We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #32 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have stayed a couple of times and recently chose this hotel for a quick business trip. The location is awesome, right in the middle of Collins Street with plenty of cafe's, shops and public transport close by. The room is good, spacious enough for a couple for a short stay but I would think you would need a bigger room for a longer stay as the lovely sunbed/couch wouldn't be overly comfortable for 2. The bathroom is nice and modern, great walk in shower. My only 2 gripes with this hotel is the air conditioning is noisy, makes a few really loud banging sounds at times and the bathroom mirror is shocking, too far away to really see what you are doing and too bright which makes you look really pale so no good when applying make up as you would end up putting way too much on. All in all a good hotel and I would certainly stay again on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    1,395
    326
    77
    40
See reviews for
836
1,222
250
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just enjoyed four nights. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Casino, Chinatown and the main shopping areas of the city. We had a very comfortable room overlooking Collins Street with a queen sized bed, ample seating areas and a decent sized bathroom. The towels were actually very large and fluffy every day. We were most impressed with the valet parking staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them, always with a smile and eager to offer places for us to visit, dine, enjoy. There was very minimal traffic noise. Although the buffet breakfast was busy there was plenty from which to choose and the staff handled this with ease. The reception staff were most friendly and polite.
We will be happy to return on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We always choose the Novotel on Collins when staying in Melbourne CBD. The location, the heart of beautiful "Paris like", Collins Street becomes the backdrop of a hotel which only delivers superb service with a smile. My girls especially love the special Novotel gift on arrival! Over the years we have stayed at many hotels in Melbourne and now we have only one choice. The Novotel on Collins is the BEST!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very clean modern hotel right in the heart of Melbourne city centre.
smooth check-in the reception staff gave my two daughters a cuddly toy each and children eat free at breakfast with paying adult!
Not enough lighting in bedroom
Free computers in lobby area if needed
Pool small.
Good variety of food on offer at breakfast!
Excellent location

Room Tip: We stayed floor 7 overlooking shopping centre-maybe if you were road side may provide more light in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have just spent four nights with the kids in a family suite. The room set up is perfect for families as the kids have their own separate room with tv. We all loved the buffet breakfast, the kids especially liked making their own juices with the juicer and the pancake machine. Location is perfect, we walked everywhere. Staff very helpful, valet parking worked a treat, every time we requested our car it was ready and waiting. Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.