We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgence package....excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geelong
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Indulgence package....excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here with the Indulgence package they have available on line. We paid AUD$379 and recieved...a deluxe city view room, champagne and strawberries, two half hour massages, a three course meal in their restuarant, full buffet breakfast, late checkout, car parking and a newspaper. We were delighted with every minute of our stay. the room has a great city view through large surrounding windows, the room was immaculate, our meal service in the resturant was devine with plenty of food and choices. Normally their is a set menu for deals like these but, you were free to pick any entree, main, side and dessert off the menu. We were so full after our meal staff offered to send dessert up to our room later that evening....the pool on the roof is really only a spa...which suited us fine but it probably would not suit people with children or those who want a swim as such. i looked hard to find a fault and all I could come up with was the salt and pepper shakers in the resturant were a bit grotty and could have done with a clean....we were most happy here and would deffinately recommend the package deals the hotel offers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
HI MelGeelong

Thanks for your great review, it's awesome to hear such good things from our customers. I'll pass your comments back to our staff (and have the S&P grinders cleaned :) )

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    538
    94
    24
    20
See reviews for
200
510
76
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice hotel located on St Kilda road. Lots of trees and parkland around the hotel. Easy tram or taxi ride to the CBD. Room and bed was good. Had a great view over the city. Unfortunately we had a bad experience with breakfast. We were keen to get in more sightseeing so ordered coffee and toast for a quick getaway. Coffee can within 5 minutes but the toast took 45 minutes. Seriously - 45 minutes for toast!!!!! The third staff member was asked apologised and said they were busy, however there were many empty tables outside were we were seated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Pat R

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate all feedback, good and bad. Sorry also about the wait on your toast, it was indeed a very busy morning but that is no reason to take so long for so simple an order.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My business takes me to Melbourne very 8 weeks,for the past 20 years I have been staying at this Hotel as it is convenient as I work across the road. I have seen it change hands over the years several times but it has been The Parkview for quite a number of years and yes it did get a little tired,but a couple of years ago it was well and truly refurbished everything out and new furniture in,with a lot of thought,to design and colour. Love their showers so sensible,the tap is at the other end of the shower,which is large,which means you don't get wet or burnt turning it on and the shower head is big .The beds are magic and the sheets are all beautifully pressed ,large towells and the bathrooms have all the amenities.the room itself is very comfortable.The only thing I miss being a woman who wears makeup ,is good lighting in the bathroom and a wall magnifying mirror 5x,I don't think they have enough mirrors for a woman,the hotel I believe caters a little more to the business man in that area.I love the rooms facing the cricket ground and park ,you get full sunshine and some mornings if you wake up early you get to see 3or4 of the BIG colourful Balloons on their scenic flight over Melbourne.You can even open a window a little way to get some air ,which is a bonus in a hotel.The restaurant is good and is always busy as is their coffee machines and Bar.I enjoy my stay every time .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Ms Glover - Hovan

It's great to see such a long term customer with such a great feeling for the hotel. We all love coming to work there and it's so good to hear that our customers love it too. I haven't been here as long as you have, just 12 and a half years, but I certainly enjoy it enough to make the 20.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Super friendly staff here! We stayed in 3 different hotels on our Melbourne trip. The other 2 were in the CBD. This hotel is along St Kilda Rd, about 15 mins walk to Chapel St, and a tram ride into the CBD.

Rooms are quite nice, clean, well maintained. None of them have baths though (we actually paid for an upgrade on night 2, but were told none of their rooms have baths, only showers.)

Enjoyed the heated spa pools, even though it was summer and it got pretty hot in the spa room with the sun shining in.

My only gripe was that this hotel comes up under "CBD hotels" on Wotif. HOWEVER, it is NOT in the CBD. The Melbourne Airport door-to-door shuttle will NOT drop off or pick up from this hotel. There is an airport shuttle that services St Kilda, BUT only until early evening. If your flight arrives later than 8pm, you will not be able to find a direct airport shuttle to this hotel!!!! We ended up having to take the SkyBus to Southern Cross station, and then take a taxi to Parkview. Quite a costly exercise, and the last thing you want to do when arriving late at night.

Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, but just so you know, and don't find out until it is too late, like we did.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically the same inside. Just the views are different, and costs more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi AklTraveler

Thanks for your review we appreciate the time it takes for our guests to pass on their experiences. We do have 5 Family rooms that have baths and 2 Spa suites with them as well if this is important to you for next time.

As to the CBD listing this is the result of our address on St Kilda Rd with the postcode of 3004 being located in the suburb Melbourne and something over which we have no control. We are in fact just short of 3km from the CBD and about 1.5km from St Kilda & Chapel St Prahran.

The airport shuttle we recommend for door to door drop off and pick up is the Frankston and Peninsula Airport Shuttle, however as you point out their last departure from the airport is 8.30pm. For departures after this Jetbus run until 10.30pm and will drop off at the hotel, we don't recommend them for pickups however as they struggle to keep to schedule.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is one of the few hotels in a major city where you can do your Laundry , have meetings , walk into transport into the city very quiet location with nice finishes and comfortable surroundings.
The restaurant is great and the breakfast is very welll put on in the form of a hot buffett and a good selection on the menu for dinner. The staff are very helpful and also the hotel does a large corporate trade including 3 Formula One teams when the Melbourne Grand Prix is on as I have been told an entrance to the track is right outside the front doors. This hotel comes highly recoomended where the staff helped me with some small issues and were very accommodating. all the staff communicated well and lots of the staff look like local Melbournians. I usually stay at the Accorr but I cannot handle there extras that they keep tacking on for Laundry and Breakfast which is very average now and no one takes responsibility for anything , I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and found it very comfortable. Gym is clean and the rooms are very clean ....

Room Tip: Some rooms have views over Albert Park but I found the place very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Ozipeter

Thanks for the great review, we really love hearing the things our customers like.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed hear on many occasions over the last six months enjoy my time there on each occasion . All staff are very friendly and remember your name which is a nice touch A thanks to,Angelo who always ask's how I am going as I have had a few trips to the Alfred which is very close by. The breakfast crew are great as are the receptionist. The spa on the 9th floor is great especially at night with all Melbourne's lights at there best. My grandchildren loved on my last visit to see the Xmas lights.Room's are always kept at a high standard, close to tram stop which is very convenient.looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Darren S

Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate it. Glad to hear Angelo is looking after you, he's a terrific guy and it's fantastic having the same face out in the lobby for more than 10 years now. He's almost a national treasure, hope the health issues are improving.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night and had a pretty good stay. It was booked for us by a family member and might not have come to our attention otherwise. Nothing stood out as amazing but this is a good quality hotel that is reasonably well priced and well located. It is not as convenient as the cbd hotels but is really close to a tram stop and the view is awesome. The car parking is cheap as well which is a real bonus but the carpark requires some real manoeuvring. We would always look it up to compare prices when staying in Melbourne in the future and be happy to stay here if our other preferred hotel is significantly more expensive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi KiwiMedic

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope we do see you back again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.