We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed at the Novotel on Collins for business. Location is excellent, right in the centre of the city and also close to the convention centre. Service was excellent - staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. Room was clean and comfortable and very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    1,548
    393
    89
    55
See reviews for
919
1,347
268
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed using the "free night" as Accor members, and were treated as though we were staying in the "Bridal Suite"! Great location, and most importantly...excellent staff!
Cheers

Brian Anstey

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Spent the weekend in Novotel Melbourne after purchasing "Secret Holiday" voucher online. I asked for a twin room because I was taking my sister there for a weekend away as a birthday present. The staff were very helpful and nice. Our room was very basic and shabby. There were holes in the carpet and paint coming off on the door of the bathroom. The beds were comfortable that is one good thing. The fully cooked breakfast at $29/person is pretty average, the mushrooms were steamed and awful and why is it that we can't serve bacon crisp but slimy and undercooked? I wouldn't stay there again, it wasn't up to scratch in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you want to stay very central to Melbourne's CBD then it is okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your time and review.

We do like each person to have a good stay but I am very sorry that we fell short on this occasion. I would very much like to speak with you about your recent experience.
Please contact me directly to discuss your stay on ph: 03 9667 5800 or by
email H1587-GM@accor.com.
I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed for 1 night while on a business trip to Melbourne. The location is fantastic and so convenient with trams just on the doorstep, several bistros and cafes nearby and within short walking distance to Chinatown, main shopping strip, "paris-end" of Collins street and just across the road from the decadent Lindt Cafe!

The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful especially the concierge team. Jamie (asst mgr) and KD were particularly fantastic!

The room was of a decent size and the bathroom was fairly spacious. Definitely staying here again on next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.2 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.