We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel located in centre of Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel located in centre of Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the Easter period, our second visit. The concierge, reception, bar and restaurant staff are friendly and welcoming. I had reserved one of the king premier rooms months ago, $588 for 2 nights, then Accor had a 40% off sale and the price went down to $350 or so - which i think was about right. The premier rooms (we were on 13th floor) didn't seem to be much better than a standard room, I wouldn't pay extra for this type of room. We overlooked the atrium so didn't have a view. We had a small problem with the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air conditioning but of course this isn't the fault of the hotel. The hotel is well maintained, its location is perfect for exploring the laneways and arcades, and is close to restaurants and the Bourke St mall/shops. All in all, a good hotel in a great central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    1,531
    388
    89
    55
See reviews for
913
1,332
266
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Novotal Melbourne has perhaps the best hotel location in the city. You can walk out of the hotel into Collins Street and then turn almost immediately either left or right into Colline Strret, one of smaller alley ways or larger food halls to find coffee or 'eats'. The frustration can be so do many other tourists and locals and finding a seat can be time consuming in this area. And so I recommend head to the Bourke Street Mall, turn left and walk up the hill to Hardware Lane. Avoid eating at Max's. The other smaller places are much better, especially Vons (good service and food)
A stated, Bourke Street Mall is a short distance away (a parallel street) where there are major shopping outlets, food outlets and where the major tram routes meet. If you want to take a tram to the Victoria Markets instead of walking, and I recommend walking as there is so much to see and explore, turn right out of the hotel to the next intersection, Elizabeth Street and any tram heading away from the train line will take you to the markets. Spencer Street station and Federation Square are also a few minutes walk from this hotel.
The Novotel itself had great amenities eg indoor pool and the staff are outstanding; really helpful and friendly. But there are three frustrations:
1. the beds can be uncomfortable. The king beds are actually two smaller ones and therefore they have a large ridge in the middle.
2.the breakfast is really expensive. I believe its good but way overpriced.
3. the price for in room Wifi is outrageous at $27/day. Instead for a cheaper option, when leaving the hotel turn right on to Collins Street, walk two or three minutes to the Dickens Bar (down stairs) have a drink and use their free wifi. Good atmosphere. WHEN WILL THE LARGE HOTELS STOP PRICE GOUGING FOR INTERNET USEAGE???
Having stated all the negatives, this hotel is still a great location, the rooms are clean and relatively spacious and modern. I'll probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a genuine king bed and not two doubles strung together. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently were lucky enough to stay in this hotel,we loved it,great location,great room & fantastic service by all staff we encountered & the breakfast was amazing,well done to this Hotel.Will definitely stay here again !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Recently I have been staying at the Novotel in Canberra and so on a recent business trip to Melbourne I was looking for a hotel close to the financial district and noticed that the Novotel on Collins was ranked 20 on Tripadvisor so booked in have been twice in March.

This is a well mainained property right in the heart of downtown Melbourne. The staff are friendly and the rooms appear to have been madeover in recent times - it looks modern and comfortable.

Its priced well and thats a bonus. They have a bar which attracts the afterwork colleague or friend and I used that to meet business asssociates. They have a restaurant but for breakfast there are so many options just outside the door that its good to exploe a bit.

Novotel are providing a good solid product and I will use it again for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was a pleasant stay even for a night, my family really enjoyed it and we agreed to stay again in at Novotel in Collins street next time we travel in melbourne.
We greeted with smile upon arrival at the entrance where we checked in our car, as well as Eva at the reception she was very courteous and welcoming. We spent some time at the bar and had dinner as well people at F&B are friendly and accomodating , sorry I wasnt able to get their names but my special thanks to them we had a great dinner food was lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Location wise very convinient to everything we will surely recommend your hotel to friends.

Vilma
Le Club Accor Member

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had booked two rooms - a king premier for ourselves and a standard queen for our teenage daughter for 5 nights. We found the king premier room to be smaller and darker and by overlooking the atrium we had no idea what the weather was like outside - which can change hourly in Melbourne - so we couldnt judge how to dress to head out. We also had a lot of trouble controlling the air conditioner. And the walk from the elevator to these rooms is a real trek! While the king room provided Nespresso Coffee machine (which neither of us used) a free bottle of water and Internet as the main benefits we actually asked to change to a standard queen after 3 nights - which the staff arranged without any fuss. This room is larger and the decor and set out more modern and we had a large window overlooking the street below which we much preferred. The rooms were quiet and the beds and pillows comfortable. We are not big fans of buffet breakfasts but thought we would try it out the first morning but were disappointed and didn't return. There is a good choice and variety but all the cooked food was only warm or cold - the eggs especially - and there was no egg station to have fresh hot eggs prepared. We enjoyed more heading out into the streets and finding a cafe each morning for a hot fresh breakfast for half the cost and because of the hotels great location this was very easy to do. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I would stay again but would not pay the extra for the King Premier rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent two nights at Novotel on Collins and we were incredibly happy. The room was clean and spacious. We had a view of Collins Street, which was nice. Great large bed too. Location wise the hotel is ideal! The staff were very friendly and helpful, booking us transfer to the airport without a fuss and also helping us figure out the trams. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent visit. The best compliment is that you will return. We shall look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.2 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
0.6 mi away
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.