We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location! Just an easy walk from flinders station. Close to everything... Just a step from block arcade. Friendly staff, spacious room, large and comfortable bed with reasonable price. I stayed here for 4 nights, and had a bad experience... The first 2 days, the housekeeping didn't clean up my room although I had hang 'please clean up' sign, until I called the room serviced then they came shortly after. Will stay here again though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    1,530
    386
    89
    55
See reviews for
912
1,332
266
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Today I returned from a fantastic weekend away in Melbourne ..I stayed at the Novotel Melbourne on Collins and found the Hotel FANTASTIC.....the location was great, step outside into awesome shopping, exciting laneways of great eating places and quaint little shops, felt like I was back in parts of England at times.

The room was spotless and huge for a typical hotel room. Looked like they had just been refurbished. The shower head was amazing!! Bed was comfortable and made daily :) Huge tv. I was really impressed by the space, presentation and locaton of this hotel and will surlely be back soon. I travelled without my family this time and can't wait to get them to Melbourne, stay at the Novotel again to experience everything I did.

The staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough. They were ALL friendly and went out of their way to assist. Congratulations on a wonderful bunch of staff :)

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Surely a place to stay when you go to Melbourne next.

Room Tip: a room at the very end of a hallway, then if anyone comes home late or gets up to early you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

excellent staff at collins st novotel melbourne will definately stay here again!!
great atmosphere staff looked after you and very friendly from room service to housekeeping to main staff at front desk

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and love the service...particularly Franzi the guest relations manager...a real gem...and all the staff are good. The location is the best in Melbourne and if not for a party in the adjacent room (my only bad experience of this kind...and was quickly addressed by the staff) I would say it is a quiet room. The bathroom has been renovated...about time...and is quite adequate. The basic rooms are not spacious but comfortable...the larger rooms are very comfortable. In the room where we stayed there were no bedside lights...and my wife who likes to read will not return for this reason alone. There are plenty of power points. Accor maintain their penny pinching policy of loading the tariff with a credit card fee...and I understand still charge for wifi. Valet parking was $35 per day which is okay. I like the staff, the location, the very comfortable bed and the very extensive breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our first stay with the Novotel, a period of 6 nights, and overall was excellent. Our one disappointment was the late servicing of our room - some days as late as 4pm. After a long day shopping we feel we should be able to return to a serviced room by 3pm. The check-in check-out times of 10 am and 3pm(5 hours) should provide the cleaning staff with ample time to complete cleaning by 3pm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked into this hotel on a "free" Advantage Plus night (you still pay something - circa $40) - liked the location and the Hotel was very busy - basic rooms but functional and well kept - servcie was good, espcially the concierge people. Nice that it is so central as it was raining that day and could also eat out easily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.2 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
0.6 mi away
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.