We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Premier experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not a Premier experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I booked a Premier King room for my parents, noting that on the website description of the room it stated that internet was complimentary. Using the internet in the room required that you clicked through a payment gateway so during their stay I checked that internet fees would not be charged and was assured that this would not be the case. Upon checkout my parents verified this again.

Surprise surprise, when the invoice for the stay arrived I found I had been charged $46.95 in internet access fees. This is NOT the kind of thing I expect to have to stuff around with, certainly not after going to the trouble of verifying in advance and definitely not when the accommodation is meant to be of so-called "premier" class. Less than impressive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us to point out our error.

I can appreciate the frustration of needing to resolve the internet issue after departure and please accept my apologies for the subsequent inconvenience. I believe that this has now been corrected but it there is anything outstanding, please let me know at your earliest convenience. My direct email is hayden.hughes@accor.com and I'll be very pleased to refund any incorrect charges if not done so already. It is certainly true that our Premier King Rooms have internet included free of charge.

Thank you, again, for bring this issue to my attention.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    1,475
    373
    83
    50
See reviews for
879
1,296
261
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Thoroughtu enjoyed our stay, Great room, Problem with TV as fixed promptly, our only disappointment was Buffet Breakfast was cold by the time you got it to the table, other than that we will be back .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thanks very much for reviewing the hotel.

I'm pleased that you had a great stay and thank you for the tip on the breakfast - we'll have a closer look at the buffet.

It's great that you'll be back and we hope that it is soon.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldiers Point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay at Novotel Melbourne on Collins.

The staff were welcoming, helpful and extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. We were in the middle of Melbourne's best shopping and dining and the accommodation was the icing on the cake.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Melbourne and can't wait to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel.

Your comment on the staff is much appreciated and it gives the team a real buzz to read that our work is making your day better.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndoch, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed at the Novotel on Collins on Sunday the 27th of March 2011 and had a fantastic time. When i made the booking i said i'd be arriving in melbourne at approximately 9am from Adelaide and was very pleased to find my room was ready at this time so i could check in straight away. I had a premier room which was very nice. Room was modern had a nice decor and vibe too it. The bed was very comfortable and had a great night's sleep. Only hassle was having to leave at 4am to catch a 6am flight back to adelaide. Enjoyed it so much i've booked to stay again in May when i travel back over to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear 'owey87',

Thanks very much for your review.

It's great that you had such a good time and we look forwarded to welcoming you back again in May.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (formerly Australia on Collins beneath to Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. The "New Establishment" will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. Redevelopment will commence in October 2014 and is due for completion in late 2015. Works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 7am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.