We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!!
Ranked #15 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Colac, Australia
1 review
“My review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

All was good!!..the staff we very helpful and friendly, however, we all don't have credit cards, and I could have been made aware BEFORE HAND (when i booked) that there was a $100 security bond payable required on check-in..i totally understand why this is so..but if I knew this before hand..i could have planned to save that separately before we came down (2 hour drive to Melbourne)..it left us a bit short on $$$'s for the night..apart from that..all was good!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Alan thank for writing a review. I apologise that you were not made aware of the requirement for a deposit when not having a credit card to use. I will certainly review this procedure with my team. However it appears this oversight did not affect you stay when reading your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    339
    64
    17
    9
See reviews for
127
322
58
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed the night when in town for work. The King size bed was comfortable and it was a nice clean room. I liked the upgraded bathroom too. I enjoyed my stay, the views were a good bonus and breakfast was great in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It always great to read that a first time guest has enjoyed their stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here between 18-21st Dec 2013 for 3 nights .
The Hotel was central to everywhere I need to go , the Rooms were fantastic clean Luxuary , plenty of space well design . The staff are really nice great people skills and very helpful . The Hotel food was fantastic . This is my first time I have stayed here I will defiantly be back next time Which will be soon .
The Room rates are good also . I recommend this Hotel to my business clients and family and friends .!

Kind regards

JAMIE

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Jamie thank you for writing a nice review and also passing on your comments to your business clients. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great value for money. Accommodation was comfortable, view great and the location excellent. Breakfast was yummy. Staff helpful. Room overlooked the cricket square so could watch high level cricket for free! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: View over the cricket square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Tina I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ! I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived after a long flight and first impressions were not very good. The reception really needs a face lift--it is tired! The staff were very efficient and very helpful. Our room was not ready so they labelled our luggage and stored it--taking the computer to the office. When we returned and went to our room , we could not believe the view. We overlooked Melbourne--it was the best view we have ever had in a hotel. The room had safe , tea and coffee making facility and the shower was great.
The staff were always helpful . We ate in the restaurant twice--a bit limited on choice but food was of a good standard.
The tram is round the corner and you can walk to so many places--we walked into town one morning as it was so bright and sunny. South Yarra is a great area to explore with a lovely park on the way. There is an Italian restaurant opposite and numerous restaurants from most conrners of the world , near by.
We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top , overlooking Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your time in Melbourne. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed one night in early December 2013, as a group of 6: two adults in one room, plus two adults and two young children in two separate adjoining rooms (three rooms in total, if that didn't make sense). We booked via email directly with the hotel and they were very responsive.

The hotel was completely booked out for the night of our stay, and while the staff were busy, they were calm and very friendly. Our rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel is in good location, which gets you away from the manic CBD, but within easy reach if you need. Tram stop just outside on St Kilda Rd, an IGA just around the corner, along with a few local restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent (clean and non greasy cooked breakfast). Our rooms overlooked a local cricket ground and it was great to have a few drinks and watch their game out the window. Beds were huge and very comfortable.

We originally tried to stay in the CBD, but we really enjoyed the stay. So much so, we would certainly stay here again next time we came to Melb. Certainly recommend.

Would advise those who have cars with poor turning circles to avoid the hotels car park. We struggled in a Nissan Patrol to get around.

Room Tip: Lift was a touch noisy, so try to get away from them. I'd imagine rooms on the Albert Park Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always pleasing to read that we have met or exceeded our guests expectations and it appears that is the case on reading your review. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Parkview and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Love this hotel, friendly and helpful staff, room so spacious and lovely view. Free internet, easy parking, great to go for walks around Albert Park Lake or South Yarra and Prahran. Easy tram ride into the city. They have great packages that include breakfast and parking, such good value, love this place!!!

Room Tip: Ask for city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Jenny thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I will certainly pass your comments onto my team. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.