We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, reasonable rates and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel, reasonable rates and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and have always had a good experience. Only ten minutes by tram into the city or ten minutes to St Kilda this Albert Park location is great. The king size room (upgraded for $20) we stayed in last weekend had a lovely view of the cricket ground and tennis courts and across to the city. It had been updated, was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was not included but we weren't worried about that as we often prefer to have brunch instead of getting up early to make it to breakfast on time! Check in was very smooth and even though the parking spaces are very tight we were guided to the GM's parking spot by the concierge. We didn't have the need to call anyone after check in so can't comment on housekeeping or room service. All in all, this hotel offers great value for money and a good standard of service.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room. Much nicer than looking into another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi wizzynew

Thanks for the positive review, I'm glad you had a great time. Just to let you know that if you do buy a bed and breakfast package and miss the buffet we are happy to serve you a la carte breakfast in the cafe right up until 1.00pm on weekends at no extra charge.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    413
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
146
391
65
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a deal online for a City view room including Breakfast, Parking, Wifi, massage vouchers, a bottle of wine and a 1pm checkout.... all for $149. Excellent deal. Room was nice, view was lovely and the bed was comfy. We were on level 6 nice and quiet. Only negatives were... The showers drainage was not sufficient, this caused the water to flow out the door and flood the bathroom at times, the carpark was very tight and very hard to find a park and we didn't receive our massage vouchers. But.. Again for the price we overlooked the small issues. We had a great time and didn't want to leave!!!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
HI Lexi K

Glad to hear you had a nice time on our Scoopon deal. We have done a couple of these on different sites (cudo, ourdeal) over the last year and they seem to work really well for both customers and us so keep your eye out for more. Just to let you know the massage treatments were organised by Scoopon and you had to book them directly with the spa quoting the Scoopon code, we never had vouchers to hand out.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel using a 3rd party deal. We had a city view room with a late check out of 1pm and full buffet breakfast.
Our first impression in the lobby was it was slightly dull and boring. The greeting we got from the front desk was amazing. If I can recall correctly her name was Amelia. Such a wonderful and helpful staff member.
Once we arrived in our room I had a good look around (I work at another Melbourne property in housekeeping). I found it to be reasonably clean. Just a few little things that do make a lasting impression. The bathroom mirror and shower screen had not been cleaned properly, dried watermarks everywhere. The in-room dining menu had thick coffee stains on the front cover. Last thing I found wrong in the room was there was only 1 bathrobe in the wardrobe. A used one at that. It was untied and there was make up on it.
After going back downstairs and speaking with the front desk, Amelia(?) apologised and had clean new bathrobes sent to our room. On our return there were 2 new bathrobes on the bed, yet the dirty one was still left in the wardrobe. Hmmmmm...
The spa and pool are a little different here. The pool is a plunge pool and only 5 metres deep and the spa is right along side and is 1 metre deep. A great view of the city while in both of these. Although while we were in the spa, we noticed that the vent on the side, in the spa was coming off, screws hanging out. We reported this to reception.
Buffet breakfast was reasonable. Nothing exciting, just your usual buffet breakfast. But my hubby did say the coffee was disgusting.
We saw housekeeping a few times but no hello nothing from them even when we did say good morning to them.
Would we stay here again? More than likely not unless I had no other options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi ausoiler

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate the time our guests take to let us know what they did and didn't like. I have passed on your comments to Amelia and have also let our Housekeeping Manager know about the other issues you experienced. Thanks again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Parkview in October 2012 and was quite dissappointed with a the service provided and room quality. I asked about tram services and was sent in a different direction to where we wanted to go. you would think the desk staff would be knowledgable about which trams go where! Also, our mattress was badly worn, with one side of the bed noticably higher than the other (probably due to 1 person sleeping on 1 side for much of the time). They tried to offset this problem by fitting a thick woollen underlay under the sheets. Room service food was very poor!!
How this hotel can be reated 41/2 stars is beyond my comprehension.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Andrew A

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. The mattresses have a thick feather topper on them and it can get compressed unevenly by having a single sleeper in the same spot for a few nights. We do try and combat this with a schedule of weekly flipping and turning of these toppers and I'm sorry that yours wasn't satisfactory, a quick call to the desk would have had it rectified immediately.

All our desk and concierge staff receive training in getting around Melbourne and have the internet available on every terminal to assist guests in getting around so I am unsure as to how you would have received the wrong information. The most common route is into the CBD and every tram heading North will take you there. Good luck at your next hotel.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with my husband in October 2012 for a quick weekend trip to Melbourne. It is in a great position, close to Albert Park, Botanical gardens and a ten minute tram ride to the CBD. It is not a luxury hotel but if you can get a good last minute rate the room and service is worth the price. We did not have breakfast included, however, we did eat in the hotels restaurant which was a little overpriced for the type of food and service provided. I would suggest to choose one of Melbourne's many nicer restaurants nearby. But otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Kyliemac79

Thanks for your review we appreciate it and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well this was a great place to stay, I had a family member in the Alfred hospital and this was so close, could park thr car under hotel and forget it. Room was very nice a so quite after a day in the hospital it was a pleasure to come back to and relax

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Jim K

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope your relative has recovered well.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location just a 5 minute tram ride to the city. The staff were very professional, polite but also personable. The room was excellant. Nicely and comfortably furnished. Great views from our room on the 9 th floor. Im in a wheelchair and they aacomadated me beautifully. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were wonderful ! Beats the much higher price tag of the CBD hotels, bigtime, where we would normally stay. Just tried a hotel a little out of the city for a change and we're now converted. Thanks Parkview. We'll be back ! Often !
My only critisism was the hefty price of the room service meals although they were great quality they were still very overpriced. No breakfast included either. But all in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi guru340

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff were able to accommodate your needs so well. Look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.