We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDING ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WEDDING ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hi, I booked the postcards special which was $139 incl. breakfast, parking and late checkout, which I thought was fantastic deal...Anyway, we were very impressed with the condition of this hotel, it's been renovated nicely and the beds are super comfortable, mattresses are like sleeping on a cloud, I loved it! Only negative was we had some noisy people on our level who were banging doors constantly and talking loudly! Other than that, it was a very comfortable, modern room and very clean too....

Room Tip: Maybe request a higher level and at the end, so you don't get people walking past and talking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Sharyn R

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. If you enjoy our deals don't forget to like our page on Facebook to be among the first to know about all our new promos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    586
    100
    27
    20
See reviews for
219
562
79
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stay here every time we come to Melbourne. The hotel is in a great position close to transport, easy to go shopping in cbd, has good restaurant and new cafe for breakfast .,always get a city view room . Hotel is very clean, excellent staff , beds are soooo ver comfortable and always love sleeping there. Great gym and pool.

Room Tip: City view rooms are great with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi MarimBendigo

I love to hear from our satisfied guests, especially when they are returning over and over again. So thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is out of the central business district but it is between the business district of St Kilda Road and Albert Park. Therefore, lots of nearby cafes underneath business premises catering for breakfast, take out lunch and coffees etc.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on breakfast but prices looked typical for hotel breakfasts!
The room we had overlooked L'Oreal (next door business). On the first night I had a real problem sleeping as the air conditioning units from the L'Oreal building resonated all night and it didn't matter where my head lay, I couldn't avoid the hum. The 2nd and third nights were OK as the fans were quieter...
Other than the fan noise, the room was fine : modern, well equipped and well presented. We had 2 double beds so the kids (9,11) had to share and we certainly were a little tight on space.

That said, there was enough room for our large cases and the kids enjoyed using the Spa pools upstairs and WIFI was free. Something of a rarity in Australia (certainly the first hotel we had stayed in where I didn't have to pay $20-30 a day for Internet access) so FULL marks for this! There was a premium option but the 512k service was absolutely fine for our needs.
The real benefit of this hotel was the fact that we explored St Kilda. I think we would have missed out if we'd stayed in the CBD.
Overall the hotel met our admittedly basic needs, was comfortable, reasonably priced and in a good location for exploring St Kilda or Melbourne city. A taxi ride or tram use is essential though. There is a taxi rank outside and there are 2 tram stops just 4 mins walk from the hotel reception.

Finally, if you visit St Kilda and like cakes, then go to Acland Street...An entire row of amazing cake shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the side next to L'Oreal (South side) if fan noise bothers you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi ApulUK

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. St Kilda is a very nice place to explore isn't it. Most big, modern cities have a bit of sameness about them but you really get to discover a bit of Melbourne's character in a place like St Kilda.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed hear on many occasions in the last year and still enjoy my stay every time I come to Melbourne. Short tram ride into the city or the 3a to St Kilda on the weekend and only a short walk to the tram stop. Great buffet breakfast to be had and a cheerful Glen to greet you, a sauna, spa and gym on the top floor with magnificent views of the Melbourne skyline. Always a cheerful hello from all staff and a welcome back by your first name by weekend manager Hamon, looking forward to my next visit already.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Darren

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'll pass on your kind words to Hamon & Glen, they are both great guys who get a kick out of hearing about the impact they have on our guests experiences.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My second or third stay. I phoned ahead to see if the Hotel could help with the mattresses which I find too soft. Rosie was very helpfull, problem sorted and I slept very well. My room had a good view and it was very comfortable. The dressing room will be appreciated by most, I am sure. The gym and spar facilities are very good. Parking Good. In room dining-Good. Breakfast is good and the staff very helpful. Location is great. I will stay here again and I recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Dave H

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. I also find the beds too soft with the topper on and always remove it when staying. This is why we got removable toppers so we can customise our guests experiences, I'm pleased to hear that it's working well for you.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

noisy - you could hear peoples conversations outside room while trying to sleep ...you could hear doors shutting ...

breakfast was terrible - had to wait half hour for the scrambled eggs ...the mushrooms tasted terrible

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Voula A

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and that your experience was so different to the vast majority of our guests. If you'd like to contact me directly at the hotel I'd love to get some more information from you and see if there was some way to get you back to try us out again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent service all round including buffet breakfast, great location only a short taxi ride to crown, plenty of room for parking the car. Large clean room with a great view and an extremely comfortable bed! Would recommend and would happily stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi BecGeb

I love to hear from our satisfied guests so thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.