We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in the park view hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!!
Ranked #15 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our stay in the park view hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked four nights via wot if so we could go to the Melbourne cup. On arrival from Perth we were given room 105 on the first floor. Lovely spacious room with king bed.was very clean and comfortable. Only problem as we were right above where the trucks pulled in to bring supplies or something it was extremely noisy. Sound like a tram every two minutes for around two hours from around 5.45 an to around 7.30. After the second night we asked to be moved. The staff were excellent and moved us straight away to room 520. Same as the other room but a lot less noisy. The breakfast was ok,plenty of choice but wasn't very hot. The spa on the 9th floor is amazing. The views are fab. Overall we would stay here again. If you plan on using the tram get you myki organized . Ask at the staff counter as we had to try and work it out ourselves. Had a very pleasant trip :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for informing me about your recent stay. I am delighted that we were able to move you to another room due to noise. It is also helpful knowing which rooms you stayed in as I can have the room window seals checked to ensure that they are functioning correctly. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments onto my team.

Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    342
    65
    17
    9
See reviews for
127
329
58
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merimbula, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am a pain in the butt when we are looking for accommodation for our trips. I really like NICE but not too expensive but with added extras and this is what we got with Melbourne Parkview Hotel. Parkview had a couple of great specials happening at the time we were travelling so check the botels website before booking on other wensitea. Staff very friendly and helpful, room lovely and roomy overlooking the oval and city, breakfast had everything you wished for except I am not keen on the thermos plungers they have for hot water for your tea and coffee as they do not stay hot. (Just a personal thing so don't take it as a negative for this hotel) Not far from tram stop to go to the CBD. Plenty of choices for dinner around the Albert Park areas. We had a great time, caught up with friends in Melb. Would definitely go back to Melbourne Parkview Hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
It is always great to read that a guest has done a little research before making their choice of hotel. It is even better to know that we met your expectations and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a deal on Scoopon and the service and overall deal far exceeded expectations. Great breakfast, great king bed and modern room layout. The service was great. I hope to buy a deal like this again. We had a wonderful deal and experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I am delighted you took advantage of the Scoopon Deal and even more so that we exceeded your expectations. We will be offering deals with Scoopon at various times but please don't forget to look at our website that also has a variety of special rates. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I always stay at the Park View when I'm in Melbourne.
The initial drawcard was the great central location and parking, but I continue to return for the beautiful beds and friendly staff!
The restaurant has recently had a menu change along with a name change, I dined with 3 others and we all LOVED our (huge!) meals.
The buffet breakfast is also terrific.
Of course I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful response regarding your recent stay. I will certainly highlight your comments onto my team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you want a nice 4 star hotel experience you can't go wrong. Could be mistaken for 5 star. The 'city view' room was a big part of our experience, might not be as good without that view. Also was a bit disappointed that in the spa room they played annoying commercial radio, not very relaxing, just seemed a bit dumb and when I asked them to turn it off they wouldn't. How bout some zen music if they must plat something? Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform me about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and would also like to thank you for letting me know about the music in the Spa. I must admit that point slipped past me and I have already arranged the music to be changed ! I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opotiki, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Customer service was wonderful, room was comfortable and luxurious and breakfast was superb!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
I arrived early on Thursday 24th October and friendly receptionist let me check in early so i could put my bag away, the room although a standard one and not facing the park was still very modern and 5 starry!
The full buffet breakfast was definitely a highlight, the automatic fresh pancake maker was just one of the pleasant surprises!
Also reception staff were happy to look after my bag for a few hours after i had checked out, service with a smile,
Thankyou Parkview, looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: 9th floor overlooking the park if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Rufus D Thank you for your great review as we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am delighted that you had such a nice stay and will make sure your comments are passed on to our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Laurie Littman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Comfortable room and decent breakfast. I thought the room was a bit pricey but I suppose its the location. Nice view of tennis and cricket playgrounds from the room. There's a restaurant on the lobby floor - the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for you for your positive comments. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Laurie Littman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.