We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and wonderful bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and wonderful bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for three nights primarily for the Australian Open. The location is brilliant as we were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go, including the Open and Lygon Street.

We opted for the upgrade to the privilege room, which came with wifi, coffee machine, magazines, ONE bottle of water a day, newspaper, bathrobes and a balcony. Now, to book the upgrade or to not book the upgrade! mmmmm.. don't book it if you are wanting it simply for the wifi, as for the majority of our stay, our wifi didn't work! We asked the management many times and they were very good at trying to make it work but it basically didn't. My husbands phone picked it up occasionally but it would drop out all the time. We really didn't used the balcony as it was so dam hot!

The bathroom was very small but the shower very roomy. The staff were very friendly and extra things were delivered as we asked for them, such as pillows and extra towels. The coffee machine was nice to have as were the T2 teas. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I am very fussy with my beds as have a bad back.

One disappointment was the set out of the large desk which basically accommodated the power points. This was incredibly disorganised, with all the power points up one end and none down the other, which meant everything was cluttered up one end - such as coffee machine, kettle, laptop, phone charges etc.. they should really just install another double power point down the other end.

We didn't eat in at all, as there are so many lovely places to eat and I would really recommend Café Excello for breakfast just up the road. Family owned and fresh wonderful food.

Upon check out we had a taxi booked for us to take us to the airport. I was really impressed with the front staff when they offered us a private chauffeur car to the airport for a flat rate of $60. What a fantastic thing to do!! thanks so much - we had a bottle of water, lovely driver and a gorgeous comfortable car to travel in ! So worth it and a great option as a taxi would have been close to this anyway.

Would I stay here again - yes. Would I book the upgrade - probably not.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and we had no outside traffic noise and we were facing the road/gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    623
    268
    63
    19
See reviews for
250
520
121
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a very well presented hotel .Staff where lovely very helpfully,have no complaints and would stay again .Very good position for the Australian open ,or just to visit Melbourne for the weekend ,the treasury gardens opposite are lovely .tram straight outside the door .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family had a good stay in a twin garden view room with queen beds - perfect for our family of 4 with 2 children. Very good for a Mercure hotel. Service was excellent. Good bar/restaurant. Modern renovation. Good location in city with easy access to free city circle tram. Very nice buffet breakfast. Lots of free newspapers. Parking downstairs is very squashy - I advise parking in the nearby Wilson carpark. Late checkout Sun - 2pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the twin garden view room with two queen sized beds met your requirements. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the team and your experience in the restaurant for breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for a conference at a more expensive neighbouring hotel.
The Mercure is located just opposite the Treasury Gardens. It;s a great place to be based to access the CBD and the rest of Melbourne, easily walking distance from restaurants, bars etc. The Treasury Gardens were a nice place for a morning stroll, or for a jog for those more active than myself.
Rooms are a bit small and on the basic side. They are very clean though, as you would expect. Rooms at the rear of the hotel have a view of a car park (and a few sky scrapers). The front of the property is much better, with views of Treasury Gardens. I had an issue with a crew from an airplane deciding they were going to party in their rooms, so constant slamming of doors and shouting down corridors well into the night. Delightful people. I called reception, who were great about it and upgraded me in the middle of the night to a superior room.
Breakfast was very good but way too expensive for my taste. There are plenty of cheaper breakfast bars nearby. The hotel has a nice looking bar, although I didn't drink there.

It's definitely a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Treasury Gardens. Ask for a room not on the same floor as airplane crews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great hotel staff, clean and modern room within a great city location and very quiet to get a good night sleep. The hotel staff always greeted me everywhere and thrilled to now know there is a sister hotel with gym facilities. Could catch train or tram from basically right outside to all over the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We always enjoy welcoming back return guests. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here recently on a Saturday night and couldn't have been happier with my hotel choice. The location is great, only a short walk to all the major attractions (took us 10 minutes to walk to Crown/Southbank, leisurely pace). The renovated rooms look really fantastic - modern and with all the basics you would need. Absolutely spotless. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was small but had everything you needed (with a GREAT shower).
The biggest bonus for us was the staff......everywhere you went in the hotel, the staff were nothing short of amazing. Nothing was too much to ask and everything was done with genuine courtesy.

Due to staying on a Saturday, they offered a "Sunday Sleep In" which has a 2pm checkout for everyone - complimentary. This was a welcomed added bonus! We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near state parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Lime restaurant, bar and conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Tennis Centre, AAMI Park and Hisence Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.