We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essendon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the MPV. It has clearly been recently refurbished with all the mod cons making it a prudent choice for the weary traveller.

It's also very conveniently located down St Kilda Road, but still close enough to the CBD should you wish to venture in.

Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. It is always nice to read a guests comment highlighting the convenience of our location as I agree we are very accessible to the CBD and many other key sights of Melbourne.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    538
    93
    24
    20
See reviews for
200
509
76
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We found this hotel to have spacious well appointed room with amazing 180degree view of the city . Bed very comfortable. Quality towels and bathroom extras. Very clean. Very quiet. Free morning paper on request. Easy parking only $12 a night. However once upon a time guest parking was free everywhere. Close to trendy suburbs and restaurants and a short tram ride to the city. We will stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: I understand all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Tessa thank you for writing such a nice review. We receive so many positive comments about the beds and it appears you have also enjoyed their comfort.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As usual lovely Hotel for exactly the purpose we needed it for - a Friday night stay close to Albert Park Lake for the start of the RTCC 2013 on Saturday morning. Managed to get a park outside so could lave the car there all weekend at no cost (not often heard of in Melbourne!). Staff were quick and friendly and room very comfy. Will be back next year for the same event...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank for writing the review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back next year but of course I would prefer you don't leave it that long to visit again !!
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We only spent the night but will be back on 27-28th DEC…..the rooms were a good size and very clean…..had lunch at WOODS CAFE the food was OK and the staff very tentative and helpful…..great part of town…easy walk to most things and trams out front……BUT THE SELF PARKING WAS AHHHHHHHHHHHH just AWFUL……what a parking disaster…….GLAD WE HAS A HIRE CAR would never have taken my LEXUS down there……OMG……but that was the only frightful experience…the rest was BLISSFUL…..see you guys soon. oh!!!! and BREKKY was good.

Room Tip: great spot…..beautiful spot for a romantic walk to the gardens etc etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Mary It certainly sounds like you enjoyed the hotel with the exception of our car park. I look forward to welcoming you back later in December and please do not hesitate to ask my reception team if you need assistance in the car park as we will be happy to help.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very relaxed - good service and staff were very helpful. Rooms are really good and the bed was very comfortable. I don't usually sleep well in hotels but I had a great nights sleep here. Will be returning

Room Tip: Looking over the park was lovely - room well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Mary thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a package including a city view guest room, on site parking and buffet breakfast.
Had a great time! It was good value. The staff were excellent; no complaints at all about the service. The room overlooked the cricket ground across the road. The buffet breakfast was very good. The room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had been recently updated so was very good. The location is great; easy to get to driving from SA and easy to catch the tram into the city. The onsite parking is a big benefit as street parking is limited. It is tricky parking a large car as the spaces are tight. It is not a new hotel - the lifts are a little slow but not a problem. We were visiting for the Around the Bay bike ride. Guests are allowed to take bikes up to the rooms.
Yes, I would happily stay there again and I recommend that you consider doing so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Firstly thank you for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to inform me of you stay and it is great to read that we met your expectations. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a scoopon voucher for two nights to stay with my boyfriend, had been looking forward to it for weeks! Got a city view room which didn't disappoint! Was absolutely stunning!! The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable! The staff were lovely, with nothing being too difficult. The only small, and I mean very small, problems were the shower - the water spills everywhere meaning we had to put towels down which ended up getting soaked, the carparks were fairly small but that's expected, and there was no DVD player, which was surprising. Definitely head up to the spa/pool/sauna, has a beautiful view and there's usually no one or very few people. Will most definitely visit again and pass along my positive experience to friends!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform me about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.