We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room out of the CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!!
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family room out of the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is out of the central business district but it is between the business district of St Kilda Road and Albert Park. Therefore, lots of nearby cafes underneath business premises catering for breakfast, take out lunch and coffees etc.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on breakfast but prices looked typical for hotel breakfasts!
The room we had overlooked L'Oreal (next door business). On the first night I had a real problem sleeping as the air conditioning units from the L'Oreal building resonated all night and it didn't matter where my head lay, I couldn't avoid the hum. The 2nd and third nights were OK as the fans were quieter...
Other than the fan noise, the room was fine : modern, well equipped and well presented. We had 2 double beds so the kids (9,11) had to share and we certainly were a little tight on space.

That said, there was enough room for our large cases and the kids enjoyed using the Spa pools upstairs and WIFI was free. Something of a rarity in Australia (certainly the first hotel we had stayed in where I didn't have to pay $20-30 a day for Internet access) so FULL marks for this! There was a premium option but the 512k service was absolutely fine for our needs.
The real benefit of this hotel was the fact that we explored St Kilda. I think we would have missed out if we'd stayed in the CBD.
Overall the hotel met our admittedly basic needs, was comfortable, reasonably priced and in a good location for exploring St Kilda or Melbourne city. A taxi ride or tram use is essential though. There is a taxi rank outside and there are 2 tram stops just 4 mins walk from the hotel reception.

Finally, if you visit St Kilda and like cakes, then go to Acland Street...An entire row of amazing cake shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the side next to L'Oreal (South side) if fan noise bothers you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi ApulUK

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. St Kilda is a very nice place to explore isn't it. Most big, modern cities have a bit of sameness about them but you really get to discover a bit of Melbourne's character in a place like St Kilda.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    373
    68
    17
    12
See reviews for
134
358
59
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed hear on many occasions in the last year and still enjoy my stay every time I come to Melbourne. Short tram ride into the city or the 3a to St Kilda on the weekend and only a short walk to the tram stop. Great buffet breakfast to be had and a cheerful Glen to greet you, a sauna, spa and gym on the top floor with magnificent views of the Melbourne skyline. Always a cheerful hello from all staff and a welcome back by your first name by weekend manager Hamon, looking forward to my next visit already.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Darren

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'll pass on your kind words to Hamon & Glen, they are both great guys who get a kick out of hearing about the impact they have on our guests experiences.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My second or third stay. I phoned ahead to see if the Hotel could help with the mattresses which I find too soft. Rosie was very helpfull, problem sorted and I slept very well. My room had a good view and it was very comfortable. The dressing room will be appreciated by most, I am sure. The gym and spar facilities are very good. Parking Good. In room dining-Good. Breakfast is good and the staff very helpful. Location is great. I will stay here again and I recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Dave H

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. I also find the beds too soft with the topper on and always remove it when staying. This is why we got removable toppers so we can customise our guests experiences, I'm pleased to hear that it's working well for you.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

noisy - you could hear peoples conversations outside room while trying to sleep ...you could hear doors shutting ...

breakfast was terrible - had to wait half hour for the scrambled eggs ...the mushrooms tasted terrible

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Voula A

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and that your experience was so different to the vast majority of our guests. If you'd like to contact me directly at the hotel I'd love to get some more information from you and see if there was some way to get you back to try us out again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service all round including buffet breakfast, great location only a short taxi ride to crown, plenty of room for parking the car. Large clean room with a great view and an extremely comfortable bed! Would recommend and would happily stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi BecGeb

I love to hear from our satisfied guests so thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here after walking into the city from Fairfield Boathouse via the Main Yarra Trail and Capital city trail. A pleasant walk via the Fitzroy Gardens and down St Kilda Rd and we arrived at pur destination. We were warmly greeted at reception and quickly booked in and given our room keys. Our group had 4 City view rooms, level 3, 5 and 7. The rooms did not disappoint. Good views, plenty of storage, powerful showers, quiet during the night. Yes, it is not in the city centre but having stayed in many of the more central hotels, I would certainly stay here again for the quieter ambience. It is easy to get into the CBD if required either walking or via tram. There was always taxis out the front as another option for getting around. Ate out in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant other than to say the breakfast had a good variety and was lovely. Did not get to use the spa as it was always full so I can assume it was good. the view from the rooftop spa was lovely. This hotel is costed at a very conpetitive price as compared to other city hotels. i have stayed at many 4and 5 star hotels in Melbourne, including, Crown, Langham, Hyatt, Park Hyatt, Grand Hyatt and others and for value, service and rooms the Park View is very competitive. I would not hesitiate in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose city view rooms, spacious, good storage, has a view but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi dlber

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. There are some really nice walks close to the hotel, into St Kilda and down to the foreshore via Albert Park Lake is probably the best of them. We also have bike s for hire if you'd like to explore the area that way, talk to Concierge next stay and they can help point you in the right direction.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfieldsaye VIC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed 2 consecutive nights at the Parkview Melbourne. While we enjoyed the amenities of both the rooms we stayed in, it was very disappointing that we were obliged to change rooms for the second night.

We had booked the first night (Sunday 18th August) through a Scoopon special deal. Later, we discovered that we needed to attend a medical appointment on Tuesday 20th August, so decided to stay another night. The Scoopon deal was no longer available so we booked the second night through Wotif.

On arrival at the hotel, we were advised that we would have to move rooms on Monday because the two rooms we had booked were different – one had a city view and the other did not. We were offered the opportunity to pay an additional $20 to stay on in the city view room for the second night which we declined.

The attitude of the booking clerk was inflexible and mean spirited. It seemed to us that it would surely cost the hotel more to move us to another room resulting in complete cleaning and replacement of linen etc. in our original room. Clearly the city view room was not booked for the second night, otherwise we would not have been offered an upgrade. We would have quite happily foregone any housekeeping of our room if we had been permitted to stay in the one room.

On the Monday morning after breakfast, we asked for a second time, if the booking clerk was sure that we were obliged to move rooms, which she confirmed was the case.

Whilst this was technically correct, the episode has left us seriously considering that we would not return to the hotel, despite having been guests in the past. We have also in the past, taken friends to Limes restaurant for lunch.

Room Tip: Their are many superior places to stay within the same price bracket that are mor professional and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi pppinot

Thanks for your review, we appreciate all feedback, good and bad. As you said in your review you had several chances to purchase the upgrade to a city view room, once on wotif and again at the desk. On both occasions you declined to pay the very modest $20 to have this amenity.

We have a finite number of city view rooms and they are sought after which is why they command an upgrade fee. Whilst we did have them available for Monday night when you checked in on Sunday we did continue to offer upgrades to other clients and sold all our city view rooms for the Monday night. As you declined the use of the non city view room for both nights or to pay the upgrade fee, the choice to move rooms was yours.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.