Ranked #16 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worthy of its four star rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A nice hotel located on a very busy yet important street if you want to use public transportation to get around which I would recommend. Leaving out the main hotel entrance, turn right until you reach St. Kilda road and go left about a block and you will see the stop. Most trams at this stop will take you to the CBD. The hotel or a convenience store can set you up with transit card for traveling.

The hotel doesn't have a shuttle service so if you don't rent a car, your best option is to hire a shuttle bus to give you a lift from the airport and back. Price was good for the service and the hotel can tell you the name.

The interior of the hotel is very nice. Rooms are also nice. The bathroom, in the room I stayed in, was a little cramped and with a door opening into the bathroom, made it hard to get around. Also, not a lot of room for storing clothes but I guess most people don't usually stay for 9 nights. The front desk has power adaptors if you need them for the outlets in the room. I like the beds to be a little harder but that is just a personal preference. Wifi is free but isn't very fast but its free so you cant really complain. They have a premium option for faster internet. They did a great job cleaning the room during my stay.

The breakfast buffet is very good. Never had many issues with food running out. Quick to replace something that did. Selection is on the better side of what I have seen. Breakfast came free with my booking so I couldn't say if the selection justified the cost for those that do pay. Also, they have free newspapers by the entrance to the restaurant so you can read while eating breakfast.

The staff at the hotel are excellent. They are very polite and are quick with any requests. I appreciate them booking my tour and show and being so quick with the shaving kit, they must carry them in their pockets. Always greeted with a good morning when I went down for breakfast.

The hotel has a sauna, hot tub, pool and gym on the 9th floor. It has an amazing view overlooking the city. A very nice sunset on a clear day.

Overall, a very solid hotel that is well maintained and is in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    356
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
129
344
58
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very nice place to stay.
Awkward bathroom though with no door to block water from shower getting on bathroom floor.
Staff friendly and buffet breakfast good quality .

Complementary newspapers are also a nice touch and coupled with a late check out make it a relaxing start to the day

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Overall I reccommend the Parkview, Great food & rooms. Service was on and off but very friendly. Very soft matress if you like that! Couldn't bring/use our own entertainent i.e. movie files on a USB stick. Would consider staying there again. Thanks staff at Parkview

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We arrived early and were surprised to be given a room straight away. Not only that but an upgrade as well. Lovely staff, room and facilities great. Just sorry we couldn't stay for breakfast. Will go back there next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
Freindly staff, great buffet breakfast.
Pleanty of towels for use in spa.
Great view of the city from the spa!
Free WiFi is very slow. Should be upgraded to at least 2Megabits per second, 512kbps is just too slow to be shared around effectivley.
Bit strange having to ask for a key to the minibar.
Comfy beds, great modern bathroom.

Room Tip: Make sure you try get a room with a view if possible. Getting stuck with a view of a wall is not muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Parkview looks like nothing special from the outside, but we think the rooms must have been updated recently. The room seemed very fresh and clean and the bathroom modern. We had a lovely view of the Albert Cricket Ground and of the city skyline. A bit of tram noise but that's to be expected when staying on St Kilda Road. Great breakfast, and nice bar/lounge. With trams outside the door we had great access to St Kilda, Chapel Street and the CBD. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not interconnecting with a room next door as the soundproofing is not so good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely establishment, rooms were lovely, most comfortable (king) bed I have slept on in a long long time, room was a good size not small good TV great bathroom, only criticism was that the fridge was locked. Great location next to Albert cricket ground trams out front for easy access to City or StKilda or Chapel street. Our stay was completed with a lovely breakfast each morning, we would certainly come back again thank you Parkview.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.