We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mecure spring street has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“mecure spring street has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The mecure spring street is a small but conveniently located hotel. We have stayed there often during the Australian Open and Spring racing carnival and most recently June long weekend. The rooms facing the park are our favourite as they have a small balcony for fresh air. The rooms are well equipped with coffee machine and nice toiletries. The staff are friendly and helpful and provide exceptional service without the stiffness of a five star hotel. The Restaurant and bar provide high quality food and drinks especially if you are pressed for time before a show or game. The city circle tram stops nearby and lots of great restaurants,shops and cafes are in walking distance as is the MCG,Tennis Centre and Federation Square.This is agreat hotel with a relaxed and friendly vibe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Newcastle Traveler

Many thanks for your great support.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    607
    264
    63
    19
See reviews for
246
504
120
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond Terrace New South Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

very welcoming staff on arrival and as usual had my room allocated to me that I had previously requested. which was spotless with all that had been described as being available to me. the views of the treasury garden then onto the fitzroy gardens and the mcg were magnificdnt. Transport by free cbd trams nearby as was parliment station. only a few blocks from the super shopping areas of melbourne, art and cultural musuems, sporting venues, theatres and much more. a wonderful hotel and good value

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

we stayed at the mecure spring st for 5 days in May 2011. the location was great. within wallking distance to most places & there were tram stops very handy to the hotel. the room was very nice, we had a great view of tresury gardens & across to the mcg. there was no traffic noise at all, and the air conditioning units were also very quiet, meaning we could have them on all nite. the service was great, our room was cleaned every day and for once the cleaners actually took not e when we left the towels hanging cos we didnt want them changed ( save the planet & al that) most other places leave you that note, but take your towels everyday regardless.
we didnt dine in the restaurant , but the bar staff were very helpful & friendly, we sat round the bar having a few drinks most nites. They were also very proffessional in dealing with the drunk aborigines who happened to be staying in the hotel ( no bother & no fuss)
for the price I would recommed it as a great place to stay.
Jane Gadsby

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Jane

Great to read you enjoyed your 5 day stay and thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was glad to read the manager's response to another traveler that the hotel will be getting an overhaul this winter. We found it to be drab and unattractive. Our experience there: there was no ramp at the entrance so we had difficulty getting our luggage up the front steps, and no staff around to assist (then, or ever). Our room was horrible, with dirty, stained carpets and no room for our clothing to unpack anything. We complained and asked for a different room. In the second room, the beds were a little bigger but nothing else was different - same filthy carpets, and the bathroom floor was dirty with black/dark brown grout which should have been white, and some broken tiles. We felt there was no point in complaining, and just put up with it, living out of our suitcases for the few days we were there. On the positive side, the location was very good and the food was pretty good - we ate a couple of dinners there as well as breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

While I was pleasing to read that you enjoyed Lime restaurant and our location, I sincerely apologise that we have let you down with the room’s standard. We certainly we strive to exceed expectations and are very excited about the refurbishment over winter.

Apologies again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street in the near future.

Kind regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

location is good, however disappointed when I check in with an eye closed staff, no eye contact at all. The staff opened eyes when looked at the computer but closed the eyes with speak to guest(s). No folio / receipt received from hotel even pre-paid room charges upon check in.
Requested to store the luggage when checking out, was told by staff just put the luggage in front of the counter and she will take care for us. Went back to hotel and collect luggage around 30-40mins later, luggage was located the same place where we put the suitcase, felt not quite securely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street and posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We value all feedback and I apologise that we have let you down with inconsistent service at the front desk on this occasion. There are certainly some simple service standards we should have provided to you during your stay. I will address these with the team in order to improve our performance in the future.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne and the Mercure in the future.



Kind regards

Phil O’Brien.
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near state parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Lime restaurant, bar and conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Tennis Centre, AAMI Park and Hisence Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.