We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #33 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfectly located and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is located in he CBD about a 5 minute walk from Flinders st station and 10 minutes walk from Southen Cross Station. It can be quicker to walk than to wait around for a skybus shuttle if you don't have a lot of luggage.

The hotel itself is easy to find. Reception is not on street level but you can leave your luggage here when checkling in or for pick-up later. The foyer is modern with an open view of the shopping mall below. The rooms are spacious with good color schemes, neither tame or lame. The bed was excellent. The air conditioning responded quickly to changes ( I haven't seen this in any hotel before). The only issues - the television didn't work and while the staff member that came to look at it arrived promptly, I really didn't feel he wanted to. In the end he couldn't fix it.

Due to its location you'll be able to find almost anything you need close by. Coles supermarket is a 5 minute walk as are fast food restaurants. Trams run from almost in front of the hotel.

One last thing, the CBD goes very quiet at night ( not many people and very little open). I'd be more inclined to stay outside of the city if I was a night owl.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    1,394
    326
    77
    40
See reviews for
835
1,222
250
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I only stayed here the one night but plenty of little things went wrong - the TV was stuck on one channel, the room safe stopped working with personal belongings inside, and I stubbed my toe on poorly designed cupboard which contains the minibar.

However I am giving 3 stars due to the friendly staff who allowed me to check-in early & were fairly quick to address these issues. Also the central location is quite handy. The buffet breakfast is average at best. I would only consider returning if there was a super sale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great hotel in the centre of Melbourne, marvellous for shopping, theatres, transport etc. The rooms are in the process of being refurbished and were very pleasant, with one criticism, the lighting could be better. Otherwise, food was good, gym and pool facilities excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. Yes, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and post. Our room refurbishment is nearly finished but we are still doing some final touches.
I happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A very pleasant surprise, the staff are happy, helpful and engage in conversation at check in.
we chose a premier room which was good enough for a couple although the bathroom is quite small. Perfect proximity to Australia on Collins and all the fantastic shopping. Breakfast had plenty to choose from and it was nice to order a Latte without paying extra. Dinner in the restaurant was ok, nothing to rave about, luckily it was discounted with the Accor card, otherwise I would of been disappointed. Overall a great hotel, clean, modern and pricewise great.
Wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been to Melbourne before and stayed at the Langham hotel. I chose Novotel mainly because of the location and their prepaid rates were not that bad either. The Langham is a bit far from everywhere except to the casino. This Novotel is very central. It is adjacent to a shopping mall, right across from Tiffany, a bank right across the street, and then a few steps from expensive boutique shops like Chanel, Louis Vuitton, etc. If you go to Swanston (10 minute walk) you will find many inexpensive restaurants. It is pretty close to Chinatown to have dim sum (yum cha). Seems that the hotel is almost done with their refurbishment. 3 computer free to use for 20 minutes or else you can have in room internet for AUD$28 per 24 hour use. Parking is almost AUD$20 per day. That is extra AUD$50 per day which is a lot. Doesn't look like they replace the beds though (maybe not all of them) because we both felt like it sank already so I had to sleep in the middle. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room is on the dark side too. There are not that many lights in the room. One outstanding person is Jaime, the concierge. He was very helpful in booking our city tour prior to our arrival in the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't drive in downtown Melbourne. Not only there are many one way street and trams, there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your detailed post and compliment about the Concierge. I will share your praise with him.
Once the Hotel's refurbishment is complete we are able to offer a variety of different views again. Some guests find the internal Atrium Shopping centre views very peaceful but we also have street facing views which are filled with natural light. You can contact me by phone on
61 3 9667 5800 or via email on hayden.hughes@accor.com as I would love to follow up your comments.
Regards,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is in central Melbourne and the entrance should not put off visitors. Once up at reception the staff are very friendly and attentive to addressing all issues. The rooms are being upgraded, and therefore the value is excellent and well worth staying at.

Overall the hotel should be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.