We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #64 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stay at Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This a very nice place to stay, value for money, good breakfast and located at the CBD area and close to the main Flinders street railway station and MCG, with nice parks and shops and Indian restaurants close by. I liked it and will stay here again and as usual good Accor hospitality.

Room Tip: choose the rooms with a park view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    543
    241
    55
    19
See reviews for
229
451
108
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is low rise, with only 11 floors. Our view from the top floor was lovely- overlooking Treasury Gardens, out towards the eastern suburbs. It's very close to public transport- tram stops, including the free City Circle tram and Parliament Station. Bike lanes also pass directly in front.
The room. We paid extra for a privilege room which is well worth it. Inclusions: free in room Internet, premium tea, coffee maker, balcony, robes and slippers. The bathroom is tiny yet functional, with just enough room for toiletries near the basin. The room itself is larger than average in size, having room for a sofa and king bed. Nicely decorated. Look at pictures on the website for accurate representations. The balcony doors are double glazed so there is next to no road noise.
Housekeeping, however, was a bit hit and miss- only one glass, no teaspoons, no robes or slippers, but all were delivered upon request.
The restaurant: A highlight of our stay. The dinner menu is quite small, but still offered plenty of choices. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also very reasonably priced for the quality and variety on offer. Eggs,scrambled and poached; a selection of bread, muffins, crumpets, bagels, cheese, fresh fruit etc, etc. Get a table near the window so that you can watch people scurry off to work while you relax with another fresh bagel and orange juice.
The Location: If you're in town for an event, this is the place to stay as it's not too expensive and within walking distance of theatres, sporting arenas and the CBD.
All things considered, good value for money.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms are worth it if you intend to spend time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice hotel, the service was very good, friendly and efficient. the bathroom shower could do with updating but appart from that the rooms were functional and clean.
Room service was prompt and the situation is very convenient for travel into Richmond for dining and drinks or Rod Arena for sports and shows. Hoetl also offers parking facilities via the Wilson Parking just over the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a double twin room on the 11th floor. The room was comfortable and extremely clean. Service was excellent. Location was great. Could not hear any noise from below. Overall a magnificent stay. Would definitely stay here again. Just wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that our team looked after you well. Thank you for your positive review.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying here and am really disappointed and certainly won't be back. The room is pokie and the bathroom is possibly the smallest I've ever seen. The rooms have average appointment and seem as though they've not long been renovated. The carpets are dirty especially the hallways where there are black stains everywhere. I appreciate that it's a low cost hotel, but I recently stayed just around the corner in Bourke street and found for the same cost the rooms were extensively better. I won't ever stay here again. I don't think this one is up to the usual Mercure standard.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I was disappointed to read that you were not happy with your stay. I do hope you had the chance to pass on your feedback to our team whilst at the hotel so we could address any issues of cleanliness immediately. I am always pleased to receive specific feedback first hand and appreciate the opportunity to address issues promptly.
Regards Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near state parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Lime restaurant, bar and conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Tennis Centre, AAMI Park and Hisence Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.