We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and good location but some negatives too.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Paramount Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mildura, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spacious and good location but some negatives too.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed with 3 girlfriends in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. We were impressed with the spacious living area that had 2 comfy couches as well as a 4 seater dining table. It was great to get home from a big day of shopping to be able to relax in comfort with enough space for us all. The kitchen is OK but under-equipped. We didn't really cook anything apart from breakfast but there were only 2 large plates so we had to make do with side plates.

The location is good, right next to Chinatown and an easy tramride to other parts of the city. The beds were comfy and bathroom was large and quite adequate for what we needed. It was clean on the surface but on closer inspection it really does need a good thorough scrub in the corners and on the grout etc.

Onto our big negative - when I was cooking breakfast on our first morning I opened the oven to keep something warm and it had a tray of cooked chicken wings inside! How long they had been there I don't know but this shows that the cleaners do not do anything above a quick wipe over. It was disgusting. I then went to put something into the dishwasher and it was full of water on the bottom and it was stagnant so stank terribly. It had obviously been there a long time. We went to reception and told them and they said they would get someone onto it straight away but they didn't even bat an eyelid - obviously this sort of stuff isn't unusual.

Overall, the location is very good, the size of the apartment is a big plus but the kitchen stuff is really inexcusable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    47
    29
    21
See reviews for
58
23
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the Paramount Serviced Apartments on a Wed and Thurs night and I couldn't fault the place. The one bedroom apartment was a good size with good facilities. The decor was good, tidy and modern and the apartment was clean.

The Apartments are on Exhibition Street in the theatre district so close to lots of restaurants and dining and to all the CBD attractions. The free tourist shuttle bus stop is a minute walk down the street and the tram and train station is only a block away.

The apartment was the same price as a mid range hotel in the city and for the extra space I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Close to Chinatown, theatres, Parliament House and a tram stop. I stayed with a group women on a 'Girls week away' in 2 apartments on the 6th floor facing Exhibition Street. It was extremely noisy especially on Friday and Saturday nights. The kitchen barely had the basics and we were glad we weren't trying to cook a meal. The bathroom was very tired and had a high bath tub to climb over to use the small shower. The carpet was also tired and smelly. The new pool looked great but was often very crowded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the only draw back with this hotel is the amount of noise we could hear through the closed windows on the 7th floor on Friday and Saturday nights from the night clubs in the below alley and surrounds.

Apart from this there was no problem at all, cheap parking close to most things, bottle shop next door, lots of dining options within a 100 m radius from take away to fine dining, close to several theatres. bring ear plugs if you want to get any sleep on the weekend or try to obtain a room on the exhibition street side of the building (not sure if this would help but worth a try)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor on the Exhibition St side of the building to avoid the weekend night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I and my family stayed here for four nights in a two bedroom apartment which had quite an odd design with a lot of wasted space resulting in the bedrooms and 2 bathrooms all being stuck in the one corner. A more thoughtful design could have prevented the main bedroom sharing a wall with the adjacent apartment and the other bedroom. Also the window's are incredibly poorly insulated so there is lot of street noise and draughts coming in from outside. We also had the misfortune of some young people having a party above us, it started around 2 and went on until around 6. In fairness, friends of ours staying there at the same time did not share our misery so obviously there is an element of luck involved. Another annoying niggle was the poor quality and extent of kitchen/crockery items with only two very small saucepans, no suitable knife for cutting vegetables and no bottle opener. This place aint four star.

p.s. I forgot to mention the noise from the night clubs below us which went on till about 3am!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, its a big building there has to be some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for the second time, and this trip I just had to share it with the world (although hopefully they don't get too popular and hike the prices).

The booking rate was great - about $110 except for 1 day at $180 (sports game on in town) for a 7 day booking. Compare this to places my colleagues were staying at for far more, and they got a tiny room.

The rooms are huge, with separate bedroom and kitchenette (I'd say it was 3-4 times the size of my normal hotel rooms). TV with HDMI, plenty of unlocked channels with movies, etc.

See the panoramas:
- Lounge/Kitchen
http://360.io/7k2cpK
http://360.io/VxUFEV
- Bedroom: http://360.io/z7YY5A
- Bathroom: http://360.io/SuSgfR

Wifi is available, but pricing isn't great -- $20 a day for only 200MB. I used a 3G wifi hotspot instead.

Only issue I had this trip was the window in the bedroom wasn't sealing right, and was a bit noisy. They immediately checked it out and offered to move me, but I opted to stay put. My room the previous trip didn't have the problem (and even had an upstairs balcony).

I'll be back again next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've just spent two nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment at the Paramount Apartments.
Our room is on the 13th floor with quite a good outlook over Bourke Street towards Parliament house & the gardens etc. We were there to attend a seminar elsewhere in the city & to show our German visitors a little of the city. This served us well for those purposes.
The apartment was spacious, clean and tidy although a little maintenance of things like the sliding door to the balcony etc would be an improvement. Beds were all comfortable and bathrooms clean etc.
Overall we would recommend this place if this part of the city is where you want to be.
Staff were friendly & courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Serviced Apartments

Address: 181 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Serviced Apartments
Melbourne Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.