We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose the Parkview after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! We arrived at 10am after flying from the UK and although our allocated room was understandably not ready, we were quickly transferred to another with no fuss. The staff were always helpful, courteous and friendly. Our room on the second floor was spacious with a comfortable king size bed. The view of the park was very pleasant. The number 25 tram stop was only a few minutes walk up the road and with a Myki travel card (purchased from reception or from the Seven Eleven over the road), the CBD was only a few stops in one direction and St. Kilda a few stops in the other direction. It was possible to walk into the centre of Melbourne although we preferred to take the tram. The buffet hot and cold breakfast provided a great variety of options and the free Wifi was an added bonus. We would definately stay here again on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    480
    81
    21
    17
See reviews for
169
446
70
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just a tram ride from the heart of the city, or a good walk into town, amazing beds, Nice views, close to Stkilda beach and restaurants and chapel street shopping. The staff a pleasant, bar staff are excellent, Breakfast is always a huge variety,

Room Tip: we like the back rooms away from the lifts ,as they are quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location, very clean and staff are friendly and helpful, free car park was very handy. Loved the food at the restaurant. Enjoyed spa and sauna facility.
I would rate this hotel 4.5 star because only my little son was complaining about

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tathra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It's close to the city via trams. Walking distance to Albert Park Lake. Our room was very quiet. Very clean and modern room. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Room included a terrific buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't get the room near the lift. Its not that the lift itself is noisy, its the guests waiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

First time I had stayed there. Only a one night stay. Booked by phone the day before, asked for a basic guest room, they said yes they can accommodate me at the basic guest room price. I didn't know they had booked me into an upgraded room because basic guest rooms were booked out . They didn't make a song and dance about it or try to upsell me, they simply said "yes - we have a room for you". That exceeded my expectations of customer service. (Also an excellent breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I was a little disappointed in the fact that the fridge is locked and had to call receptoin just to unlock to put my medication in it. The basin in the bathroom had toothpaste splatters on it from previous guest. We had two laptops to charge and only one main power point worked in the main section of the room, so we had to use power point in vanity area to charge mobiles. I must say on a positive though the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed for three nights and attended business meetings all day and worked on my laptop in teh evenings. The service was good and a mix up with corporate payment was sorted quickly with no fuss. The hotel has had a refurb so bathrooms are the main benefactor. The bathroom was very small but well appointed - a large walk in shower replaced the bath area, the toilet behind the door and only towel hanging space on a rack over the toilet. Not ideal, but made good use of space in a small bathroom. There was a dressing room area outside the bathroom, in a type of ante room setup which also had luggage rack and minibar. The room itself was nice and mine overlooked the cricket ground. Although I was near the lift, the room was relatively quiet but for hte movement of other guests returning after I'd turned in for the night. All in all, it is hard to fault but there's also nothing that special about it either. A good base close to town if you're going to be out and about - not so much relaxing around a hotel. The tram line is on the main road outside and goes to St Kilda or into the city and takes about ten minutes. There is a 7Eleven convenience store on the main road which is about a ten minute walk. I had breakfast each morning before heading off to my workshops and that was probably the main area for improvement. The breakfast buffet had typical hotel fare of cereals/hot food, but nothing was particularly outstanding. It was okay, but I wouldn't choose to stay here for a break or holiday. It was good for a business trip because it was handy and a standard hotel. There's just nothing that really sets it apart from any other run-of-the-mill hotel. If you want to be close to the city or Albert Park then it would be a good place to make your base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.