We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Paramount Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

2.55am. Shattered but unable to sleep due to the loud music and people below hotel room, must be a club or something the music is so loud and the people are yelling and banging about. Light in my bedroom flickering all the time (lamp in daughters bedroom doesn't even work!!). TV didn't work. Security man and technician finally fixed it, Telephone doesn't work. Got to room after negotiating multiple lifts and corridors only to find door to balcony doesn't open. Rang reception to ask how to open door only to be told we would have to go back to reception to get the key and sign a form. Why did they not mention that on arrival. NOT HAPPY AT ALL

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and don't expect to get out of the building in a hurry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    51
    32
    25
See reviews for
62
23
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I agree with the previous comments that are negative - a long way to your room, particularly with kids. Lots of space but dated and old, the carpet was new which was nice. Pool slimy to swim in but ok for just a casual swim. A long long way up and down all the time, two sets of lifts and walking distance. Probably wouldn't stay again. Balcony and windows extremely unsafe with children. No sound proofing on windows therefore you hear ALL the street noise, not great with a baby. My three year old wanted to open windows and stick her arms out, very unsafe, she could have easily fallen. I worried constantly if we left her unattended she may open the windows or the balcony door and fall over the edge. Air con not up to scratch and very noisy. Served the purpose of lots of room. There was no in room delivery menu I have no idea why.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Check in okay but have to slep way up one lift hike thru various corridors and finally find second set of lifts.. then up and finally door.... outlook horrid but may not be same ofr ll. noise from other bldg aircon but even better laneway smells and noises.. aka dumpsters from various establishments. Passing ppl in corridors seems popular for buck and hens nights.. very tacky. We specifically wanted two bedrooms with two singles in second bedroom as taking niece and nephew for a weekend in the city... but I think we ALL would have been better off at say... Quest Royal Gardens or anywhere with two doubles... Small aircon in living area only, large kitchen but no pots or pans (thankfully we did not intend to cook), Worst of all... wall mounted toiletries in bathroom. That is too cheap and tacky. Will not be back and will not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in room 1003. There is a walk from the lobby lift to the lift that services the apartments - but you can cope with that. All level and easy to manouvre through. There are full time residents as well as holiday makers staying here.

The pool, gym, sana and spa got a work out and they are all good to go - excellent. (Although someone before us may have had bubble bath in the spa as the tiles felt soapy on the pool deck and the pool water bubbled when swum in).

Yes the room was old - it is genuine 1990s decor etc. The room was comfortable, smoke free and useable. The beds were all clean, the bathrooms were clean. Not 5 star clean nor were they sterile... but they were clean (ie no poo in the toilets, no hairs in the shower, floors mopped and mirros and surfaces cleaned). There was soap in the dispensers, the laundry facilities worked.

One draw back was the hot water did not support 5 adult men to have showers in quick suyccession - but that is pretty normal on a standard HWS.

The window in the master bedroom did not close properly, but it did close enough to keep the wind out and the temperature stable.

The dishwasher worked, as did the TV and the foxtel. All crockery and glassware was clean - but as usual we did rinse them before use.

Value for money - at $70/ night it is pretty good. (Considering where we normally stay at the Hotel Enterpirze works out to be $110/nt).

We will be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment for three nights last week. It was lucky that the weather was cool enough as we had not known that the air conditioner unit was only in the living room not in the bedroom. The location was great, very easy to find variety of food stalls, restaurant and shops. it was also very easy to move around with either trams or buses. The suite was very spacious but not cleaned properly. The outside part of the glass window was full of stain looked like never being cleaned for long time. Kitchen and laundry were functioning well. The staffs were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this room on the same day, last minute and for a reasonable cost. We needed accommodation for two adults (sister's-in-law so we can share the master bed) and two children who we wanted in a separate room - so we booked a two bedroom with balcony. It was a good size apartment with small dining & lounge area and a kitchen, two bedrooms and a bathroom with laundry facilities. It was not the cleanest, brightest or newest room I've been in, but with two small and very busy children, that is FINE! In fact I think there may have been a bit of pink glitter added to the carpet by the time we left.

POSITIVE: Location was great - Bourke Street & China town and St Kilda tram right out the front. Good sized apartments and clean enough. Pretty good view. Basic facilities, but everything we needed. Pool was empty and really clean, so the kids had fun - the spa kept the adults happy. It seemed quiet and it was a mid-week stay so no interference from other guests and check in & out took no time at all.

NEGATIVE: Older style, dated furniture & decor, heavy doors which are tricky to open one armed! Balcony wall seemed low and there was no way of locking the balcony door so we had to go back to reception to ask for a key. They happily gave us the balcony door key which gave piece of mind with little kids. Long journey to get to room - reception to first lift, through a doorway, down a path to second lifts, then to our floor!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went over to Melbourne with two girlfriends for the F1 weekend and St Paddy's Day; we booked the 2 bedroom suite.
Firstly I was pleased by the look of the lobby - marble everywhere and very clean.
When we got to the room - the door was very clumsy to open, the carpet was slightly stained and we had to open the balcony door to get some fresh air in.
So the cleaning/presentation wasn't perfect.... but for the $$ we paid, we didn't really expect the Ritz!
There was a nice lounge suite in the main area and Foxtel on TV - the balcony looked over an alleyway but also over Chinatown and a nice view of the skyline/buildings. The bredrooms were functional - they had everything we needed = a bed!!
The water pressure in the shower was really great! My only issue with the Bathroom was that there was no fan and the mirror steamed up a fair bit.
We didn't really use the iron/washing machine or the kitchen much.... although the fridge practically froze everything! haha
The location was great for us though! Across the road from the Rydges... that's pretty much all you need to say to a taxi driver and they know exactly where to go!!
Also - very close proximity to Pie Face... its a jaffle pie fast food that is simply AMAZING at 3am!
The service was very minimal.... I don't think they did anything bar throw a pile of clean towels on the table next to the door, take the rubbish and leave....

All in all the hotel was 'fit for purpose' - If I head back to Melbs I might just treat myself a lil bit with different accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Serviced Apartments

Address: 181 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paramount Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Serviced Apartments
Melbourne Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.