We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Moe, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WEEKEND STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at Novotel on Collins because it is very central.
Check-in was a breeze and the front office staff very helpful and friendly.
First timers might find, with Reception several floors up, that check-in is a bit confusing as you have to take one lift to get to Reception and another to your room.
Public transport (trams) go past the front door and some of the best shops are either next door or in Bourke Street, one block away.
I went to the football at the MCG which is my reason for the stay.
The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable.
Only complaint, lifts very noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,130
    1,214
    276
    70
    37
See reviews for
747
1070
227
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The service we received at the Novotel was second to none. The staff were polite and helpful and very professional in the way they went about their work.
The rooms were clean, well presented and comfortable. The location of the hotel was fantastic for shopping and seeing popular attractions in the city and suburbs of Melbourne.
As an added bonus the staff were very helpful in arranging tours from the hotel or providing information on up to date attractions in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is better than some 5 Star Hotels I've stayed at. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. The room was spacious and well decorated. Buffet breakfast was included with the rate and was delicious - plenty of everything imaginable! Location is excellent - 2 short walkways to Bourke St Mall where shopping is great, taxi to the Zoo was only $18 ($55 taxi ride from the airport), walking distance to the Aquarium and Flinders Street Station. Room service was soooo delicious and the meals were huge. Very impressed and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a great hotel. We booked 2 nights when Accor had a sale on so prices were cheap. This hotel is in a brilliant location, minutes from everything. Rooms were clean and huge. Staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for a long weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We booked a superior queen room and it was huge !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great place to stay!! Easy access and central to everything.
Staff very helpful and our room very comfortable, quiet so one could sleep easy.
Restaurant and bar on site which is always a plus after a long journey.
Would certainly stay here again












  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arrived early for our check in, and on the off chance our room was available we asked if we could check in and to our surprise were advised we could. Great start. Room was clean and tidy. During our three night stay we encountered nothing but friendly helpful staff. The hotel is in a great location to the CBD area and in particluar "The Block". Trams outside as well as taxis. Fab place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Spend that little bit extra and have an even better stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very central, on one of the main streets of Melbourne, our room overlooked a very elegant gallery, which was a pretty cool view. The room was not very big but hi-tech, clean and very comfortable. We went on lots of day-trips so we didn't take advantages of the services offered but had a very good stay and we recommended to anyone who wants to have a noce and relaxing stay in melbourne. Swimming pool open til late!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Delighted to read that you had such a lovely holiday. Stay safe and continued safe travel.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Novotel Melbourne
Melbourne Novotel
Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 star property is situated above the Australia on Collins shopping complex and is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. With six dedicated conference and event spaces, stylish restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa (currently under mainenance due to a water leak) and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.