We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #33 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were a little apprehensive about booking this hotel as it was our first time in Melbourne. I'm pleased to say we made the perfect choice at a very reasonable rate.

You can't beat the location of Novotel on Collins; all the shops and restaurants are within very easy walking distance, as are the trams. If you love to shop, this is definitely the hotel to stay at because you can easily drop your shopping bags halfway through the day and continue shopping. It was also an easy morning walk to the Queen Victoria Market.

We upgraded to a premier room, which was really spacious, quiet, clean and tastefully decorated. It was worth the extra money.

I was impressed with how friendly and professional the staff were too. We arrived a few hours before check-in but our bags were held for us and delivered to our room later in the day. Also, I like the way everyone said hello to us when we walked past - it didn't go unnoticed.

The only thing we recommend needs some improvement is the breakfast at Michel's Restaurant. We ate there once and selected the pancakes and poached eggs from the menu. My eggs were completely hard, the bacon was chewy and both of our meals were cold. I accept we went at a busy time and the hotel was completely booked out, but this is pretty basic stuff. My pet hate is hard rock poached eggs!!

That aside, we would recommend the Novotel on Collins to other travellers. We will be back in Melbourne in November next year and will definitely stay here again - with our extended family in tow!

Thanks so much for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Upgrade - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,394
    326
    77
    39
See reviews for
835
1,221
250
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights hadn't been back for a few years and was pleased to see the renovations they make a big difference. Only two complaints, as other people have stated the parking is a nightmare! I had to park illegally and run down to the valet to come with me to park the car, not ideal start to my stay. Check in was swift and easy, good clean well designed room, had room service one night which was great. Only other complaint was the echo from the pool area and the screams of children in the pool vibrating throughout my room I was on the 10th floor pool on the 6th if I had had a room closer by this would really bug me. Overall hotel is in a great location, offers most of what it promises and I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We found the Novotel on Collins to be perfect as a base for exploring both Melbourne's big stores and the wonderful shopping arcades. The hotel itself was very comfortable and the staff were friendly. The vallet parking worked very well and the car was always available at the requested time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runaway bay, gold coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I booked a King Room for last Friday night through Worif.com a couple of months ago. The room was described as newly renovated with a couch and ottoman and floor to ceiling glass. On checking in we were assigned Room 720 which turned out to be next to the pool and spa. It was a weirdly shaped, split level room with a lot of wasted floor space, NO couch or ottoman, and a tiny work desk with one wooden chair. The floor to ceiling glass was a window that only came down to chest height. We ordered room service for dinner and had to negotiate hard for a table to eat at and an extra chair. The chap who delivered the food was reluctant to leave the table and had to go in search of a chair, which when it arrived, was old and torn. The food, to be fair, was excellent. The thermostat in the room, only seemed to operate when the lights were switched on, resulting in the room becoming unbearably stuffy overnight. Breakfast was delivered on time but the hot food was cold and overcooked. On check-out, the assistant manager seemed amazed that there was no couch in the room, and when I suggested that she should wander up and take a look some time, seemed amazed that I expected her to know the rooms she was selling. She also miscalculated the bill on first attempt. The amount I thought I was paying turned out to be $50 less than I was charged when I checked my credit card statement a week later. Never again, Novotel, never again.

Room Tip: if it's not as advertised, complain STRAIGHT AWAY. That was my mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All of Melbourne CBD activities are within two blocks of this hotel, which was super convenient for a 4-day girls' getaway a few weeks ago, especially in heels and rainy weather! My friend and I shared a standard twin room on the 8th floor, which had two double beds and still ample room for luggage and an extra wide built-in desk for dessert nights in. We are not sure if this was one of the renovated rooms or not, but the bathroom is really well kept and clean. I was expecting a bit more toiletries in the bathroom for a 4.5 star hotel (just soap and shampoo, no moisturizer) but not a big deal as there are pharmacies very close by. We would definitely stay again if the price stays comparable to surrounding CBD hotels.

Room Tip: Atrium view room, away from lifts, definitely very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are lovely and comfortable. They are also very quiet and we did not hear any outside noise. It is a bit of a novelty to look out onto the shopping centre and it was entertaining. The staff were very helpful and prompt with service. Love this place. This is our second time back and would return. This hotel is central to the shops and easy to get around. Close to flinders station and a quick short walk to Swanston st. Had to ask for a top sheet as we don't like the European style and they were very accommodating. Love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you, I was extremely pleased to read that we ticked all the boxes again on your return visit. Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.