We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but disappointed with breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #24 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Donald, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice room but disappointed with breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had not stayed here for about 8 years so was concerned the hotel may have deteriorated but still found the rooms to be spacious and well kept. The bathroom has been updated and although fairly small is nice and modern, We were in a city view room and the view from our upper floor was fantastic! Could not find an information folder in our room and think that would be a good idea to let all guests know where the spa and other facilities are. Breakfast was included in our package and that had been a highlight on last visit, but was definitely a disappointment this time. Bacon was barely cooked, scrambled eggs were a solid block and the tea was in a thermos pump container and was like dish water! A pot of boiling water and teabags would be a simple but preferable solution! Unfortunately the breakfast tainted my view of this hotel and although the rooms were lovely, staff very pleasant and price good, I doubt we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi greenacres61

Thanks for the review we appreciate the time taken to pass on your feedback. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with breakfast, we serve about 1000 breakfasts per week through the buffet and the feedback is mostly positive. The reason we brew tea instead of providing water and teabags is simply to move people through more quickly. On a Sunday morning we can have 180 people come through he restaurant for breakfast between 9.00 & 10.30 and we are trying to move them through as smoothly and quickly as possible. We are happy also to cook different styles of eggs to order on request. I will pass your comments on to our chef and I can assure you that they will be taken very seriously.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    510
    91
    24
    18
See reviews for
182
481
72
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in corner room on second floor, on the St Kilda Rd end of the building. Spacious room with lovely views and an opening window for fresh air (though that does raise the sound level a lot). Good bathroom with roomy shower, small kitchenette with fridge that desperately needed defrosting, and an overpriced mini bar. Tea and coffee making equipment provided, but a shame a hotel of this quality does not provide a microwave. Very large TV on a swivel so that it could be as easily watched from the large & comfortable bed as from the lounge chairs.

Check in and out was quick and courteous. Did not use the restaurant but had a 'snack' meal from room service one night which was very pleasant and a huge serving.

Reasonable value for money if you book early and get a decent price.

Good location with trams running past on St Kilda Rd, a taxi rank in front of the hotel, and serviced by a number of airport shuttle buses (I recommend Frankston and Peninsula Airport Shuttle - good price, right on time, no hassles at all). Also a nice walk into the City on a pleasant day.

My only hesitation in giving a higher score for service was an odd incident, after 8pm on my last night, when a staff member knocked on the door and said he'd been instructed to lock the mini bar (the fridge is in a cupboard with a lockable door). He had no idea why, and I had no interest in the mini bar but wasn't happy to lose access to the fridge as I had my own items in there. In the end the young man, who was very polite, apologised and left without locking the mini bar. When I asked for an explanation on checking out, I was assured there was no reason they would need to lock the mini bar, and was informed they must have got the wrong room, with further apology offered. I'm sure this is a rare event, but to be honest I was, and am, somewhat irritated that they don't take more care. After a 9 hour day of walking, all I wanted to do at that time of evening was put my feet up and rest, not have to deal with some poor staff member who had been sent on a fool's errant. It was only that the young man in question was so polite, and had the nous to think for himself and work out that he'd been given bad instructions, that prevented me from being furious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi SMTas

Thanks for your review we really appreciate the feedback. Sorry about the minibar incident, the attendant was sent up to lock the mini bar of a different guest who was unable to provide a credit card on check in. In this case our procedure is to lock the minibar, bar movies and phones and unfortunately, in this case, the attendant was given the incorrect room number.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here 25 years ago, so why not? Was not disappointed. Check-in and -out were smooth and friendly. Enjoyed the roof-top spa and plunge pool. Taxi rank right outside, so we waited all of 30 seconds for a taxi at 6pm to go to the city ($13 in, but only $9 back later that night). Lovely room view at night, very comfy beds, good shower. Had complimentary chockies in room because of the anniversary. Room air-con was accurate (I hate hotels where you have to fiddle with the air-con, but not the case here). We had the buffet breakfast - was an average buffet but nothing to complain about at all. Coffee was the usual hotel "blerk" brand - seems the same at various Melbourne hotels - but they do have an attached cafe where you can get a great coffee.

Room Tip: We had a corner (deluxe) room overlooking the park (north) and St Kilda Road (east). There are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Badger-acpr

Thanks for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & congratulations on 25 years together.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Park View was in St Kilda Road which was a tram ride away from the city, and also a walking distance of 25-30 minutes.
I lost my money at the Casino and walked back through South Melbourne, across Albert Park Lake and through very busy Queens Road to the hotel quite easily, so I know the walk is possible and pleasant.
The hotel had a fantastic restaurant below as well as a small bar for evening drinks. There were many other eating and drinking places around.
The hotel was used mainly by Insurance and other business groups as it was adjacent to many seminar and training venues and everyone I spoke to was there training or working somewhere.
I was doing a training with Insurance and that is how I stayed here as this was their choice of hotel and thus removed somewhat from a travllers choice.
TV has BBC World, CNBC, local channels and Fox Sport 1 & 2, Pay movies (average AUD$15). Room service fast and averages $14-$25 for main meals with limited choice after 10pm. Room decor (which is why I class this as a 3 star) is a mismatch of styles and could be said to be late 80's/early 90's with plenty of brass (now mottled & chipped) and in need of a freshen up. Lobby decor could definately do with same (seats sometimes worn and different colours). But if your overlook this - the hotel was a very nice stay especially for the price and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Angelo66187867

Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I'm not sure what you mean about plenty of brass in the rooms as the only brass items in the hotel are the front doors, lobby lift doors and trims and port clochere. The hotel went through a $8m refurbishment of rooms and corridors in early 2011 and they are very fresh and modern with no brass used at all. Perhaps in the 5 months between your stay and your review you may have mixed us up with another hotel?

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recently stayed here when I had to be close to the nearby hospital whilst a family member was there. The rooms where clean, with a nice view over the cricket ground, city lights and Albert Park.
Location was great, close to the parks, easy to get to the city, and a walk to the hospital. Loved the pillow menu, beds comfy. All the staff I dealt with were helpful and friendly. Had the up stairs spa room to myself on 2 nights, so nice and relaxing. Lobby could be updated a little, but over all very happy and will be back.

Room Tip: I did have a top floor room, facing the city...very nice view and up high so not much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Shirazinoz

Thanks for the review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experiences. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope your family member gets well soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and have never experienced such comfortable beds. The hotel is clean and welcoming, the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The pillow menu is an added bonus for those with particular tastes. I found the staff to be exceptional and nothing was too difficult to assist with. It would be nice to have a selection of teas at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Emma P

Thanks for the great review and I'm so glad you had a good stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed from April 10-12th in a city view room 516 (beautiful view). Luxuriously comfortable king sized bed (and plenty of choices on their pillow menu). Lovely modern bathroom, spacious shower, bathrobes and plenty of towels provided.
Extremely pleased with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly, efficient service. Highly recommend it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi CounselorG

Glad to hear you had such a good stay, thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.