We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel by Melbourne's parklands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BUFFET BREAKFAST!!!
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value hotel by Melbourne's parklands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Parkview Hotel is good value when placed in comparison with other city hotels. It is in a great location halfway between the city and St Kilda with a tram stop nearby. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, and they have also been recently refurbished. You can also wind open the window - which I really appreciate. Breakfast was the same as can be expected at any other hotel of this class - lots of choice, but not the best quality - why is it always like this? If you like having a nice view, it is worth asking for a park-view room, we got one without request, and were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    402
    69
    19
    12
See reviews for
141
373
61
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms clean and neat. Phone does not work well - cannot call reception, concierge etc. They know the problem but do not inform you. Gym is also poorly equipped, only one weight machine and 4 cardio machines in a small space. With a single elevator in working condition was not a particularly great stay. Internet at $25 per day I think is excessive.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely hotel which I'd been told had recently had undergone an $8m Refurbishment.
You could really tell, as appeared very clean and modern.
We stayed here for 4 nights in a City View Guest Room. Lovely room with a massive king size bed! Bathroom clean and modern with a very large walk in shower.
All the things you could ever need in your room for a comfortable stay. Even His 'n' hers bathrobes.
Had buffet breakfast daily. Food very vice and plenty of variety.
Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help. Hotel manager invited us join him for complimentary drinks and nibbles on our first night!
Hotel is situated on on the edge of a Tree-Lined Boulevard which leads you down into Federation square. Not 'out of the way' like some people say. Nice walk into the city, or a 5-10 minute tram ride (tram stop is a 1 minute walk from hotel)
You can buy a tourist pack at the tourist info centre in Federation square, which incldes a 'Myki' card which enables you to travel around the city on the trams and buses. We found this very helpful. and quite cheap. If you need a taxi, they are right outside the hotel.
Because it's not right in the city it's more peaceful, with next to no traffic noise.
Would highly recommend this hotel.
We are already planning to go back again next year for our 10th wedding anniversary on valentines day!

Room Tip: City View room gives you a beautiful city views. Also lake views if you are 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went to the opening of the restaurant in this hotel 20 years ago and had fond memories as the opening was hosted by Sheila Scotta. However, I have just stayed at this hotel and was most annoyed by the service and the staff.
1/ I contacted House keeping for a double adapter and the staff member did not know what this was or if they had one. Finally I got a power board.
2/ The room smelt of some kind of air freshener, not sure what but it permeated my clothes.
3/ I ordered a burger and said it needed to be within 15-20 minutes and it must have taken 45 to 1 hour. I went to bed. They did not call me to advise the food was there (obviously they knew they were late) and it was sitting outside the door in the morning. When I looked outside the door again it was gone so they were late, didn’t advise me the food was there by trying to call ( as other hotels do) and removed the food from in front of the door without any further discsussion . When I went to check out and raised this with them they insisted that I pay for it. They charged my credit card without my consent regardless of me advising them of their legal obligations not to do so as they had neither delivered in the agreed time frame and had failed to advise on delivery. Their legal obligations are not to charge a card for services not delivered or agreed yet the Duty Manager who was very disagreeable arrogantly advised he would charge the card regardless.
Unfortunately the hotel now is about the lowest on my list in all of Australia and could not recommend it at all. What happened completely contravenes both their legal obligations as well as commitment to customer service.

Room Tip: choose one with a view of Melbourne as its a great city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi GlobalTraveller742

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

You have made a number of comments, which we have investigated thoroughly and accept some comments as being subjective which of course we act upon if a trend or pattern of comment is received.

I apologise that we could not provide you with a double adaptor immediately which I can honestly advise has not been requested since our recent room refurbishment. The rooms have 16 power outlets with the most convenient being a double point located above the bedside table or next to the desk.

I believe a power board was delivered to your room.

The smell in your room is a deodoriser, which was used approximate 8 to 12 hours before your arrival. We have used this deodoriser for the last 2 years and although we have not received any negative comments in the past, I have taken log of yours for future review.

Our computer records show that your hamburger was ordered at 2am and delivered at 2.25am. After several attempts to awake you by knocking on the door and having the manager on duty call your room, it appears we were unable to awake you or you may have left the room ? The meal was left for you outside your room.

The duty manager at check out was advised by the night manager of the communication with you and confirmed that your room service meal was delivered. The duty manager who spoke to you has been a member of the hotel team for a number of years and received numerous compliments regrading his friendly service. Your comments are certainly out of character and may have been influenced due to the manager’s decision not to refund your room service charge.

We believe that the room service charge to your credit card complies with your registration at the hotel, which clearly states that you will accept all charges that you incur.

I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had a 5 day stay in this hotel. Its cozy but clean. The staff are very accommodating. Its far from the center of the city but its near the train station thus going there did not give us a bit of a problem. There's a nearby convenient store, hospital and a park. All in all we had a relaxing stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

on arrival we asked for a room with twin beds. the request was acted upon although we had
to wait until about 2 p.m. the room we had was one of the best for space and movability.
the bathroom and shower were excellent. the small room between the bedroom and the
shower , was terrific. it had the fridge, coffee making equipment, the safe, the closet and
space for luggage. the staff was very friendly and helpful. only one thing to find fault
with was the buffet breakfast for $29.00 . the scrambled eggs were cold, bread stale,
and not much else. there was no service from staff as to clearing plates and so on.

Room Tip: choose one not to close to st kilda road because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A lovely hotel with friendly staff but not ideal for a short stay in Melbourne as it is a bit further out of the CBD. Even though it is a short tram ride to the city what you make up in price you spend on taxis (ie going out at night or if you are in hurry) The hotel is not on the list of hotels on the skyline shuttle run but the best way to get there (apart from an expensive taxi ride) is to catch the FAPAS shuttle from Tullamarine airport which takes you right to the hotel in about 30mins at a cost of $19. The beds were super comfy, and the showers excellent but our room had a view of a concrete wall and was fairly noisy as it was close to the elevator and we had a lot of noise from the hallway. It was a good location to explore Chapel Street though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park or St Kilda Rd and not too close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.