We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE: CONSTRUCTION SITE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The Greatest Australian!
Ranked #36 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE: CONSTRUCTION SITE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Normally a great hotel in the heart of Melbourne, however the mall under the hotel is currently being renovated. This means you go to bed in peace and awake in a construction site ....somewhere between 7 & 8 am. At this time the walls shake as does your bed but not in a good way. This is because For some reason the delightful Aussie Tradies below will ensure a jack hammer is the first weapon of choice in delivering you your own personal hell each morning

Summary - the hotel should be closed for the duration of the construction. Either that or the room rate should be free.

You will not sleep and believe me - you'll feel ripped off.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    1,489
    378
    84
    50
See reviews for
884
1,311
263
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, in the middle of everything! Breakfast is a good spread with fantastic coffee. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. After we checked out, we could leave our bags with the baggage room at no charge. Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and time to provide feedback. So pleased that we had been able to ensure you had a wonderful stay. Be safe wherever you are in the world.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

With the Australian open in full swing occupancy across Melbourne was high so we lucked onto the Novotel after our regular hotel was fully booked.

Whilst there was some very heavy demolition works in the retail space next door which caused some noise and disruption, this was pretty minor and certainly didn't occur during sleeping hours. However we found the restaurant bar almost unusable during the works due to noise.

Rooms well appointed, bed was fine, everything was very clean and staff to a person were polite welcoming and courteous.

I would recommend staying here once the works are completed in late 2015.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for remembering us from the Australian Open. There has been a lot of progress with the transformation from the former AOC complex to the soon to be St. Collins Lane Shopping complex. The project from what we see is half way and soon we will be able to see what it will look like. Perhaps when you travel to Melbourne next year to the Tennis you can come by and have a look to see how things have changed at our central loction.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice room, in a hotel with a very convenient location. The evening meal we had in the hotel bar was somewhat limited, but breakfast in the restaurant was good. The staff were very helpful giving us directions & advice.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found our central location convenient and my team helpful. Both add up to a great time exploring Melbourne. Be safe while travelling.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thank you Novotel on Collins for making our stay so good. I loved how all the staff were Australian, friendly and very welcoming. There was nothing to much trouble to make our stay good. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I found it easy to get to from the airport and well located.

Room Tip: Rooms up high have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and sharing this on TripAdvisor. My team is friendly and believes in offering genuine hospitality and yes nothing is any trouble for them. I will share your appreciative comment with all and thank you for recognising how hard they work. We hope to see you again so we can give you a warm welcome back.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.