We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights on Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Two nights on Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location to explore the city streets and lanes to find a cafe fror brekky.
Rooms are spacious and comfy for one with excellent large work area.
Price was a bit exxy as over $200 per night but I guess its what you pay for city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for having stayed with us and your positive review. It is wonderful to read that our central location suited your needs so well.
Hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,471
    369
    82
    49
See reviews for
877
1,292
261
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently stayed here with my friend for a girls weekend and we both would not hesitate to stay here again.The novotel is perfectly located in the shopping district and within reach of trams etc.The rooms(we had two double beds) were clean ,the beds comfortable and supplied with all you need.The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast(that was included in our rate) was excellent...fresh and plenty to choose from.I would definately recommend the Novotel and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation And your positive review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the services we offer and that you are planning a return visit. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed hear about 6 months ago The bed was comfortable but the bathroom needs updating. Great location in the middle of Melbourne. Close to lots of shops & restaurants friendly helpful staff my room over looked collins street but was quite loud. Liked the pillow menu

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here in July 2011 (A fair while ago now) for one night. I had previously been staying at another Melbourne Hotel but due to a flight schedule mixup booked a night at the Novotel on Collins.

It's by no means a bad hotel, but I did expect a little more. From what I remember the staff were helpful but I found the decor of the room to be old and the bed uncomfortable. The bathroom looked old too and there was grime in certain spots.

The location is amazing and the hotel is close to everything which was a big big plus

Again, not a bad hotel, but not the best. I'd give it probably a 2.5/5

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Lots has changed in the Hotel since your last visit in 2011. The Hotel’s Rooms refurbishment as well as the upgrade of our Public area’s are all complete. I hope you will visit again and like what we have done.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is well located within the main shopping precinct and also close to a wide range of restaurants. If you are in Melbourne for the theatres then most are within easy walking distance. This hotel provided a good location for a weekend break with no need to have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am a frequent stayer at the Novotel on Collins St and think it is an excellent hotel, in both facilities and location. This stay, I stayed in a Premier room on the 11th floor. The room is exceptionally large and contained top quality utilities and fittings. The bed is a king size and bathroom is very well laid out. The buffet breakfast would have to be one of the best in Melbourne. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk from shopping, transport, Federation Square and many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads Nsw
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food was excellent as were the dining room staff and also reception staff, however we has major issues with the housekeeping of the rooms, necessitating frequent phone calls to rectify ommissons which became tedious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent patronage. Please allow me to apologise as we did not provide you with a trouble free stay. It is the small things that are equally important as the big ones. I will follow up your comment with my team and I ensure that more attention will be given.
I appreciate your review and your comment.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.