We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large lovely room downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Large lovely room downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stay at a lot of Accor Hotels and almost always have a great stay at reasonable prices.
For this Novotel being an inner-city hotel, the rooms were large and appeared recently refurbished. It was the last luxury room on the back side of the hotel which was a bit of a hike.
The location is right in the heart of everything downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    1,509
    383
    88
    53
See reviews for
895
1,328
265
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location with friendly and helpful staff. I will be back. Family room is well worth it. We walked to lots of attractions easily and the hotel is also close to public transport. We made use of pool and spa. Everything was clean and functional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and review. So glad you and the family enjoyed the Hotel, location and the pool.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We used to stay at the Novotel a lot when the children were younger because of the indoor pool - but haven't stayed there for quite a few years.
Booked to stay for a night as it was close to the shops and walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and am so glad I did. The location was perfect. Used the valet parking and the staff were very helpful and courteous in the process.
All staff were great from reception to housekeeping to staff in Michels Restaurant. Breakfast was very good. As soon as I sat down I was offered a cappuccino and they even had an automatic pancake maker - novel idea - but they were good.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are celebrating the Novotel's 20th birthday this month and as a previous guest you would have noticed some changes at the Hotel. Modern rooms but still the same great service from the team. I am so pleased you found us again and that you will return. Thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Needless to say that this hotel has the advantage of being one of the most central in Melbourne. Walking distance to just about anything. It's a solid four stars with extra friendly reception and concierge staff. Very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and a couple of room service snacks. Stayed in their newly refurbished "Premium Rooms" which I can recommend, if only to avoid rooms that may be dated. This is a good solid Novotel experience.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms are good. Newly refurbished and a tad funky in design. Interesting views of the shoppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything was goodas far as service. Hotel is stingy - only 2 teabags, and 2 tiny milk containers in room. I asked for more and housekeeping were good. Even brought me drinking chocolate. We were disappointed with Michels restaurant this time. Service was slow, menu choice not up to scratch. I had a steak but had to ask for steak knife. Also was not offered bread rolls. Coffee was not as good as I have had it before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We got a fabulous deal for this hotel through Flight Centre and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our newly refurbished room on the 14th floor was stylish and comfortable with a great bed and chaise lounge in tourquoise and slate colours which was very relaxing. We could not fault the location since we walked straight into the shopping centre Australia on Collins.Across the road was a fabulous laneway with great food. We were in close proximity to the Royal and Block Arcades. They had internet access for 20 minutes in the foyer which was sufficient to check emails and update Facebook if you so desired.The Concierge was very helpful and made arrangements for us with the Skybus pickup which was fabulous value - $28 each return from Tullamarine Airport to hotel door. Brilliant! We will stay there again on our next visit to Melbourne if we can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staff were very freindly and polite and the position of the hotel is excellent very close to all major attractions in Melbourne. The restaurant has excellent food for the price.
Vallet parking is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.