We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good hotel which is close to most things and is walking distance to the city's major attractions. This is a very good operation with nice rooms, Restaurant etc but the best thing about it is definitely the location for me. WiFi very over priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,192
    1,299
    300
    72
    38
See reviews for
783
1135
240
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. I’ve stayed at a few Novotel hotel’s now and in my opinion they are really making a name for themselves. Out of all the Novotel’s I have stayed at, this was the best. I found the room had everything I needed, was comfortable and stylish. The only thing that I didn’t like was I had a room that faced into the shopping centre. I hated the fact I couldn’t look out the window each morning to see if the sun was shining or it was raining. Next time I will ask for a room that faces the outside world.
All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to say hello to you. One housekeeper was inside another room cleaning, saw me walk past but still said good morning.
Probably the most disappointing thing about my stay was breakfast. I thought it was very ordinary, coffee was shocking, had to wait for food stations to be refilled and the taste and flavour of the items had were not really that great.
Next time I’m in Melbourne, I am coming back here for sure but just eat breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very happy, thank you very much, my husband loved the bed - the size was amazing, I loved the curtains, they were awesome. Staff were very friendly and helpfull when required. Very clean room.
Thanks :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you firstly for your compliment. This is the encouragement my team needs as they continue to give great customer service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated by all of us.
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights during the F1 GP weekend. Our room overlooked Collins St and was well laid out. The wet room/shower was good and the room had a good I-Pod clock radio plus a comfy relaxer chair. Both nights we slept well in the comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with plenty of choices. The hotel is well situated for shops, restaurants and the laneways. It was our 2nd visit and we'd happily stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit again and for your feedback. Our location is central as you know by now and we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities. We certainly look forward to seeing you soon for another special event that will bring you to Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Enjoyed the stay but for a few things. Charging $27 per day for wifi is a croc and I refused to use it. Even in cheaper hotels it is free. And as for having it hijack your wifi search function, this is totally and utterly arrogant, if not illegal.
The television system takes 3 goes to get going, it turns itself off before the menu boots.
I decided to stay another night and guess what, the staff charged an extra 25% then tried to revise all my agreed rates upward as well. They left the other rates alone when I mentioned consumer rights. So much for loyalty!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Greeted by very attentive concierge, excellent service. Checked through reception with friendly efficient service. Roomwas very spacious - perhaps on and a half times normal hotel room size - king bed, excellent large desktop for laptop and papers. Very clean, modern and functional. My wife and I had a drink in the hotel bar - a very pleasant space, leather-clad chairs, open area with views and unobtrusive TVs at extremities.
This hotel is in a great position in Melbourne CBD - walking distance to the trendy high end restaurants and very close to hide-away eateries in laneways. The hotel is also within the fashion district - great for window shopping or a splurge.
All in all this was very convenient, excellent service and a very nice large, clean well-serviced room in a great location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location right in the heart of Melbourne's action. Good clean room with top class amenities.

Only gripe was whilst having dinner at Michels, had a 45 minute wait between Mains and Dessert hoping to be waited upon. Had to get up and draw the attention of the Maitre 'd, who did apologize profusely. For obvious reasons, did not have any further meals at the Novotel.

Still came out tops as far as comfort and getting a good nights sleep was concerned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 star property is situated above the Australia on Collins shopping complex and is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. With six dedicated conference and event spaces, stylish restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa (currently under mainenance due to a water leak) and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.